"Make a Difference - No Matter How Small".......My Entry for Make a Difference Contest Round #7

in #makeadifference6 years ago

Image Source


Browsing through steemit while at work, I happened to pounce upon the contest - Make a Difference which is hosted by @meetmysuperego.

This is the seventh (7th) round and though not very old, the stories shared by other steemians are really heartwarming and inspiring. These stories depict how persons have made and continue to make a difference in the lives of others.

I think this is a beautiful gesture that aids in reminding us of the importance of helping each other and contributing to the life of someone, a community, and in the end, the world.


The Rules of the Contest:

Image Source

This contest doesnt require us to make a post as an entry but rather to comment our entry under the Make a Difference post of that current round. I commented my entry but felt inspired to share this on my blog. This is also my small way of promoting this initiative. Do check it out and feel free to participate.


Here is my first blog on how I have been making a difference. I have updated it from my original entry.


Some of my babies from back home.


Back home, I was a teacher who taught at the elementary level. Coming to Japan, I had hoped that I would have been able to teach elementary school children like I did back home. Unfortunately, that turned out to not be the case. Now don’t get me wrong, I love ALL children; big and small but there is this thing in me that tingles for the smaller ones. What makes it even better is that I love teaching too!

..everybody hands go UP....and they stay there..and they say yeah...and they stay there.


Realising that I wasn’t going to get a weekly nor daily dose of children smiles and warmth, I started the hunt for how I could make this possible. The opportunity finally presented itself; persons were needed to volunteer on a monthly basis at a Children’s Home located 20 minutes by train outside my city. Not an ounce of hesitation in sight, I signed up the very same day and patiently awaited information for the first visit.

Whitney-Houston-Quotes-4.jpg


On the day of the first visit for me, I was wondering to myself what it would be like. I had done voluntary work back home through my Youth Club in times gone by, but this was the first time that I was volunteering at a Children’s Home. Should I expect the children to be different from how I know children to be? Will they speak with me? Will they play with me? Will they be afraid of how different I look to them? All these questions plagued my mind.

We arrived and without a shadow of a doubt, the children were already outside awaiting our arrival. As the bus pulled onto the campus, their faces lit-up as though they saw a bus full of candy. My heart smiled and my time here in Japan became even greater with those sparkling eyes. The day's event had us mummifying almost everyone and ending with some Art and Craft.


By the end of the day, we were all friends and my body ached from being ridden, tugged at and just having fun with the kids. It is a great feeling knowing that we can have a positive impact on the lives of these children who are so lovable. I have looked forward to the visits with them ever since and still send my love whenever I am unable to make it.


From this continuous experience, I have come to realise that children are children wherever we may go. No matter where they are in life or where situations may take them, they are all deserving of love, hugs and kisses. They are all so special.


1506846626900as.jpg


1506846684783 (1).jpg


1506846637688ajj.jpg


1506846650542 (1)mdjwl.jpg


1506846679045kil.jpg


Photo Credit: My friend Joel Wilkinson


The children made a few drawings for a Matsuri (festival) that they had at the home. It was a beautiful day filled with food, laughter, rain, and fun. I'm sorry but I don't have any more pictures from that day.

With Love,
Honeysim


Thank you for stopping by. Your time is much appreciated.

When was the last time that you made a difference in the life of another person?


P.S. To protect the identity of the children, staff members, and other volunteers, their faces were covered.

Sort:  

This is so beautiful, got me teary eyed at my desk. You are amazing girl. Lovely post and boy did it catch my heart and inspire me to make a difference. Keep it UP

Thank you my dear.....let me grab some tissue for you lol. I always try to be the best me that I can be. Go get them....and let that difference be made. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69