Passing time and milling stuffsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #maker5 years ago


While I wait for my new milling bits to arrive from france, I have tested the machine using the normal (big) router bits that I had. It is essentially a remake of the first test I made in foam, but this time I used a piece of scrap wood from a pallet.
One of the really nice things about working with cnc milling is the possibility to use repurposed materials. to get good results with an fdm 3d printer, it is quite important to use a good quality filament, and making your own is really hard.
this test was a bit more elaborate than the foam test since I decided to also mill out the surrounding shape.

first I made another version of the toolpaths which included the contour. I chose to make small tabs to keep the piece in place. These must then be removed by hand afterwards but since they are only 2 mm by 12 mm they are very easy to cut using a sharp knife or simply snapping them with my fingers. You can see the tabs in the image as the small squares with crosses at the border.


Since I chose a a piece of scrap wood the surface wasnt optimal so I did one last thing. After I had milled the letters , but before I removed the piece from the wasteboard, I painted the letters black. Then as the last thing (after the paint had dried) I did a surface planing. I could only take off a few fractions of a mm but the machine is more than capable of doing that. As it turned out the paint had soaked into the wood which gave a less than optimal finish, but it was only meant as a test. If I was to do this for real, i would first give the bottom of the letters a clear coat, making sure the wood was screened from the black paint, then I would put on the black paint and mill the surface. or maybe just paint the surface before milling the letters to get the opposite effect.
Even though it was mostly for testing , I still plan to put this little sign up on the door to my workshop. maybe later when I get better at the whole cnc thing I will make another, better sign but for now this one will do just fine.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem
or you can check out my accounts on these sites:

Cults3d
Thingiverse
Shapeways

Your'e welcome to like or follow me there as well.

Sort:  

:-) i think i like "devilish peeing sip" best

peeping is devilish is pretty good too ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74