Boxy Charm April 2018 Review

in #makeup6 years ago

Happy Thursday Steemit!!

I hope you are all having a spectacular Thursday. But I want to go ahead and jump into the post, we have a lot to talk about so let's go...

boxy cover.jpg

If you aren't familiar to Boxy Charm, it's a monthly subscription for 5 beauty and makeup products. For $21 (USD) per month you get either very large sample items and some full sized products. The total of all the products in the box is usually three to four times the price of the actual box, so there are some great deals to be had with the box.

So, here's what the month of April brought me...

boxy products.jpg

Let's start with the obvious full sized product which is the Colour Pop Semi-Precious pallet.

IMG_8313.JPG

I own very little Colour Pop cosmetics, and it may be shocking to some, because I boast that I love drugstore priced items. While they are low priced cosmetics, it's just not as fun to buy makeup online, as it is going into the store and bringing it home that very day. So the only Colour Pop I have ever received was all because of the subscription boxes.

IMG_8334.JPG

This pallet retails for $26.00 so this pallet alone cost more than the entire box does and that makes my heart sing. I think this pallet's quality of the shadows, rich pigment, staying power and durability is wonderful. The colors are so beautiful. But the only thing to know is that you really can't get a full look with only this pallet. You will need to bring in other shades to create a look. But below is the look I created using the green color on my lid. The crease color was my matte bronzer from Physicians Formula and the outer V was Maybelline's Khaki Camo single shadow.

boxy look.jpg

I did use the lipstick on this look as well so let's talk about that product next. This is the Adesse - Hi Definition Liquid Lipstick in Cocoa. This is a full size product and it retails for $24.00

IMG_8319.JPG

At first I thought it was called a lip gloss because it didn't dry down like a typical liquid lipstick. So it's not a matte lipstick by any means. It will transfer, like any gloss will, but this does have really good staying power. I can put it on in the morning and while the shine will fade rather quickly, I still see a stain of color on my lips around mid day.

Alright, moving right along. Let's talk highlighter, liquid highlighter that is...
This is the Tarte Tarteist Pro Glow Liquid Highlight in Exposed. This is a full size product of .56 oz and the price is $29.00

IMG_8315.JPG

I was in the middle of trying out the Kokie liquid highlight that I reviewed a few posts back when I received my box, and I have to say that I will stick with the Kokie. This highlight just didn't do it for me. The texture was too thick and it pulled the foundation off my skin when I applied it. But I still enjoyed trying it out and knowing just how it looks and feels without spending the $29. Sadly, this will go to the "niece makeup box".

(FYI: The niece makeup box is a place where I keep all the things I try and don't like but I give to my nieces to try and decide if they like it or not. It makes me feel better than if I were throwing the products away, and most places will not accept donated makeup that's been opened)

Ok, what do we have next? Oh yes, while we are on the things I didn't particularly like, let's talk about the brow product. This yet another full size product and it retails for $22.

IMG_8314.JPG

This is supposed to have fibers in it to help fill in and make your brows look fuller but in a more natural way. I didn't see that on me. I still had to fill in the gaps with my powder and then I used the brow gel on top. It kind of made them stiff, which can be good if that's what you are wanting. But it was a very noticeable stiff look.

boxy brows.jpg

All in all, it was a product that wasn't for me. I have heard really good reviews about this product and I am just one person who doesn't care for it.

Ok, last item, Dr Brandts Vacuum Cleaner Pore Purifying Mask. This is a face mask with a texture that I have never had in a face mask. It is a translucent blue colored gel with little beads in it. It retails for $47.00 and this one is NOT a full size. It's just a large sample. I can get about three uses out of a tube this size.

IMG_8317.JPG

First up, I am biased to Dr. Brandt's line of products. He has this wonderful scrub that I have received twice already in subscriptions and I truly love it. This product however, is a facial mask that you apply and let dry. It's got this mint-ish smell to it....it might smell chemically for some, but it smells of mint and menthol to me. LOL But I like the cooling feeling it gives my face. I have not broken out or had any irritation from it so that's always a bonus. I don't think I have used it enough to give a full opinion though. There is only enough for about 3 uses so I can only go by what I have seen so far. And my thoughts are that it's not a bad product, but I haven't seen it do anything other than feel good on my skin and make it soft. So I can't really say for sure. At this point I wouldn't spend $47.00 to buy a full size. But it's still fun to try and a nice cooling treat for my face.

For my final thoughts:
I do like this box. I can see some more Disneybound makeup looks that I can use the Colour Pop pallet for. The lipstick is very nice and a beautiful color and comfortable to wear so it's got a thumbs up from me. The brow gel didn't work quite how I like my brow gels to work so that's not for me. My nieces will be excited to try a Tarte highlighter and I am very happy to let them have it, and I will stick with my Kokie hightlighter. Lastly, I will use up every last drop of the Dr. Brandts in hopes I can come up with a decent opinion, but for now it's just fun to use.

boxy full.jpg

So, there you have it. My April Boxy Charm review. I hope it was somewhat useful or at the very least you enjoyed it and will be back again for tomorrow's post. I will talk to you all very soon.

Until next time, take care!

-Kim

I will leave my Boxy Charm link for you to check out the boxes if you would like. You in absolutely, no way have to use my link. While I do pay for my box with my own personal money, using my link will add Charm points to my account which can be used towards products or boxes on their site. But please do not feel pressured to use it.

https://www.boxycharm.com/refer/Brad-QKHEXGCS

Sort:  

Looking beautiful lady pants! Sorry I haven't been on here much, glad to see you are still blogging strong.

Aww, thank you!!! You always have such sweet comments for me, I appreciate that so very much!! :) I do hope to see you on here more, but I know how life gets sometimes. Talk to you again soon!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70