Market Friday Goes to the Air Show - Part One

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)



Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see the different markets and cultures of our friends here on steemit. I have been pleasured by all of you, as you send in the most wonderful posts. Going places, doing things, buying merchandise. I have been surprised by many, not being familiar with the culture and I must say that it has been such an educational experience for me in so many ways and I hope for you also. This week, I am taking you to the grocery store, one of those places I rarely take you or even go to myself.


Today we will be attending an Air Show showing off all different kinds of aircraft. The Headliner Show was for the Air Forces' F-16 Thunderbird Team and the Navy's F-18 Blue Angel Team. I can tell you that they did not disappoint. It could have been better weather, but, let's face it, I wasn't missing it anyway. Come on in, buckle up and enjoy the ride.



#26.jpg


Please leave the link to your post here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤


#21.jpg

This is a picture of the Thunderbirds and their famous "Reflection Pass". If they were tail to tail, it would be the "Calypso Pass"



#22.jpg

The Thunderbird team doing a simple Delta Formation pass.

#23.jpg

Shortly after takeoff, (you can see all the nose gear doors haven't closed yet) with number four in "Fingertip Formation". Momentarily, he will move into "the slot" and that will change the formation into the Delta Formation
#31.JPG


The Golden Knights are one of only three Department of Defense-sanctioned aerial demonstration teams, along with the U.S. Navy Blue Angels and the U.S. Air Force Thunderbirds. The team is composed of approximately 95 men and women, which includes four parachute units, an aviation unit, and a headquarters. The demonstration teams, which use five dedicated aircraft, perform at more than 100 events per year. The tandem section is known for taking Soldiers, celebrities, and heads of state on jumps, and the competition section focuses on winning national and international skydiving events.*
source

#27.jpg



"Echelon Pass", which is used to demonstrate the close formation skills of the pilots. In normal operations, this is used when maneuvering a flight when coming into the pattern. It is a lot easier for everyone to simply roll into the bank and look "through the flight" than it is for them to stay line abreast with each aircraft higher than the one next to them on the inside of the turn.

#15.jpg

This is a picture of all 6 aircraft on the top of a "Delta Loop". The six-ship formation is called the Delta Formation and they are simply performing a loop.

#38.JPG

In fairness, I had to show off the Blue Angels flying in their Echelon Parade. Close and tight. Just the way they like it.





German-built Extra 300 Acrobatic Airplane. The maneuvers!!

Aerobatics/Acrobatics. FAR 91.303 (This stands for The Federal Aviation Regulations ) defines aerobatic flight as an intentional maneuver involving an abrupt change in an aircraft's attitude, an abnormal attitude, or abnormal acceleration, not necessary for normal flight





This is a C-47 Skytrain, which is a military version of the civilian DC-3 (the DC-3 was first:-). During WWII, the C-47 had flown for every branch of the US Military, and all major allied powers. During WWII, the C-47 saw duty in the Normandy Invasion (where some towed gliders full of troops while others carried 28 paratroopers who jumped into the battle), flying the "Hump" over the Himalayas and general all around supply for everyone, everywhere. While the C-47 was officially called the Skytrain by the US Army Air Corps, there were at least 22 Designations for this familiar aircraft, but it was best known as the Gooney Bird. By the end of WWII, there were 10,692 DC-3/C-47's built and they played a large part in the 1948 Berlin Airlift and saw military action in Korea and Vietnam. To this day, there are many DC-3's and C-47 variants still in service.

#7.JPG


The large 3X on the side is identification marking, which allows the other aircraft in the formation to readily identify which aircraft is which...while maintaining radio silence. Typical to many military aircraft, the crew (with the pilot having the biggest vote!) named their aircraft, this one is "That's All...Brother". Many also had "nose art" where the more artistic crews would paint a "morale-boosting" picture on the nose.

#8.JPG






#12.JPG

Ponchito is a gorgeous example of a nicely restored B-52 Mitchell bomber. This is the same type aircraft Doolittle's Raiders flew on their famous bombing mission of Japan. Of interest, you might notice that there is one-quarter of the engine cowling that is painted olive drab green instead of being polished like the rest of the aircraft...if it were polished like the rest of the aircraft, reflections of the sun could temporarily blind the pilot. It's the details that count 🙂

#13.JPG



STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


source
Question:I am the beginning of sorrow and the end of sickness. You cannot express happiness without me yet I am in the midst of crosses. I am always in risk yet never in danger. You may find me in the sun, but I am never out of darkness.*


source


Answer: The letter S



#10.JPG

While the story of the Memphis Belle is well known and documented by the movie with the same name, many don't know how to interpret the bombs/stars/swastika's painted on the nose. For anyone who is interested, each bomb represented a single bombing mission. The stars above some of the bombs signify that the Memphis Bell was one of the lead aircraft for that particular bombing mission. The swastika's represent confirmed German planes shot down by the aircraft's gunners. Note that while this aircraft is painted up commemorate the Memphis Belle, on the original Memphis Belle, the forward gun seen here had a much larger, square plexiglass opening that extended all the way into the bombardier's plexiglass.

