#MarchMadness - Day 12

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

March Madness

I give it a try although I write (and tell) mainly short stories and have a lack of words. In between I try to read more in English. By now I wrote 21,463 words. I used my smartphone for writing and the prompt beads. I will not post everything I wrote, since partiko seems to have problems posting it

03-12 (Day 12) - word count: 1867

She couldn't answer Lisa, no energy was left to do so.
The green monster in front of her kept walking while she kept trying to get back on her feet. The ground hurt her skin, ripped it open. She panicked. If it would continue like this soon all that was left from her were bones. 'Just bones', she thought, 'I don't think he will recognize and still like me if I turn into bones.' She couldn't help giggling, '… bones tied by a piece of rope...'

Finally she gave up, too tired of trying. As long as they kept walking there was no way she could get up. There was only one thing she could do...
She didn't hear her friend calling out for her.

Lisa had hardly any trouble to follow her abductor.
She had long legs and was happy she wasn't dumped in a bag together with some others and being dragged over rocks and stones. She was intelligent and a great observer. The area they walked through was unfamiliar to her. All she could see was rocks and stones, a grey world of rocks and stones. It looked like an abandoned part of the world. Even the wind had left them.

'How come everything is grey except for those greenish giants?
Perhaps they turn into rocks themselves as soon as they stop moving', she thought. 'I doubt they would be noticed if they did so. They are huge but for some reason they hardly make any noise, way less as some little creatures I know. I can't even hear them breath.'

A soft breeze came over her.. she saw a large, white shaped figure with dark eyes appear.
It hovered beside her giant... its mouth was wide open, although it did not scream.

'What makes you think they need to breath', it asked.

'Indeed, what makes me think they need to breath', she thought, 'or drink, or eat or sleep.'

'You better take care of the little one at the end.'
After she had said what she had to say she disappeared.

There was no reason for her not to believe the traveller, but she decided to test out the creature's hearing herself.
She was willing to take the risk they would hear her and punish her for what she thought, or said. 'Better safe than sorry', she thought.

'Anyone out there? If you can hear me, please answer. You are not the only person out here. We are victims, we all are. We are kidnapped by green giants. Please, help us!'

It kept silent, none of the greenish monsters turned it's head nor showed any other response. It was clear nobody else was around, hid among the rocks. There was no answer, no one came to their help either.

'That little traveller is right', she thought, 'they are deaf. I have a good reason as well to believe they are without tongue. A good thing to know. If it comes to it they won't be able to betray us.'

Now it was clear the giants were deaf the other prisoners did dare to answer her.
One by one they told her how and were they were caught. It became clear to her they all were female and without their companion. Some had been etherized, others were caught by help of some trap. The traveller turned out to be the only one that was lifted out of her nest during her sleep.
'Sounds to me they know what they are doing', Lisa said. 'They know how to recognize a female, where to find her and how to get rid of her companion if one is present.'

The tireless giants moved on without a break.
They didn't feel the need to pee, eat or drink. They kept on walking. The farther they went, the more creatures joined them. They came from all directions, all went into the same direction, dragging their preys with them.

As she finally opened her eyes she had a hard time to remember what had happened.
Partly she remained in her dream. It was a safe place to be. A place where she was able to ignore the incredible pain and were she could think of the one she loved and the good life they shared.
She wondered what had became out of him. She was quiet sure he had been there as it was her turn to sleep. He always had been. Nothing had ever distracted him from his task.

She searched her memory for the voice she had heard.
It had come along with a soft breeze, assured her she knew where her companion was. She knew it wasn't the wind that had spoken to her. Could it be a child of the wind? Who else could know where her companion was, knew he wasn't alone, who else could go where nobody was able to go to?

I hope you are alright', she thought, 'if you can hear me... I am sorry I left you. Know I will find you. Something did happen to me. I ended up in a part of the world I never knew it did exist. I am not the only one. It is a world of giants who act like one huge machine. They are all male. I don't understand why, but to be honest they don't look violent to me. I never saw creatures like these. You will recognize them as soon as you see them... their greenish, glowing skin. They move as one, are deaf, don't speak, rest or eat and their minds seem to be empty. Someone has to control them.'

'Good to know you are awake again', Lisa said, she had read the mind of the little girl and sounded cheerful.
So are the others by the way and if you still wonder... it's 100 percent sure now... we prisoners are all female and... without a companion!
How do you feel?
Have you noticed the scenery? It's changing. Still rocks and stones but also more hilly and you know what? I saw caves!'

'No, I haven't yet, I slept and had some things to take care of, but hey I believe you on your word', she giggled.
I need to get back on my feet I was already bruises all over and don't have much skin left on my bones. If they would just take some break, just for a minute or two. I need time to recover faster. Just sleep won't do the trick now.
You think they are hiding in those caves?', she moaned in pain.

'I am not sure I had this weird thought they look like rocks themselves.
If they would stand still nobody would notice them.
Girl! I think your wish is granted, we are entering a cave. They are cavemen!'

Right after all giants marched into the cave, they sat down in a row for a while and 'decided' as one to lay down on the cold, hard ground.
They still hadn't said a word. There they lay, stretched out, side by side in two rows opposite each other, eyes wide open. Were they watching the cave's ceiling? It looked as if hundreds of large, silver, greenish beads were glued to it.

The little traveller didn't know what to do. She heard the other prisoners whisper, some tried to free themselves. Lisa gave a hand as far as she could. Nobody seemed to stop them.


The picture is a pixabay.com pic.

What I already wrote:

Day 1. Day 2. Day 3. Day 4. Day 5. Day 6.
Day 7. Day 8. Day 9. Day 10. Day 11.

I learned

thanks to @mariannewest, there is always a story to tell, no matter what the prompt is. If you like to join or like to be a #MMFan (reading the novels written this month) please do so @freewritehouse see HERE._

I use partiko

How about giving it a try yourself?
With my lousy, unstable connection it is the only app that still works most of the times.
Simply give it a try. There is nothing to lose

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87