MARCH MADNESS- DAY 9

in #marchmadness5 years ago (edited)

Read
photo 102 21-30-40.jpg

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Chapter 8

Chapter 9

it's been a month since I last spoke to Amaka. It was a saturday evening, I was returning home from bible study. The church elders had delayed the meeting;A thirty minutes speech was given to the youth about fornication, STDs and HIV, unwanted pregnancy, abortion and all sort. Each words coming from the young minister felt like a nail used in pricking at my skin. I felt the whole lecture was for me. Then I panicked. STDs -Unwanted pregnancy- I was lost in thought. The memory of that day came rushing back...

I could still remember are soft lips on mine. It was my first. For a moment I didn't know what to do. In a minute we were on the bed kissing. Her firm breast resting on my chest while she unbuttoned my shirt. I was half naked before i got back to my senses and i stopped her.

After trying to convince her we shouldn't be doing this. She nodded like she was in tune with me. I looked back to search for my shirt and she slipped her hands into my trouser. I froze.

The first time she did the whole job. The second an third time, I was like an animal released from a cage. I left her place late that night, her parents had called that they would be coming home the next day. She ordered food from a restaurant close by and i devoured it. She was smiling after we both bathed. I couldn't look her in the face. I loved what we just did and I enjoyed it. But, Amaka would want more and I don't know the reply I would give her.

She told me she was traveling to her village with her parents. They would be back in a month. She already got a leave from the boss. But, everynight i imagined her coming back and telling me she was pregnant. That was my greatest fear until today's sermon. I need to go to the hospital for a check up.


The queue at the hospital kept growing. I was glad i got there earlier. It's been an hour since I got there. Anxious, I had switched turn twice with two old women, pretending I was being respectful but truly it was because I didn't know how to tell the nurse "I wanted to get tested for HIV." She might give me an attitude. Those nurses are rude. I remember when we came here when Mama yinka was sick. They acted nonchalant. They screamed at the patients and told them to hold in the pains. I wonder if there was a course in nursing school that taught them about being rude. Maybe it's just my country getting to them. The economy was bad.

I recently watched "grey's Anatomy," the nurses were nice and they cared, not like these ones.

"Next," the nurse in a huge glasses with a petite body said.

"Sir, Excuse me sir"

It was my turn.

"Ohh , sorry" I said.

"What's your complaint?" she asked

"I am here for an HIV test" I said with a straight face, I said it like it was something people said daily and I held my breath.

"Go straight to the end of the hall, it's the room by your right" she said, like it was something she heard everday.

Well, it was something she heard everyday and she was nice too. I think i might be dreaming.


Day 9 prompt:Elder
Word count :580

If you don't know what the free write march madness is about. Click on the link below.

https://steemit.com/marchmadness/@freewritehouse/march-madness-day-1-prompt-in-the-club

Excuse my typos, All will be edited later on. Follow @freewritehouse and @mariannewest for the full details about freewrite

Total word count:8,120

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @wems! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77