#9.JPG


#2.JPG

This is a picture of an original Tuskegee Airman. This gentleman is in his late 90's and he drove himself to the airshow:-) While he didn't fly this day, the squadron gave him an honorary ride down the runway. This Stearman PT-17 is a refurbished copy of the first aircraft the Tuskegee Airman trained in. You can read the history of them here.

#1.JPG


All these spectators are great :-) Thunderbird maintenance and jets all ready for a demo...now all we need is the pilots to get this show on the road!

#5.JPG


How is this for deception? I'll bet you thought these are the Blue Angel pilots, didn't you! Blue uniforms, obviously a Blue Angel jet...WRONG! Take a closer look, those are Air Force uniforms and those are actually the Thunderbird pilots walking down the flight line to join a group of new Air Force enlistees in repeating the oath of enlistment in front of their shiny white jets:-) This airshow was the first time in 12 years that the Thunderbirds and the Blue Angles participated in the same airshow.

#3.JPG



Ahhh, here are our jets...and our new recruits! They had a swearing-in ceremony for these young people with the Thunderbirds in presence. WELCOME to the Air Force!

#4.JPG

There were tents and tent of all things to do with flying but I will just show you a few. Maybe next week, I will show you a few more. The mandatory earplugs, in case you forgot yours at home, sunglasses, because how can you be a cool aviator without the glasses... and a mini version of the F-18 that the Blue Angels fly and a mini F-16 that the Thunderbirds fly. So many fun things, so little money. LOL

ribbet.jpg

A Barksdale B-52 "Stratofortress" AKA a BUF (Big Ugly *ucker). The tail used to contain a gunner (and guns!), but the gunner was replaced by remotely controlled guns and then the guns were replaced with beeps and squeaks (jammers!). This venerable B-52 had its first flight in 1952 and entered service in February 1952 and will most likely still be flying in 2052! There were 744 B-52's made, with the last delivery in October 1962...they are all old. The B-52 can carry up to 70,000 pounds of weapons and can fly more than 8,800 miles without inflight refueling. With tanker support, it has unlimited range.

#28.jpg

Thank you! Keep on Steemin'!!

And just like that, the airshow is done. I hope you had a good time! Come back next week for Part 2! As always, I want to thank you for taking the time to visit #MarketFriday!! Have a most fabulous day!

#18.jpg

Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul




Fridays are all about the #MarketFriday Challenge! Looking to take part in it? Here is how:

How to Participate:

1. Go to the market! Any market will do! Food, Clothing, Plant or Animal, if you wish. You can go to the zoo or an art auction. Anywhere or anything that you pay money for a service. I once went to a nail salon.
2. Take pictures! Be creative (or not)
3. Tell us a little bit about the market, what brought you here?
4. Post the picture(s)
5. Don’t forget to hashtag it! #MarketFridayChallenge by @dswigle


It is always interesting to see the different markets around the globe! C’mon! Show me your market shots! I eagerly await them!




I have been discovering new places, some right in my own area! This week, I discovered a new farmers market that will be a walkable distance! I find that super exciting! I love to share and be shared with! I am intrigued by different cultures. It is exciting and yes! I would love to see yours! Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery store, the local marketplace or even an art gallery, a kite festival! Wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Be different if you wish! It does not have to be a traditional market! We will love it! I promise you! Don't forget to use the hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle.



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post again and again, I am encouraged by you, for the time you take to visit, comment or even upvote. For all of these reasons, I am eternally grateful. Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


I always post this poem down at the bottom of my posts. It is one that has become so near and dear to my heart. I only post the most famous part of it, but, wanted to post it in its entirety today.

they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

SteemUSA.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Sort:  

Oh this post is just packed full of good stuff. Kind of like a fruitcake now that I think about it lol. Omg my mind wanders when on the edge of sleep. I am always beyond blown away with the precision that they operate with. I really enjoy watching them and hearing them is a big part of the fun!

Amazing how some of those old planes can keep on going. Seeing a B52 on the ground is seriously awe inspiring. Had to believe it can fly especially when carrying so much weight!

