Why I want to celebrate motherhood and not Mother's Day

in #makesteemitgreat-again6 years ago (edited)


Source: https://www.pinterest.com.au/pin/334603447306278239/

People who have read my posts about why I don't celebrate Christmas, New Years and birthdays might think that Mother's Day would be spared from my list, but I also feel very strongly about the way this day has become something that means more to everyone except the people that we are meant to celebrate.

Each year I ask myself, wouldn't it be better to spread all the love and attention that I dedicate to my mother throughout the year instead of using this day to put in more effort than usual? Even though mothers go through a lot of pain and sacrifice during the pregnancy and child birth, their greatest love for their children is shown in the effort that they put in everyday making the lunches, driving them to the sport games or music practice, reading bedtime stories or helping with homework. It starts before the sun rises and doesn't stop when the lights go out in the bedroom, and it is this endless effort to make sure that their children always get the care and attention they need that I struggle to find words to show my appreciation for.

I see it in all the wonderful mothers I am lucky enough to know on Steemit as well. I remember hearing the sound of a baby in the background of @fabiyamada's pixel art tutorial videos. I read about it on @charisma777's posts that show how much she cares for her son despite having to deal with a system that doesn't seem to do make her job much more difficult than it needs to be. There are also people you don't really hear about like @drawingly who is dealing with health issues but is still fighting so bravely to look after and provide for her children. I have also heard mentions of @davemccoy's mother who has done a marvellous job of raising Dave to be such a wonderful person.

To all the other wonderful families that I know on Steemit:

I hope you find just as much joy and happiness on Mother's Day as you do every day of the year!

Sort:  

@plushzilla what a great way to share mothers day weekend! I normally don't celebrate this year will be tough but no more than any other day😊 there really are some awesome mothers on the platform!!! I see my best friend on your list as well! She has done am awesome job as a mother. THANK you plushzilla!

All the mothers I know here on Steemit are wonderful and selfless people who don't get enough credit for what they do. Even if you are not celebrating it (or no more than you normally would) I do hope that more people will recognize all the hardworking mothers that we are blessed to have on Steemit and in our community groups :)

My girls don't post as much but they both are on here to as is my husband. He hasn't posted since we moved but that is more because we don't have internet right now and are having to use hotspots on our phones to connect or use or phones. He has been saving his hotspot data for me.

We definitely appreciate all the giveaways and helpful advice that you have been providing for your Steemit family :)

I love this community it has enriched my life in many ways and want to do what I can to make it grow and show my love.

Thanks so much for the mention :D yeah my baby helps me with the tutorials, it will be fun to listen when she's grown up n.n

It was so nice to hear the baby in the background and when she grows up she'll be able to help you more with the tutorials :D

I really hope so!

How lovely @plushzilla! I agree, mothers should be appreciated everyday, as their jobs never stop. I realize this even more now, being a mother can be freakin hard! ;) But the amount of love you receive, makes it all worth it! Thanks for your lovely tribute to all the mother!

I know that it is impossible to fully appreciate it from my perspective, and I know that the wonderful mums will be too humble to talk about their difficulties (or maybe there is a mother's group on Steemit or Discord?), but I am glad to hear that all this hard work is worth it!

Congratulations @plushzilla! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thanks for the mention, I am honoured @plushzilla. I see a few familiar names and also some new ones to follow which is always nice. We can never have enough good people :)

I do hope it all works out well for you and your children, and that they will appreciate all the sacrifices you have made for them :) I want more people to know about these great Steemians!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85