Buy Beyond Organic Eggs with Steem or SBD

in #marketfriday6 years ago

1 doz eggs.jpg

Egg Market

Today is Market Friday initiated by the lovely Denise @dswigle. Follow the tag #marketfriday and it will take you around the world to wonderful shopping opportunities.

Today, I am going to take you to San Diego.

San Diegans! Pay attention!!

I am going to take you to my very own egg market in my backyard.

Today, I was thinking about Steem and how many people are saying that the real value of a crypto is its usefulness. And I have lots of eggs. Put the two together - and an idea was born.

Will Sell Eggs for Steem!!

I used to sell my eggs for US $ 8 per dozen. That might seem like a lot for some, but it is a going price in this area for way beyond organic eggs like mine. To tell you the truth, that is basically just my break-even point.

I feed my girls well. Everything they are eating is sourced from organic sources, including my garden and the bugs they find.

A long time ago, I decided if I can't sell them for that price, I rather give them away as special presents. But for the Steem Community, I am going to break my own rule in a major way.

Get this!

1 Dozen beyond organic eggs for 2 Steem or 3 SBD

That, my friends, is a bargain!

*Details for the San Diego crew at the bottom of this post.

The Chickens

Let me show you the Egg Market 😄

As many of you know, I have a flock of backyard chickens. I don't know what possessed me, but for some reason, I decided to show off my girls (and boy) in a daily chicken picture. If you follow me, you already have met a few of the flock.

Here is one

Boya.jpg

Wait - that is a funny looking chicken!!!

That is actually the egg stealer - not one of the egg layers.

Here is one of the egg layers in front of their roost.

girl.jpg

The girls are being watched over by the best rooster ever - Dan, the man. He is gentle and has never attacked a human. But he watches out for the girls, calls them when there is something good to eat - and, he fertilizes the eggs.

Dan 1.jpg

Some say that fertile eggs are higher in nutrition. But I am not a nutritionist and it is up to you to research it. But don't worry, you won't find little chicks in the eggs. They only start developing when a hen decides to sit on them - for three weeks straight.

The girls lay the eggs in nesting boxes that are filled with rice hulls or wood shavings - whatever I have on hand.

nesting box.jpg

As you can see, I mix herbs in with their bedding which keeps unwanted insects, such as mites, away. I collect those eggs every day - and if it is hot outside, several times a day to get them out of the heat.

I feed the chickens an organic grain and seed mix I make myself. Sometimes, I have excellent help to mix the batch up.

food.jpg

This is my very best helper. We wear masks when mixing since I grind the peas - a source of protein for them - and it gets a bit dusty. The mix usually includes wheat, milo, flax seeds, sunflower seeds, oats, barley, sorghum and whatever other grain or seed is on sale. Sometimes I give them corn, but no soy.

The grain I get either through a co-op purchase from Modesto Milling or I order it from Azure Standard. If you are in the US, you might want to check them out. It is also a co-op of sorts.

If I don't have time to mix or too many items are not available, I feed them layer crumbles and scratch from Modesto Milling. I never add fishmeal for protein. A lot of people do that because it is cheaper. I don't.

The flock has free access to a mineral supplement and to kelp. Of course, oyster shells and rocks for their gizzards are also always available.

eating.jpg

Here they are, pecking at their food and Dan is standing watch!

Besides the grain, they get lots of greens - some are growing in their deep mulch enclosure, in cages protected from their destruction, but available to snack from. They also get wheelbarrows full of weeds, grape cuttings and all kinds of other vegetation.

They have their very own compost pile in the chicken yard. The girls love to scratch in it for worms and all kinds of bugs.

foraging.jpg

Once upon a time, the flock was free-ranging all over the yard. That resulted in chicken poop everywhere and in destroyed garden spaces. Now, we compromise. I made their chicken yard as interesting as possible with shade trees, things to hide under and things to climb up on. And, when I have time, they get to forage all over the yard with supervision.

The Eggs

egg sizes.jpg

Since I have a mixed flock of all ages and sizes, the eggs come in various colors and sizes as well. For the most part, I use recycled egg cartons.

Here is a closer look at the eggs.

egg only.jpg

Each dozen will have big and smaller ones in it. Let me give you a warning now. If you ever had eggs from happy chickens - you will never be able to go back to what you can buy in a store. There is a world of difference!

Before I get into the details on how to buy the eggs, here is something cute to look at.

mommy.jpg

*How to Buy the Eggs

This will only be of interest to you if you live in San Diego - From East San Diego, College Area (SDSU), La Mesa, Lemon Grove to Spring Valley. Or if you come to the San Diego Steemit Meetups.

