HOLLAND FOR MARKETFRIDAY

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

Picture 610.jpg

Holland conjures up the usual pictures - and symbols - that are all things Dutch. Wooden clogs. Fat windmills. Bicycles. Tulips. Of course, after my first trip there, I subsequently have other memories always associated with Holland. The first being the most delicious stroopwafel (which translates as syrup waffle). A stroopwafel consists of two thin sandwiched cookies, like a very thin and dried waffle, filled with a caramel syrup. And the city where the stroopwafel was birthed? Gouda. In case you're thinking Gouda is also where the cheese was invented - you're wrong! Gouda is where the market was that made its namesake cheese famous! But any country that invents cheese is one of my most favourite places to visit!

Picture 523.jpg

It has been many years since I hung up my backpack and suppressed the wunderlust. While I lived and worked in the UK I often travelled in Europe. Mostly my excuse was that I was running half marathons. But in reality Europe is a hop across the channel and offers a diverse adventure in any number of countries. Europe is easily accessible by plane, train or - yes automobile - if you hop on the ferry first. Which I did with my cute little right hand driving car.

Picture 570.jpg

A slow drive takes you very quickly from the white cliffs of Dover, a short channel crossing, skirting France and Belgium - an essential stop for delicious pastries from the famous French patisseries with a strong caffe on the side, then the equally important stop for real Belgium chocolat' (drinking and eating) - to arrive by lunch time in Holland. Time to park the car and hire some bicycles. Because it was tulip season!

Picture 587.jpg

And so for this #marketfriday inspired by the floral @dswigle I'm taking a trip down the tulip lined memory lane of the beautiful Netherlands. We visited the many small tulip markets, we cycled the miles and miles of tulip fields and we wandered the famous Keukenhof.

Picture 592.jpg

This magnificent botanical park is the largest in the world. It isn't far from Amsterdam and so we cycled there as well. There are said to be more than 7 million flowers in the exquisite Keukenhof gardens. The landscaped gardens span 32 hectares and they truly are breathtaking.

Picture 584.jpg

The tulips were magnificent and any other sightseeing stop was usually surrounded by rows of brightly coloured tulips. We sampled a lot of cheese and visited a lot of cheese markets. Actually we sampled a L.O.T of cheese. I'm a cheese addict, it's no secret. And what the Dutch have to offer is superb. Did you know that cheeses are not named after their birthplace but rather the markets where they are traded? I found that fascinating. So the Gouda market was made famous by the cheese it sold, going right back to the 12th century!

Picture 577.jpg

As a child with my nose perpetually in a book I remember the story of the little Dutch boy who saved Holland by keeping his finger in the dyke. All night he sat in the freezing cold plugging up the leak which prevented the country flooding.

Picture 521.jpg

Today Holland is still a system of dykes and water ways and surge barriers. It is a novel but popular way to travel, via water. The Dutch, out of necessity, have become famous for flood management, shipbuilding and water protection.

Picture 580.jpg

Coming from South Africa where Afrikaans is a daughter language of Old Dutch it is interesting visiting Holland and Belgium. Talking, or listening carefully, you can understand quite a bit. Once we left Holland we didn't need to speak the language to come away loaded with sweet stroopwafels, delicious Dutch cheeses and armloads of tulips bought from the lovely little markets. Holland is a place to make memories. I hope you've all enjoyed the cycle down memory lane this #marketfriday

Picture 609.jpg

Sort:  

Soooo beautiful @buckaroo :) My family on my dad's side are from Belgium, although sadly, I've never been. Love the tulip photos though. There's a place outside Vancouver, Canada that's known for its' tulip fields ... Abbotsford Tulip Festival (google it ;), it's pretty awesome, but it doesn't have cheese ... a major strike against it !

Submitting this to c-squared too :) Nice work!

How beautiful @lynncoyle1! I'm sure you'll get to go one day. My favourite part of Belgium was the real hot chocolate (tiny chocolate drops which you dissolve into hot milk). I would also say a place without cheese i seriously lacking ;) Thanks for the submission

You're so welcome @buckaroo; it was my pleasure! Your posts are always such great quality :)

You reminded me with the whole Belgium chocolate thing, which sounds delicious by the way ... but my grandparents went for a visit to Belgium and brought back boxes of chocolates. They opened all of the boxes up and set them on the table and we all sat around the table, for the entire evening, tasting different chocolates. But it was more like taking a small bite of one, then saying, "you've gotta taste this!!" and passing bits around to everyone :) It was awesome!!

I'm with you on the cheese too :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

have you tried greek yogurt?

Making it? I only make goats milk yoghurt

Thank you so much @c-squared?

Oh my goodness! I loved your memory and it is especially beautiful to me because I felt the same way about Holland. I used to wander throughout Europe, long ago and far away when my biggest worry was where I would be visiting next.

You capture the beauty in a way that tells me you truly appreciated all that you saw. I have to say that I was amazed when I went to Holland for the very first time that they actually did wear wooden shoes in some places, and it was years later that I want my own children wouldn't choose and one of them wore them out so that we had to buy another pair. You know how hard that is to do? Anyway I thoroughly enjoyed your blog and your pictures are amazing and each and every single one of them made me smile with my own memory.

I cannot thank you enough for being a part of Market Friday and we're taking the time and effort to search out and put together a post this wonderful. I hope all is well in your world and I hope you find yourself enjoying a wonderful weekend.

Upped and steemed

Ah @dswigle....another wandering spirit! I also used to be puzzled about the wooden clogs. But then I had a pair in my early adult years and I lived in them. So comfortable. I'm sorry I've never been able to replace them. I'm happy that my old photos inspired your own Dutch memories. It is another special country to visit

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you very much @travelfeed

Hi buckaroo. Travelling is so much fun in Europe and one of the things I miss. Every second weekend I would fill up at Dover and take the company car and travel France and Belgium.

Oh that was my favourite thing to do. Except when I was work further up north. While in Dorset it wasn't a trek.

How could you have not put any photos of cheese at the Gouda? Thanks God you didn't 😂 it would made me stop reading and imagine the taste and atmosphere of the market😊

Never been to Europe but love to read all information about it. An inheritage word that we (afrikaan and indonesian) had from The Dutch and still exists is "doorsmeer" 😆 . After reading about keukenkoef, I have no doubt while the Dutch built Kebun Raya Bogor in Indonesia, which become a largest botanical garden in my country.

Thanks @buckaroo.. thumbs up for the photos as always😉

Gouda never got to make it to my photos sadly @cicisaja. Seems my camera always gives problems when I travel. Interesting that the Dutch built your Indonensian botanical garden. One of our botanical gardens Kirstenbosch was also built by the Dutch settlers. I guess flowers is their inheritance!

Wow… those tulip gardens are incredible. I especially love how the single yellow tulip blossoms among the school of red tulips :) - it’s magical! Thanks for sharing @buckaroo.

Well spotted @puravidaville! That was also my favourite. It is inevitable that a different seed mixes in so most fields you see there is an out-of-place tulip

I like the out of place tulip :)

I always wanted to visit the tulip fields in the Netherlands!! But we haven't managed yet.

I loved Gouda! Such a cute small town! Have you been to the Cathedral there? They have the most beautiful stain glass windows! They are famous all over the world!

Great post with stunning photos! Thank you for sharing!

Such a beautiful place. Love the tulips flowers. The Netherlands is already on my bucket list and your pics are so tempting to visit the place.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you enjoyed the cyber tour @anjujulius! It is a lovely country to visit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24