Steemit World Map!

in #maps6 years ago (edited)

​Since I have been here, I've been made aware of so many other wonderful websites, all of which make great additions to the Steemit platform. I came across another neat one yesterday which I'd love to share with you all. Some of you may have already discovered it on your own, but this is for those of you who haven't seen it yet. For the sake of not leaving Steemit, I've included a few screenshots of what you can expect to see.

🌎Steemit World Map🌎

Screenshot-2018-5-10 Steemit Worldmap.png
Here's what you'll find when visiting the website
The colored circles show you how many posts have been made in each area. This is not a collection of all posts on the platform, but instead only the ones that have been added to the map. Posts on Steemit which are tagged with a location seem to be automatically added, but you can also add your own posts in from the website. When you click one of the colored circles, it will bring up a list of content that has been created and linked to the map in that area. Clicking on a post from the map will open it in a new tab.

Screenshot-2018-5-10 Steemit Worldmap(1).png

Of course I zoomed in near an area called Hempstead, without even knowing it was there. Waving hello to @phortun & @czechglobalhosts 👋

You can manually add your post by going to the Steemit World Map and clicking the code slider at the bottom of the map. From there you can click to drop a pin where your post should go, and a code is provided for you to add to it.

I have quickly become a fan of this website as it allows you to easily search the whole globe to see posts from specific areas. It's a great way to discover content from curators in your area and beyond, which you may not have known about otherwise.

Screenshot-2018-5-10 Steemit Worldmap(2).png

The filter tool is handy as it allows you to refine your search. It gives you the option to search by author name, tags, and even the date. You can also choose to see only the best travel posts. While I'm not entirely sure how the posts are ranked on this scale, it does come up with some good results that I might not have seen directly on Steemit.

To give you just one example of the many wonderful curators you can come across by using the Steemit World Map, check out this article I found on the map, about a rare and fascinating crystal that I have been particularly fond of for several years now. I'm not sure I've ever even seen a crystal post on Steemit, so this was awesome for me to find, especially since it is about a gem I've been dreaming of mining myself. As this is an older post, I'm sure I wouldn't have come across it on my own, without the help of the map. This was one that came up when I checked the "Best Travel Posts Only" box and clicked near the border of Utah and Wyoming.

So that's the gist of it...I hope you find this website as great as I do!

~ See my recent posts here, if you haven't already: ~

|| MY INTRODUCE YOURSELF POST || The Wheel of Fortune || Colorful Flags of Oregon Eclipse Gathering || Needlework Monday || Brand New Serger || Spiritual Significance of Growing Our Hair || Latest Work In Progress || Unboxing Organic Fabric || Meet Crypto ||

♡ Many thanks to you for joining me on my journey ♡

Thankful for each of your comments, re-steems, follows and up-votes, and for everyone who has inspired, encouraged, or given me tips along the way...I cannot thank you enough!

~ @hempress ~

HEMPRESS.gif

Sort:  

This is amazing! I am so glad to see you publishing something that helps the platform and its participants! Tag this in Steemit baby, you are helping the platform here! Keep it up!

Ever since I discovered SWM, I didn't doubt myself that I'll be using this because this is a great way for me to show where I've been going throughout my travel destinations and vacations too! I believe that's what it does to you to plus the other features it has. So let's keep using the application!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07