Handmade Embroidery - Craft Fair - Part 2 for MarketFriday

in #marketfriday6 years ago

I'm continuing my Craft Fair series and posting photos I took a couple of weeks ago at the local craft market. This is the second part of my Craft fair. You can read about the first one here Made of Wood - Craft Fair - Part 1.

Today I'm going to post about handmade embroideries, table cloths, folk costumes and many more. So come with me to show you something specific to Transylvania and Romania.

fv06k187ap.jpg

Those tablecloths you see on both sides of the photo are called "Kalotaszegi varrottas" or "Kalotaszegi írásos". Kalotaszeg is the name of the place where this technique comes from. Kalotaszeg is a municipality which connects 34 villages in Transylvania. Kalotaszeg is the Hungarian name, (Țara Călatei in Romanian and The Land of Călata in English), has a significant Hungarian population, and it is a stronghold of old Transylvanian Hungarian folk traditions of which you'll see a part here in my presentation today.

xd3qcncjc4.jpg

This technique is called "Kalotaszegi írásos" (írásos means written in English) because the embroidery is continuous like writing. Above you can see a close-up photo of a kalotaszegi írásos tablecloth. This was done by hand, it's not easy at all, I can tell you that from experience. My grandmother was a huge fan of this embroidery technique and she had a room full of tablecloths, pillow cases, curtains and she had some on the wall as well. She loved to make them, this was her passion. I used to make some myself and still do sometimes.

fkt8bmqj4v.jpg

This is a smaller one which costs around $38, unfortunately the canvas and yarn are very expensive. As about the colors used to create these beautiful things, I can tell you that red is the most popular, then comes blue, white and black, not necessarily in this order. Colors are never mixed!

This embroidery technique was used first to decorate shirts for women that were worn at religious events. After the second World War this habit disappeared and women started to use it to decorate pillow covers and make tablecloths. You can find it in most of the reformed christian churches. Now it's used almost fro everything. I've seen bags embroidered with this technique, book signs, book covers etc.

yehawqoz5g.jpg

This is a traditional folk costume used by Hungarian from Transylvania. The red and black striped fabric with a white shirt and an embroidered apron, that's the standard. The embroidery of the apron car vary from region to region. I had one when I was in kindergarten and elementary school. My other grandmother made it for me by hand. She worked day and night so I can have it till the big day :) At the end of each school year there was a closing ceremony and each class had to make a performance, a dance, a short play, a music performance etc. That tradition still exists and Romanian, Hungarian and German always dress up in traditional folk costumes.

xao0wxxz3t.jpg

The book covers I was talking about above, you can see them on the table and hanged in the upper row. There's a kalotaszegi írásos tablecloth in the middle, behind the chair. Above it there is another one, embroidered with black and red, that's also specific to Hungarian from Transylvania, it's the same as the folk costume apron. next to it on the left there's another table cloth with colorful embroidery, that's specific to Hungary. it can be also found here in Transylvania but that's not part of the tradition. I like it, wanted to try it out but I don't think it's easy, won't be good at it.

e5sacgi488.jpg

This is a bag embroidered with the same technique. In Hungary you can find nice tablecloths with floral pattern on black.

fdrvcc57c2.jpg

Book signs and small table cloths also hand made with another technique. On them you can see blessings in Hungarian and German. At the bottom of the shelf there are handmade wool socks :) I guess that's just for fun or maybe people still use them in villages where it's very cold but that's just a guess. Wool is thick, you need big boots for those. When I was a teenager my grandmother taught me to knit them, it was fun :)

tbaiwg0ka5.jpg

A colorful shirt for women, hand embroidered but can't tell you more about it. Might be traditional for some region of Romania.

I'm probably repeating myself but I love these fairs and I'm not the only one. At the time of the fair there were lots of tourist in town and this fair was in the center of the city, so it was inevitable. You should have seen their faces when they saw these beautiful things.

This is my entry to #MarketFriday hosted by our lovely Denise @dswigle.

steemit-border

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobile📱& PC💻 app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobile📱
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PC💻
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

steemit-border

Sort:  

beautiful..so colorful
embroidery is fun to do

Thank you.

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@Photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

Lovely market and photos @erikah

I can't believe how lucky we are to be invited to walk through the craft fair with you. Handmade embroidery is almost becoming a lost skill in the United States. It used to be one of the things that your grandmother or mother taught you and I will bet you most mothers don't even know how to do it today.

I was fortunate enough to have a family that believed in passing down skills.

The "Kalotaszegi varrottas" are absolutely beautiful and such perfection! Perfection is so hard to find outside of a embroidery machine. I do remember the little ladies, we used to call them the embroidery ladies. I was fascinated by them.

I love how the embroidery is continuous I know for a fact but it is not easy, but it is beautiful no. I believe one must have a passion to do this well. I remember well the peasant shirts that were decorateith embroidery and it seems like everything had that beautiful touch on it.

The thing I love the most is the traditional folk costumes and how the schools integrated into their learning. Being part of the tradition makes learning about your history easier. So very clever and helpful to not forget your traditions. Thank you so much for bringing us along and showing us these beautiful pieces of Art. I appreciate the time and effort you have spent Gathering the information and sharing it with all of your readers. He has been an immense pleasure for me.

Upped and steemed

Tip!

You're always leaving such nice comment that makes us continue what we do for MarketFriday. You're out mentor, our inspiration and I'm very happy to look for new things to show you and prepare the necessary information for it.
Thanks again dear Denise for your kindness and generosity!

It is always my pleasure! xoxo

Hi @erikah! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Oh, These are really cool table cloths!

Thank you 😊

beautiful post, erikah !! I really love embroidery. these are very beautiful things and it's no surprise that they are expensive. I like to embroider and I think clothes with embroidery on it will always be in vogue. it's wonderful that you have such talented grandmothers

Thank you very much @tali72! I'm glad you like it 😊

Such interesting and beautiful handy work thanks for sharing

I'm glad you like it @tattoodjay, thanks!

Beautiful embroidery, these are wonderful photographs and the designs are amazing. My Mum used to love doing embroidery, she would have loved seeing a fair like this.

Wonderful post, I enjoyed seeing this market and traditional designs with you, it brought back fond memories for me as well.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you so much for the nice comment :) Looks like my post reminds many of you of mothers, grandmothers :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17