Yes we all want a part 2. I bet plenty of us are rooting for a third part as well lol. I nodded off in my chair and am about ready for bed!

It is a little bit like fruit cake, isn't it? That is so funny when you said that but it does kind of remind me of the cake that is a little bit of everything mixed in.

Their precision is always so amazing and the skill level here is over the top as far as I'm concerned. There's merely feet between those planes when they are in the air and it has to be with steady hands that these planes are flown. I'm trying to imagine myself and how shaky I would be knowing that my life was in the hands of another by merely a flip of the stick. Anyway the show was amazing and I know I keep using that word but it's the only word that you can say when you're watching them do their aerobatics. Oh my God that's amazing!

even though I have seen their shows many many many times and then many many more oh, I never Tire of them and I could watch them all day long. It is truly amazing that planes like the B-52 are still in the air and you have to wonder how does large planes can stay up because it sure doesn't make sense aerodynamically or in my head, because I'm sure aerodynamically they make sense. I guess there is going to be a part 2 because I couldn't Shuffle it all into one. I know there was a little disappointment in me not putting more of the shopping part in it but that just says I need another one so I can show off more shopping. I want to thank you for sort of staying awake and for being one of the people that always supports Market Friday. It is because of people like you that I am able to continue with the challenge.

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Goes To The Air Show - Part One Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Oh you know I am not going to miss it for the world! I really love to try to contribute. Maybe even get it to someday catch on on DTube! ;)

Oh, don't hold your breath!! Me and dtube???

I was hoping you would do a post of this show and WOW not only a postbut an amazing one your shots are spectacular the skill of those pilots to flu in such tifht formations is incredible seeingit in person must be such an experience but you gave us the feelign with these amazing shots of them flying

thanks you showed those cool detail shots I loved this post

Thanks for being an Active Member, Giude and mentor of SteemUSA !tip

Here is my post for this week

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@tattoodjay/market-friday-interesting-pub-name

How could I not post the fabulous expertise of these amazing Pilots? I almost said men because the team's used to be made exclusively of men, but of recent years have women on their teams. As it should be. They should want their amazing skills in every turn and every roll. The g-force alone would probably make most people pass out. I have been to many many your shows, but I have never been to one where the Thunderbirds and the Blue Angels fly together. As a matter of fact I have not done that for 13 years oh, so this was a very special one and even the inclement weather couldn't spoil it.

I want to thank you for taking the time to stop in and for putting out a post for Market Friday, just like you always do. And so, I thank you.

#MARKETFRIDAY loves you!

!tip

Yes indeed it would have been a shame not to share it this week, Its great that there are female Pilots these days, it was a mans world just a few years ago, The stress on the body's flying those with the High G turns must be amazing so both the strength Energy and dedication of the Pilots not to mention insane skills and confidence in the fellow members of the team.
Thats a long time since your last one but catching both teams together is something few will ever see so that must have been a blast even with some bad weather

No Need for thanks its always a pleasure to join Market Friday :)

Everything you say about them is true but one fact that you did get wrong it is not 13 years since I have seen them but it is 13 years since they have flown together - the Thunderbirds and the Blue Angels. Remember that they are military shows so there is no entry fee, it is free and that is a very expensive show to put on because as you know jet fuel is near and dear . They normally run opposite ends of the United States and cross over but usually independently as one is Navy in one is Air Force . The last time I saw the air show was when they were in the area which I believe was in September. I I think I have seen them every year for at least a hundred years now. LOL

Oop sorry I misread it and I did think it was surprising you had not seen an airshow for that long, its so cool you got to see them together I have to admit I am kind of envious it must have been amazing to experience and so cool that you could share such amazing shots of the show with us !tip

I'll have to see what I have left for next week!

I am sure you have plenty for another post ;)

Haha! Yes!!! But, You know! I need good ones!!! :)

🎁 Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: My Actifit Report Card: May 16 2019 Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Goes To The Air Show - Part One Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

So sorry Im late Princess! This was a stinker and I just could not get it right. Anyways there is always next week amiright! I love Market Friday and I hate to ever miss, so I thought better late than never!

Image8.jpg

https://steemit.com/dtube/@old-guy-photos/c3idcail

No problem! Better late than never! Truth!

This is my entry
https://steemit.com/food/@brittandjosie/marketfriday-on-sunday-to-buy-cheese

And this about the grass cheese 🧀
Grass cheese is made from milk from hopping cows ...
After a winter in the stable, the cows cannot wait to go outside again. As soon as the farmer opens the barn door, the cows jump happily to the pasture, where they enjoy the fresh grass. That is something else than the bix and the hay that they have ground all winter! The fresh grass gives the milk of the cows a milder taste.
The cheese that is made from the milk of cows that eat grass again for the first time in the year is called grass cheese. This very young cheese has a mild and creamy taste.

