MARCH MADNESS - DAY 5

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

Read
photo 102 21-30-40.jpg
Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4

Chapter 5

It was October already, the rains were heavy, the weather;cold. There was a time it rained for seven days nonstop, if it wasn't drizzling, it was dropping or heavy. Grandma said it happens every year and people called it "òjò olójó méje"- The seven days rain. It was also my birth month, I will be adding a year, seven days from now.

Dad was outside the country on another business trip. I am eagerly expecting my present. My WAEC results came out and I aced all nine subjects. He had jokingly promised me a benz, but I latched on for it and made it a reality.

I got bored at home, Bola was on a vacation with her parents. Kenneth was around. I guess he was as bored as I. We chatted more frequently on the phone talking late into the nights, reminiscing on secondary school days. We talked about the day our Yoruba teacher failed a student assignment when he asked us to write on our traditional gods in Nigeria. Yemisi a classmate of ours had written about "Sàngó." Her grandfather had assisted her in writing the history but the teacher failed her saying the history was wrong. The family had called the principal asking if they employed lazy teachers that wouldn't do their research right while they paid millions of naira to send their wards to the best school. The next day the Yoruba teacher was sacked. Or when Titi, the girl who had a huge crush on the math teacher created a scene when she heard he was leaving to get his Phd abroad. She had develop a hiccup that wouldn't stop and tears that kept flowing. The school took her to the clinic thinking it was an emergency. Or the day Bola ate something bad and kept throwing up in school. The students started a rumour that she was pregnant. I and kenneth were always at her side ready to give hell to whoever tries to make a subtle comment about it to her.

School was fun, I missed it . kenneth said at the end of our discussion last night.

Me too. I replied.

There was an awkard silence on both end for a while, I tried saying something to make it less awkward.

"Lets go for a drive tomorrow, I think I might come down with an "indoor sickness" if I don't go out." I said.

"Indoor sickness!" he said while laughing on the other end.

"Is there anything like that?" He asked

"Well I am making one, maybe it will be in the book of history that I discovered it" I teased.

He laughed harder.

"I will pick you up tomorrow" He said.

"You have always been our chauffeur whenever we three were going out. Forbtomorrow I am at your service" He said.

"You know I have always wondered how we never got stopped by the police for all the times we hanged out. You don't even have a driving licence," He said while I chuckled.

"I am a witch they can't see me driving" i said jokingly.

"Now that you are clocking 18, I guess we don't have to worry about that" ken said

"We should go to bed."I will call you in the morning. He added.


It was morning, I didn't get much sleep. I had been thinking about kenneth, wrapped in his arm on his huge bed under the fluffy duvet while watching a Nigerian movie. He was stroking the lines of my hair, tracing it. ......

"So when will you two be back" mother asked, disrupting my thought.

I took a sip of my tea, returning my cup back on my saucer.

"Evening" I replied.

"Ok. Don't stay out late."


Ken was on a sleeveless and a short. Why he had to wear a sleeveless, I couldn't comprehend. He was torturing me unknowingly. I felt like grabbing him and stripping him naked. So, I made sure i was looking ahead while talking to him. While we maneuver our way through the city of Lagos, we laghed and joked. We stopped at a restaurant in Lekki. I was hungry. I only took tea at breakfast, courtesy of Ken's thought that kept throbbing at me.

The food at "Brass and copper" was amazing, the lounge was beautiful and the environment serene. Mum should visit here I thought. "The feelings" needs to undergo some retouching.

We were stuck in a traffic for an hour at the third mainland bridge. We couldn't see what had caused the traffic. Ken played some music while we decided on our final destination.

After an hour of slow moving, we finally drove past the wreckage that held down a traffic that congested. A Minivan had ran into a Toyota camry. Luckily the two men were unscathed but they both seem to be arguing about not being at faults.

Foolish men, ken had said. And I couldn't agree more.

Our first stop was the Nike art gallery.It was a bliss. The colours, the art work, the beauties. I felt God created artist then the rest of the world.The only painting classes I had was when i was 6. It was in primary school. My water colour was always messing up the house. It was just for fun. Ken was having a nice time too. He took out his Iphone and we took pictures to our heart content. We later had to ask strangers to help with the pictures, that was so we could send to Bola and inform her on how much she was missing.

We hardly go out. It was school, house and mother's restaurant. Now that we were done with high school, we needed to blow off some steam. Thanks to Google, it pointed out the best place to be ; LA CAMPAGNE TROPICANA BEACH RESORT, and that was where we went. La campagne tropicana beach resort had everything, It was my own Shangri la. There were lots of activities, from canoeing, hunting, hiking, ocean water fishing to cultural dance display and boats riding. I wanted to tour the whole beach but it was getting late.Then i decided to make a decision i knew would backfire. I dropped a message for my mom, stating I was spending the night outside my house. Ken called home too.


Day 5 prompt:Minivan
Word count : 1052

If you don't know what the free write march madness is about. Click on the link below.

https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@freewritehouse/march-madness-day-1-prompt-in-the-club

Excuse my typos, All will be edited later on. Follow @freewritehouse and @mariannewest for the full details about freewrite

Total word count:5,060

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

If I read five installments a day of your story, I will be caught up by the end of the month. This is great.

Only five more days!
#mmfan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75