A few random holiday photos...

in #malaysia5 years ago

OK, that's the tiniest banana I've ever seen. Was delicious, too!

IMG_8250.JPG

I'm seriously on holidays. I can't even remember the last time I took some time out. In a hotel with a pool!!

While I'm living on quite a tight budget in Chiang Mai, I've decided to treat myself to 4 nights in a nice hotel while I'm in Malaysia. I'm so glad I did!

IMG_8256.JPG

I'm relaxing so much; I haven't even opened the book I brought, yet. Even that seems like too much work. 😁
I also cancelled on a friend just now, because the thought of making an appointment just doesn't compute in my holiday-state-of-mind right now :)

This is my favorite spot when I'm not at the pool:

IMG_8237.jpg

On one hand I feel like I'm in Mallorca (the go-to holiday island for Germans), on the other hand I'm surrounded by muslim families and women in burkas, which makes it very obvious that I'm in a foreign country.

I guess it's a very normal and common thing here, but seeing someone completely covered in black, except for the eyes, at a beach, that's a very unusual sight for me.

I also didn't know that there are special muslim bathing suits for women, that basically cover your whole body. Makes me realize how ignorant we are, until we leave our cultural bubbles and see a bit more of the world.

IMG_8245.JPG

Only one more full day tomorrow, and then I'm flying back to Chiang Mai on Tuesday.

Sort:  

what time is best to visit Malaysia?

I don’t know, right now it’s pretty nice :)

You got a 29.92% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @connecteconomy!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76