Visit a Nursery - Market Friday

in #marketfriday6 years ago

IMG_0820.jpg

A Local Nursery

This is part of the great weekly challenge of the fabulous @dswigle I always think about and hardly ever join. But, it is still Friday and I will get this done before midnight! 🤪

IMG_0819.jpg

And another view of from the upper parking lot. This nursery has been in Lemon Grove for a very long time. I believe it is the 5th generation working there now. Maybe the forth.

This is what I saw right next to the car.

IMG_0817.jpg

And of course, there is steer manure too. Oh, the joy for your neighbors when you spread it...

IMG_0816.jpg

There is so much to see here and I love to just walk around and look...

IMG_0832.jpg

Love succulents and they do well here.

IMG_0829.jpg

HERBS!!! Love them!

IMG_0828.jpg

Ready-made raised beds.

And colors. We always need colors.

IMG_0838.jpg

Since it is soon Saturday, I better stop here. When I go there, I always take way too many pictures...

So, I leave you with a little flower until next time...

IMG_0836.jpg

Freewrite.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Freewrite.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Freewrite.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Freewrite.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.

SCSreplybanner.jpg

Of course the nursery is one of my favorite Market Friday subjects. I can't tell you how many pictures I take of any subject because I'm sure you would be shocked. Truly good morning the digital age has ruined me and made life harder by making too many choices when it comes to pictures. I admire the strength you use to stop at a good point. I still want to see more but I love what I see. I'm still at the stage of: Oh my God!! Could Denise please stop posting pictures now!

I absolutely love your nursery and I like they're raised beds but, honestly for the price that they want I do my own. It's then that you can actually get exactly what you want. I know it might be easier for some to just pick up a pre done arranged piece but, I have spent that I spent less than 30 minutes putting them together. They are that quick! I do love your nursery and of course, palm trees make everything look more beautiful.

I love going to these stores but the problem is I never going to leave I can just keep going around and around and around. The more I look the more I see. Thank you so much for bringing to us such a beautiful Market Friday post and I appreciate the time spent going out and finding one, taking pictures and putting the whole thing together. It is time spent and very much appreciated by me. I hope you're having a wonderful weekend and good luck on your meetup!

Upped and steemed

You are so sweet!! And I am ruined by the digital age as well. On one hand, I take pictures, on the other hand, I take too many. And like you - I hate to have to decide which one is good enough LOL

You have no idea how many hundreds of pictures I have taken for market Friday LOL - I will post them eventually.

Thank you for doing this initiative - I know that takes a long time. And you are the queen of comments and encouragement. so much appreciated!!

beautiful flower nursery..nice

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

a wonderful flower paradise! I also like these places. but I rarely have the opportunity to be there because they are out of town and we do not have a car. carpobrotuses are very beautiful! they are growing in Israel, too. this is a wonderful carpet of bright color :) did you buy anything for yourself?

I did. All veggies LOL

You're making me wonder how steer manure would do inside a hugelkultur bed... Isn't it high in nitrogen? This winter when I do my coop and run deep litter clean out, I'm going to put it in a hugel bed. Wonder if I should ask a local farmer for some cow poo.

Gardening is fun. Sticks plus poo equals awesome tomatoes.

usually, you don't put too much high nitrogen into the hugel since the idea is for it to break down slowly and release the nutrients - so a long term thing. I don't use steer manure since it usually had a lot of salt in it and we don't have much rain and the city water is high in salt...

Oh okay, cool. I was thinking all the carbon would want some nitrogen. If not, then that's.good to know. I probably won't have a hard time finding a use for the chicken compost lol

If you want it to produce well from the very beginning, you can add nitrogen - but the idea is kind of to be this long lasting project. It is really up to the designer what their goal is. If you add the nitrogen, it just breaks down faster...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you so much!!

That would be something for my father in law! He would buy all he flowers :)

Bring him over. It is a rather nice nursery. Very well kept...

Ready made raised beds? Sounds cool. I wonder if our local nursery has some. And if not, I wonder if I could squeeze some product into a niche market...

Either sell it to the nursery or install it in people's homes. In San Diego, a woman started a business doing garden consulting and she installed veggie gardens for people and provided even the upkeep - including harvesting if people didn't want to do that...

Wow, that sounds like a really cool business model! I'd love to do that in my neighborhood...

Sell smaller beds at retail and do larger custom install as well. The garden servicing is a really cool feature too. I may need to explore this option!

Que lugar tan bonito, me gusta igual sembrar plantas, pero donde vivo no puedo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13