Handmade Art At The Craft Market, Part 2 - MarketFriday

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)

Today is Friday again, which means #MarketFriday for many of us. If you are not familiar with it, please check out my dear friend Denise's post here Market Friday Goes to Camping World.

I started a series about a Romanian spring welcoming tradition a few weeks ago. Feel free to check them our if you've missed them:

On the 1st March, men are gifting women, their loved ones, colleagues, friends, family members with so called Mărțisoare, which is for spring welcoming and also for good luck. Years ago these mărțișoare were mostly snowdrop flowers, horse shoes, chimney sweepers, clovers etc, always with a red and white string attached. Nowadays you can find all kind of things, from the elephant to Mikey Mouse.

Today I'm going to post more photos I took at the market but only about handmade products. I'm going to make another post with the other products that are not handmade.

IMG_20190226_105920a.jpg

Let's start with these flowers made of leather waste. When you're working with genuine leather, whatever you make out of it, you can't avoid having waste. This waste is usually not thrown away but used for something else as the material is good quality. I find it a very good idea as you can utilize it for a very good cause to create an artistic product.

IMG_20190226_105913a.jpg

You can choose any color you want, there is plenty for each taste.

IMG_20190226_105859a.jpg

Little baskets with flowers, these are all handmade too, made of straw, paper and other materials. On this day men also give flowers to ladies and some choose to buy these as they don't fade and you can keep them as a nice memory in your keepsake box.

IMG_20190226_105826a.jpg

These flower compositions are mostly made of paper and dry flower and placed in a ceramic pot. I'm always admiring these and would buy one if there was enough place in my house for everything I want.

IMG_20190226_105834a.jpg

Another example of how times change. These are fridge magnets. You could not see these ten years ago, now you can give your mother or your girlfriend a fridge magnet that is made or straw, dry flowers and paper as a spring welcoming gift.

IMG_20190226_105806a.jpg

If you prefer a flower in a golden round box, you can choose these roses made of some kind of textile, which is most likely a by product, waste material.

IMG_20190226_110023a.jpg

Flower compositions can often be kitschy and most of the time they are but you can find nice ones as well. I don't like those that are too crowded and too colorful. These are nice though. I love the red and the orange.

IMG_20190226_110405a.jpg

Little dry flower compositions as brooches. These are cute but I don't know if you can wear them as they are very fragile but they look good.

IMG_20190226_110442a.jpg

This is another cute one, little handmade crochet dolls for girls. I can really appreciate these because I know how hard it is to crochet miniature things. This is the perfect mărțișor for young ladies.

IMG_20190226_110509a.jpg

You can create wonderful things using waste material, you just need a little bit of creativity. Here is the proof. These are flowers, I think they are pansies made of textile. I find it very creative.

IMG_20190226_110523a.jpg

More fridge magnet for you, wood decorated with dry flower and shells. I find it a bit odd to see dry flowers associated with shells but but that doesn't mean others won't like it.

IMG_20190226_110659a.jpg

Folk costumes, flowers and animals made of very small beads. I haven't seen such thing before and I told the woman whoever made them, did a good job. The woman told me she's the artist :) I don't know if you're familiar with this technique, I am, so I can tell you from experience that it's not easy. You're working with very tiny beads and you need special needle and thread to do this. The needle is so thin that you can break it in a split second. I broke two or three till I got used to it. It's also tiring to the eye, so imagine how hard it is.

Looks like I underestimated my collection of photos, I need to do another post because this post is long enough already. So I'll be back next week. I hope you don't mind, as it's still spring :)

Thank you for reading my post. This is my entry for #MarketFriday hosted by our dear friend Denise @dswigle. And also my entry to #seasonchallenge hosted by my dear friend @roxy-cat.

Sort:  

Hi, Erika! @erikah. Thank you so much for putting in the part one and part two of your series. That makes it so much more complete and the entire thing is so enjoyable, I hope that everybody gets a chance to check it out.

I like the tradition of gifting the women or colleagues friends or loved ones. It kind of reminds me of Valentine's Day but different because you are welcoming the spring and wishing good luck.

I am sure you know by now that I absolutely love handmade products and so I will really be enjoying sharing your post. Isn't it interesting when somebody uses the waste of one product to make something else out of it. I am always in when everything is used in nothing is thrown away. And these flowers turned out so beautiful!

I cannot disagree that these flowers made of straw and other materials are actually a good idea to buy because their life is so much longer than fresh flowers. However sometimes fresh flowers are the exact thing we need! I see many of them that would look delightful in my house, but then I would have to take some things down to make room. I myself, have quite a few refrigerator magnets and over the years have gotten less and less of them. I realized I could no longer see my refrigerator! But they make a wonderful gift oh, don't they? The roses in a box are interesting, and using the gold boxes makes them even prettier. Oh yes! The kitschy colors are everywhere! We have them in big numbers. I like the little flowers that you can put on your lapel, although I imagine that they would not be good for too long but they are an inexpensive way to gift. The wood refrigerator magnets look like kind of cool and different. While on these things are interesting in kind of cool it is truly a work of art and a lot of hard work to put them together. Thank you so much for taking the time and the energy!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and steemed

!tip

I'm always admiring you for these long and nice comments. Your comments are way longer then some people's post :)

I tried to link my posts at the beginning of the post for those who don't know anything about this tradition.

We are alike when it comes to handmade things and recycling, which is good as both are important. I know fresh flowers are better but you know how it is, some like dry flowers, some like fresh flowers, so there's plenty for everyone.

Thank you again for your support, it means a lot to me! xoxo

You are always welcome! You have been so very supportive of me from the very beginning! You have got to be pretty quick because you get so much done in so little time! I struggle some days to keep up with everyone.

I really do like the idea of linking posts and I love that your posts are always so well done and using no shortcuts. You perform superb, each time. Thank you.

I wish you a Happy St. Patrick's Day! We are all a little Irish on St. Patrick's Day! 🍀

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Your help and support is always appreciated.

they are beautiful artwork.

Thank you, I'm glad you like them.

Hey @erikah! Glad to meet you here! Have you tried Partiko? It’s a really cool Steem app! You download it, login using your Steem account, and boom, you can use Steem on your phone!

What’s even cooler is that they reward you Partiko Points for using it, and you can cash it out for STEEM!

Join using this link: https://partiko.app/referral/vintage-m , and you will get 3000 Points as a bonus! Let’s see who can reach 30000 Points first!

I'm not interested and please stop spamming.

I'm headed to the market today to sell my wares this weekend too. Hope things go well for you.

Good luck although I might be late with that. I hope you were able to sell your goods at a convenient price.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 25 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 220 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you very much @trufflepig, I really appreciate it.

Thank you very much @trufflepig, I really appreciate it.

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you @tipu for supporting us!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by erikah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for your support.

You got a 9.73% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @erikah! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 60 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Many thanks for your support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22