You know that I am tickled pink that you entered and I am embarrassed that I was so excited to see your post, I forgot to come back and get this one!

We're not worthy! This is one of the coolest posts I've ever seen.

I have a couple of personal connections here.
The Golden Knights formerly trained and were based out of Yuma Proving Ground. It was one of my Dad's favorite outings, to spend a morning on the landing lawn at YPG while they were jumping. We did it often.

The Blue Angels winter at NAS El Centro. I know of at least 3 good viewing areas for when they are practicing. Pretty spectacular stuff.

The Memphis Belle (if that is the movie Belle) was previously owned by a friend of mine. He flew it as a Forrest Service fire fighter. He owned 3 B-17s that were leased as Fire Birds. When he retired, he sold the other two to the crews that flew them and listed that one. It was bought by the movie company who promptly hired him to oversee the reconfiguration to original form and to do the flying in the movie. Don Clark. Heck of a guy. He kept an ugly lump of metal on his mantle. It was a piece of a German 88 shell that stopped in his parachute (which they sat on) while he was flying a P-51.

I could keep telling Clark stories. Lots of stories. But I'll just say thank you for the whole day's worth of memories. You have no idea...

Oh I am so familiar with finding those perfect little spots to watch the action from! I have lived on the Flightline most of my adult life and to watch these amazing people, both the parachutist and the pilots and even the drivers of those Vehicles which actually I did not show yet oh, that will be four part 2. All of these things put together are simply mind-boggling. For someone like yourself who is aware and well versed in the ins-and-outs of the flying and such, it's a cool Factor. But for people who have never seen it, some don't even know of the rigorous training and everything that you must give up to make this dream come true. That is so absolutely cool that you have so many connections and I have many connections also, although different than yours, there's a bond binding us together just for having had them. If that makes any sense to you.

Birds of a feather and all that.

I want to thank you for one of the best comments that I have ever received and I want to hear more stories so, if you have it in you, I think that you should write a post on it and if and when you do please make sure that you tagged me because it is stories like these that keep the past alive. We should never let them die with us and by putting them on the blockchain, they will live forever. I look forward to seeing them and I want to thank you for stopping in and taking a peruse through the post. Be aware that there is going to be a part 2 next week. Have a most wonderful day and a an amazing weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you!

!tip

🎁 Hi @bigtom13! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Goes To The Air Show - Part One Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hi Denise. I really like the jet photos. So cool. Here is my market Friday.

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@worldschoolerboy/market-friday-at-grouse-mountain-with-dswigle

Thank you so much. I am glad that you made them and I had a lot of fun there.

It had the Thunderbird Air Force Flying Team and the Blue Angels from the Navy! So plenty of flying!

Thank you for stopping by and dropping your link!

Have a great weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @worldschoolerboy! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Goes To The Air Show - Part One Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Super fabulous, extraordinary knock-out photos :-) Can I ask what camera and lens you used for the air shots? @dswigle

Thank you so much,Mike! @manorvillemike I used a Canon7D for the most part with an 18-270 lens.

I'm sure it helped that I was right up on the flight line. Thank you for the super nice comment. It's much appreciated and as always thank you so much for visiting my post! Have yourself a most wonderful weekend!

#MarketFriday loves you

!tip

The quality of your pictures are always top notch. You have very good camera instincts :-)

Thank you so much. I think that is the first time anybody has ever said that to me oh, so that tickles me to death.

I think we are in for a decent weekend so enjoy!

🎁 Hi @manorvillemike! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Goes To The Air Show - Part One Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you for the resteem @pixresteemer!

!tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Goes To The Air Show - Part One Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I have never been to an air show. Those machines and your photos - wow!

Here is my link https://partiko.app/@fionasfavourites/fionasfavourites-1558068227931-easy-as-pie---well-almost

!tip

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for dropping the link here! It is so much appreciated and helps me keep them all together!

Also, I hope you have a wonderful day!

!tip

🎁 Hi @fionasfavourites! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Penning My Thoughts Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Hello there, @dswigle! Here's my post for this #MarketFriday. I hope you like it.

A Little Market and a Popular Fair in Matosinhos (Portugal)

1oja9sjwc0.png

Links: 1Ramp / Busy / SteemPeak / Steeve / SteemIt

Thank you so much for dropping the link here! I appreciate it! As always, I wish you a most wonderful night!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73