March Madness: Day 4 ReflectionssteemCreated with Sketch.

#MarchMadness trundles on! Day 4 is upon us, and I'm happy with how it has been going so far.

I'm not sticking to a specific word count each day – as I did during November's #FreewriteMadness adventure – so I'm aware that I mightn't necessarily "win" this month's challenge, in terms of hitting a specific goal. My current project (a trilogy entitled A Drop in the Ocean) feels very different to November's project, Tomorrow's Chances. It contains a lot of spiritual overtones. It needs time and space to develop in its own way. My only job is to sit down, turn up, and let words flow through me. Whatever gets written that day is perfect for that particular day. This project is teaching me all about surrender, trust, and just allowing magic to happen.

I'm not comfortable with publicly sharing all of my work on this trilogy just yet. However, when I saw today's @freewritehouse prompt, sound, I was inspired to share this one piece below, as it so perfectly encapsulates what sound means to the main character of the trilogy.

______________

Though many people prefer to use telepathic communication exclusively, Aztlaan does have a spoken language. It is not necessary as a means of communication – it is simply there if people would like to use it – and many people seldom feel the need for it, which is a perfectly valid choice. Alistha, however, loves to play around with words and sound – to see how they can be used to describe her thoughts – even though she knows well that language can be a crude, ineffectual tool for communication: open to all kinds of differing interpretations, and often failing to convey exactly what it is that someone wishes to express.

Words can be beautiful. She loves to listen to poems or songs with lyrics that speak deeply to her heart. She loves literature, art and the amazing things that people can do with the spoken language, if they choose to use it. Young as she is, she has some understanding of the alchemical power of words: how they can transform people’s mindsets, and the immense healing they can bring about.

She fully recognises the limitations of verbal communication, but it fascinates her nonetheless. Whenever she needs to say something very important, she will always opt for telepathy, but if the issue is not pressing, she likes to play around with words instead. She loves to experiment with the nuances of sound and dialogue: to roll words around in her throat, eager to see how the many subtleties of volume, tone, cadence, and pitch will affect what she is saying. She supposes her cousin is right! She is decidedly more talkative than most, even by the standards of her home region, which is full of gregarious folk – but she fully embraces this aspect of her personality. It brings her great joy, and she has a lot of fun with it.

She, like many others, generally uses a combination of verbal and non-verbal communication: whichever feels right to her, and whichever she would most like to use in any given moment.

______________

Make sure you check out and support these other March Madness writers too!

@kaelci
@ireenchew
@mariannewest
@kaerpediem
@linnyplant
@balticbadger
@wakeupkitty
@juliamulcahy
@carolkean
@jeanlucsr

Sort:  

I enjoyed what you did with the prompt word. Your fictional world sounds very interesting, although, I guess sound is something that is often missing if most people communicate telepathically.

I have only used the first prompt word so far, and am definitely letting go of all stress related to word count. I'll be happy to make it to the end of the month having written something every day. That's my goal.

I like how you've included the other Mad writers at the end of your post. It's a good way to bring us all together.

Hope you have lots of fun creating this month. <3

All the best this round @aislingcronin
I too am going with the flow and probably won’t win
And I am ik with that
Like you to turn up every single day and just write
I have changed the story once though and after today’s writing feel I need to change the treatment
Bow no matter how “not good enough” it feels I am just going to keep going until I get to April 😊

A trilogy, that’s interesting. Thank you for sharing some. It’s looking good 😊

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Words.. no matter if they are spoken or not (thoughts) are still words... no matter in what way the communication is there always can be a change of misunderstanding.

I can understand you do not like to post it over here since you intend to publish it.

I am just joining to see if I am able to write more as 500-600 words.

It is good to sit down daily and wait till the story tells itself.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much. 😊 Yes, there is always scope for misunderstanding, of course. In the world that I envision in my book, though, communication through thought is considered more accurate than speech. I'm enjoying your story very much!

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess the idea of communication through thought is there is less influence of body language, mimic (which can fool one), etc

Love your story too try to read as much as possible.

Interesting writing. You have a nice flow to your words and writing style.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! 😃 I'm glad you enjoyed it.

Posted using Partiko Android

I love gregarious folk (not to be confused with those who never let you get in a word edgewise), and I love this: She loves to experiment with the nuances of sound and dialogue: to roll words around in her throat, eager to see how the many subtleties of volume, tone, cadence, and pitch will affect what she is saying. No wonder your prose is so poetic!

Thank you! ❤ Being gregarious is fun, no doubt about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

#mmfan Bruni enjoyed this snippet. Please don't make us wait 3 days for our next tease. 💕

Thank you Bruni! If I feel like posting another snippet, I definitely will. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62623.56
ETH 3037.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70