At The Flower Market

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Today I visited the flower market set up in the city center f March, which means International Women's Day, the day we get lots of flowers.

This #marketfriday is dedicated to all the female steemians, I can't post anything else today, not to mention that it was more than enough of winter, dark, and gray weather, we need a bit of color and lots of flowers.

IMG_20190308_105439a.jpg

Let's start with some beautiful tulips. I love it when there's a lot in one place. Usually they are placed in a bucket and I wish one day I could have a whole bucket :)

IMG_20190308_104721a.jpg

These little baskets are filled with primulas and pansies.

IMG_20190308_105300a.jpg

The market was full of flowers, all kinds of flowers but there were a few that are specific spring flowers. These are primulas, hyacinths, freesias, daffodils and cyclamens as well.

IMG_20190308_105433a.jpg

While doing these posts I'm always looking for facts about what I'm posting and I'm always amazed by how many things I don't know. Look what I've found about narcissus or daffodils. I guess the second is more popular. We use the first, these are called narcissus here.

Narcissi produce a number of different alkaloids, which provide some protection for the plant, but may be poisonous if accidentally ingested. This property has been exploited for medicinal use in traditional healing and has resulted in the production of galantamine for the treatment of Alzheimer's dementia. Long celebrated in art and literature, narcissi are associated with a number of themes in different cultures, ranging from death to good fortune, and as symbols of spring. The daffodil is the national flower of Wales and the symbol of cancer charities in many countries. source

IMG_20190308_105556a.jpg

Crocuses are also spring flowers and I was happy to see them at the market.

This is my contribution to #marketfriday hosted by my dear friend Denise, @dswigle.

Sort:  

Happy Woman's Day, Erika! @erikah

You have made such a beautiful day for a wonderful post! Thank you so much! I started this last night and couldn't keep my eyes open, so I just continue on today!

One of the most beautiful posts, ever, right??? Those flowers were really stunning and that whole bucket of tulips was certainly divine! I do so love tulips, I just wish they would last a little longer. Perhaps that is why they are so coveted by me... they are here one moment and gone the next, making me yearn for more. Isn't that always the way? We want more than we get? Oh, but, they are beautiful!

Thank Goodness the winter is faded bringing sunshine and budding trees to my eyes. This is the most incredible part of the year, starting over. The newness. Everything.

I love all the flowers and I certainly love all the information you looked up! Thank you and thank you for being a part of #MarketFriday!

!tip

Sorry, the tip is higher than your deposit.
You can check your deposit by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: status
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD/STEEM)

Oh!!! I just ran to the bank and put more money in! I bounced your !tip ... This one should work!

🎁 Hi @dswigle! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Here I am, repeating myself but thank you again for this nice comment and your support.

I'm with you on the 🌷 tulips, they are lovely, I would have loved to have the whole bucket but that would have costed me an arm and a leg.

They are always lovely and delicate, but they don't last long, unfortunately. However, there's a supermarket chain here called Lidl, they are selling a type of tulips that are smaller than usual and those last longer, about a week, which is very long when it comes to 🌷 tulips. The price is reasonable, so that's my place where I buy tulips.

I have some good news. Have bought black tulip bulbs, which were planted in October or November last year and are already growing 😀 wich means I'm going to post photos soon 😉

I have black tulips also!!!! Only two though. They are amazing looking and I can hardly wait to see yours!

By the way, I have a Lidl here too. Them and Aldi's are big in the States.
They did have the smaller ones and they do last longer than the longer stemmed ones! I was actually quite surprised and I really do love them,they are cute!

I wonder why tulips are so expensive. They are so short lived!

Then how come I've never seen any of your black tulip photos? How could I miss them? please tag me next time you're posting black tulip photos! That is mandatory for you now :D
We don't have Aldi yet, but they are preparing to enter the Romania market. I like Aldi and can't wait to have it here.
Tulips may be expensive because they don't last, but that's only a guess.

They were absolutely stunning but I have only had them for two years. The first year, I was away on vacation and spring sprung without me! My girls sent me a picture! LOL Last year, they were gorgeous and only lasted one day. I planted them in a different place this year because I actually think when they did bloom, it was too hot in the sun, so I put them in a semi-shaded spot.

We will see how this spot works out. They are very exotic looking, but, do not show off in the big garden as well as the red or even white.

You may be right about why they are so expensive.

Sorry to hear you missed them flowering. I'm afraid that's what it's going to happen to me too. I won't be able to be there in time, probably. We'll see, fingers crossed 🤞

Oh, yes!! Fingers crossed for you!!! I couldn't believe I missed them!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Many thanks.

Well, I ran to the bank and put more money in, then I tipped myself instead of you! OMG!!!

Here you go! Let me try again! I hear the third time is the charm!

!tip

Lol, looks like you need some time off but don't worry, that tip is not wasted as it went to someone who deserves it 😁
Thank you again for your constant support and help and have a nice weekend!

Can you believe I did that??? OMG!

Come on, don't make a big deal out of it, you deserve it :D

La multi ani!

Multumesc mult si scuze pentru intarziere, am avut o saptamana incarcata :)

Can I have them all? 😍
Happy Women Day!!!

Happy Women's Day to you too and of course you can have them all 😛
Greedy 😀

Not greedy, just obsessed. 😂

If you say so 😀 I believe you.

Lovely flowers! I love tulips too. Happy women's day. Blessings!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @sherylneil! Thank you, I'm wishing you a Happy Women's day too! Have a nice weekend 😊

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you!

Friend your post is great

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by erikah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you very much for your support.

They are all so pretty and colorful Happy Women Day my friend :)

zo5hwxazgd.jpg

Aww, thank you very much, how nice of you! I love tulips by the way, you're a true gentleman :)

Your most welcome have a great week :)

You too my friend :)

Thank you....Cheers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13