MARCH MADNESS- DAY 4

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

Read
photo 102 21-30-40.jpg

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3

I love it when the whole family attends a party. We were always among the VVIP. I loved doing the catwalks to our seats with all eyes wondering who we were. Dad finished dressing before any of us. I went downstairs to join him immediately I was done with my makeup. He was reading the news paper, and he was looking radiant in his White Agbada made with guinea fabric. Any stain on that kind of white would be conspicuous. Dad was a tall man, dark and handsome. He had a heart shaped face and well defined nose. His lips were big, the kind of big that was right for his face. He also had a dimple when he does my smile. I don't have one. I wonder why I didn't pick that from him, but I did get my height from him.

"Ooh, my baby is ready" Dad said, strectching forth his hands for me to come to him.

I have always been daddy's girl, even though I now have a kid sister, I still remain his favourite. I know that, Mom knows it, grandma does too. The only person left to announce it to is Ebunoluwa my kid sister. We will just have to wait till she grows up and can understand that I am dad's favourite.

I had an off shoulder gown on, with a slit by the side exposing my thigh.It was made of a peach lace material.I had the neck of a model, and I love to wear dresses that calls attention to me. My figure, perfectly curved out in my tight-fitted dress which i paired it with my royal blue stilettoes. It was perfect.

I walked towards dad, placing my foot right after the other smiling. I hugged him and he said to sit on his lap.

"My baby girl is now a grown woman." He said.

I pouted, twisting my arms into the other.

"I am still your baby" I said.

"Of course, my dear!"

"You will always be my girl" He said, while adjusting his Agbada.

"Will you go get your mother and grandma. Tell them we are already late." He said.

"I am here already" grandm said.

"Grandma I like you gele. Which style is this? " I said.

She blushed, then touched her gele before giving me a reply. She was on "Ìró and Bùbá," also made with the same kind of peach lace I had on.

"Thank you my dear, this was how we tied it in the olden days, all they did now was the plaitings and lines" She said, showing her disappointment.

"Gele should be versatile and not conformed to a style like they do these days." she added.

Mum came down exactly with the kind of conformed gele grandma was talking about. Grandma moved closer to father as mother approached. They were still not talking.

"Mrs .Toyin Awolowo, you are looking gorgeous" I teased her.

"If that compliment is a bribe to get something from me later, you should take it back" She said while giving the typical face of Nigeria mother.

"We are ready o. I don't know why he's in hurry. I am sure people are just arriving at the place. This is Nigeria, people don't show up early to a gathering," she said while adjusting her gele and not particularly facing anyone while talking but we all knew she was talking to dad.

"You know I don't attend parties.Bamidele is just too important to ignore his invite" father said.

Chief Bamidele, the oil mogul, father's childhood and closest friend. We are attending his third wedding ceremony. He's a Muslim, he can marry as many as he wishes so far he could take care to them, mum had told me.


The party was momentous, I dragged myself to bed immediately we got home. Sheri made dinner but I passed on it. We had stayed longer than we intended, thanks to all those that wanted to see or talk with father. The sound of the MC had ushered us into the hall. It was beautiful, they must have hired one of the best event planner. Everything was in place. My eyes had been moving from one group to the other, with mom being my guide telling me who was who. Until I saw the bride, she was young, mom said she was three years older than I was. I didn't understand the kind of love between a 20year old and 60year old man. The bride was smiling, she must really be in love, I thought. I am here still in search of mine.

I lay on the bed,after removing my attires. I needed a cold bathe. Instead, I picked up my phone and dialed Kenneth's number.....


Day 4 prompt:Sound
Word count : 792

If you don't know what the free write march madness is about. Click on the link below.

https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@freewritehouse/march-madness-day-1-prompt-in-the-club

Excuse my typos, All will be edited later on. Follow @freewritehouse and @mariannewest for the full details about freewrite

Total word count:4,008

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @wems! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 80 posts. Your next target is to reach 90 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87