  • Dm me on Discord or leave a comment on a recent post that you are interested in eggs.
  • My discord name is also Mariannewest
  • I will let you know how much I have available.
  • You transfer either 2 Steem or 3 SBD into my wallet.
  • I DM you my address on Discord or we communicate via email.
  • You pick up your eggs and if you want, you can have some collards for free (if I have them which I usually do)
  • Please bring as many egg cartons as you can for future use.
  • Return the one you got the next time.

Yay - another business that accepts Steem 👍

Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts

Ulog 19 - Not pronouncing U

Sell-Out

Ulog 18 - My Personal Independence Day

Ulog 17 - Chicken got Out

State of Emergency - Freewrite

Day 257 -Daily Prompt

A Rant about Ornate Language - Freewrite

The Stories of Three Random Items

The Pastor - Weekend Freewrite

Ulog 16- Dinner Out

While in the Garden

Coriander

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Wish I lived in San Diego ☹️ I just love how well they are all looked after.

wished you lived here too. But maybe a homesteader in your neighborhood will jump on the eggs for steem wagon :)

Hmm Hope so.

Next time I'm in San Diego, I'd love to purchase some of those beautiful eggs.

for you, I might deliver - but you have to pay double 🤪

Wow!

Good luck with your new business! I would definitely buy from you if I lived in range of San Diego! However, I do have a farmer here that I buy from, he even delivers to our neighborhood and he readily lets anyone check him out. He is certifiably organic and his setup is nice, but yours is pretty amazing.

As is Dan, the man

Organic eggs taste so different than the supermarket ones. I just cannot make myself buy them anymore. They look/taste like nothing. And they seem watery. Unless that is just me.

Congratulations, @marianne! Another crypto business! Yay!

Thanks for being part of #MarketFriday and I applaud you!!

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

thank you so much. And no, it is not just you. I can't eat store-bought eggs - they don't taste like eggs to me :) thank you for running this even though you are on vacation :)

I just got back, but was gone for a few weeks and yes! It is hard running it from a place where the internet is not always available. I was so late responding last week (or the week before?) I felt so bad!

That puts it into perspective how easy it usually is for us. We are so used to everything working and functioning...

Absolutely spoiled, we are! :) Myself included. Although, I frequently travel and have become used to it, but, this time,I was not prepared!

Maybe the best attitude is when we travel, we might be on an internet vacation. Put it in the plan. then, if the connections work, it is a pleasant surprise LOL

Truth. I don't sweat the small stuff. ;) There is war and starvation, child abuse and other more important things in this world. Just because Denise doesn't get internet, well, it is not earth-shattering.

XOXO

hah! The truth!! I often think about how our problems are nothing compared to what is happening in the world!!

Hugs right back to you!! I love how you truly take us around the world with the Market Friday - very much a connection by seeing the daily life in other places in the world.

That's a very good idea, I hope you can sell your eggs and get a lot of steem. Good luck!

Thank you!! It would be nice for sure - and I 'll meet some more Steemians...

wow !!!! Marianne, you have a beautiful mini farm !!!!! rooster - super man :)))) you are fine all arranged. I wish you every success !!! our friends have a little dog who was very fond of eggs - he stole them in the chicken coop near neighbors. in his henhouse, he did not touch the eggs :)))

hahaha - what a good dog!!

Mine eats a lot when the chickens are out and about and find hiding spots in the yard to lay them :)

Hi @mariannewest! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 10 SBD worth and should receive 114 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you, Truffle Pig.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mariannewest from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

They certainly look like good eggs, you really can not beat free range chicken eggs from a well fed and tended for flock - the yolks are always an incredible colour!

A little far to head over for some from the UK, but I imagine there will be plenty of people relatively local take you up on this.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

we shall see. I don't know how many Steemians live close to me who do NOT have their own chickens :) It's a thing. People have a few hens...

Honestly I would do , happy eggs (from happy hens) are the best :) I am vegetarian but when I eat an egg I must guarantee it is from a place where it's been ecologically and ethically produced

I hear you. I have vegetarian friends who will only eat my eggs :)

Yes, you can't trust supermarkets :( at least I don't... on local market I prefer to pay more and be sure. And it's quite fancy you're accepting sbd... wish I were close, wrong side of the pond :) but wish you the best.

Thank you 😄 I am with you. I don't trust the markets either. I am getting close to be able to have my produce coming from my yard... then I know for sure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80