Hello from Georgetown Penang

in #malaysia5 years ago (edited)

https://d1vof77qrk4l5q.cloudfront.net/img/connecteconomy-hello-from-georgetown-penang-2rsssuzl-1547107243654.jpg

Hi everyone, greetings from Penang - where I arrived yesterday and will stay for just a week.

D8D6BE1A-01C3-4242-9FAC-A2DF222BA6E4.jpeg

I have 6 month multi-entry visa for Thailand, which requires me to leave the country every 2 months. Penang seems to be the classic destination for visa runs from Thailand, especially from Chiang Mai, because it’s also a town that attracts many foreigners and it has a beach...

02389762-8FBF-4385-8B32-C68B7E8948D8.jpeg

I decided to spend one day in Georgetown before I move to the actual beach. Partly to look around, but also because I want to say Hi to Team Malaysia tonight at their Steemit event.

C0C25A07-20B3-4E47-BC3D-0687FDD86756.jpeg

My phone said it would be raining all week long, and it was last night when I arrived, but this morning the sun was out and it was so hot that I couldn’t walk around much, but just hid in a café.

8CD5D86C-05CC-4098-9A47-37829F16C8F4.jpeg

I did snap a few photos - the ones you see here (if I manage to upload them all), but really they are all from the same neighborhood around Love Lane where I’m staying.

This town looks so run down, but that look is exactly what gives it its charm, too.

There’s also lots of art and graffiti on these old walls. It’s a feast for photographers!

72A2141F-5B22-4AC9-B997-DE327923CB17.jpeg

I forgot they have different plugs and sockets here, so I haven’t managed to charge my laptop yet... So let’s see how posting on Steemit works from a phone.

After this post I will treat myself to a nice Soto Ayam soup - I haven’t had one since I moved away from Holland!! Can’t wait :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Thanks, Patricia, it was great meeting you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Welcome to Penang. And thanks for coming and support the Steemit sharing session. Since you will be here for week, let's catch-up before you head back to Thailand. And if you need any help, do let me know.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, Curry! I just moved to the Bayview Beach Resort and planning not to move until I have a proper sun tan... 😄
If you happen to be in the neighborhood it’d be great to catch up, but I think I’m a bit far out now :)

In any case, it was great meeting you - you’re doing great work in spreading the gospel about all things blockchain! 👍🏻👍🏻

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cool. The beach is something not to miss, and if you like more nature, head to Monkey beach as you might see some turtle.

Enjoy your stay and tan. Cheer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @connecteconomy! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3000 comments. Your next target is to reach 3500 comments.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

You got a 28.92% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @connecteconomy!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66