#marketfriday meets #breadbakers!

in #marketfriday5 years ago

I'm bringing together two of my favourite communities today: #marketfriday hosted by @dswigle and #breadbakers, initiated by @akipponn.

Denise (@dswigle) has been having an amazing time looking at trailers and campers: the things you can get these days! I also liked this off grid luton box van conversion posted by @teamhumble - partly because we have a Luton van in the family.

Over on #breadbakers, @akipponn has been visiting family in Japan and has inherited a bread form for toast bread from her mum. She says she needs to practice a little more to reach her mum's standard.

20190303_1114511.jpg
Last week I had a delivery from Leicester Wholefoods. I'd wanted to try some new flours and to stock up on dried fruits, nuts and beans. I also bought some vital wheat gluten, essential for making seitan.

I'm not vegan but I'd like to eat a more plant-based diet. The BBC had a series, The Dirty Vegan, which included a great recipe for paella including a very flavoursome chorizo-like seitan. I was hooked. I also found this recipe for vegan seitan steaks, which you can freeze complete with its marinade - an added bonus.

But today was breadbaking day. I'd survived last week on a brioche loaf that I'd had in the freezer and a heel of a chilli and cheese loaf that I can't actually remember when I baked (it was great toasted with lots of butter and added cheese - home baked bread seems to keep very well).

My delivery included Marriage's very strong Canadian bread flour. Based in Essex, Marriage's have been milling since 1824:

Marriage’s mill a wide range of bread making and culinary flours, organic varieties and speciality flours, including stoneground wholemeal flour traditional milled on horizontal French Burr stones. We select the best possible grains for consistent flour quality, sourcing wheat from local Essex farmers where possible, including family farms near Chelmer Mills.

Their website has a fascinating time line from 1824 and tells the story of the six generations of the Marriage family who have run the mill. I'm slightly confused by my 100% Canadian wheat flour and the claim that most of the wheat milled comes from within 30 miles ...

20190315_161607.jpg
I wanted to make another chilli and cheese loaf, this time using shop bought mild chillis and a mix of cheddar and parmesan cheese. I was very pleased with the crust and crumb (to say nothing of the wonderful aroma while it was baking) of this loaf, it's sturdy, holds mountains of butter and tastes delicious.

Recipe

500g Marriage's strong white bread flour
350ml warm water
125g rough grated cheese (I used cheddar and parmesan)
5 medium mild chillis, de-seeded and chopped
15ml olive oil
10ml runny honey
7g salt
7g quick action dried yeast

Mix all the dry ingredients, add the chillis and cheese, make a well and add olive oil, honey and warm water. Bring together with a big sturdy wooden spoon. I was amazed at how quickly the flour soaked up all the water.

I've been experimenting with different proportions of water, this was the first time that I had tried 70% hydration - for this flour, any less wouldn't have ben enough. I also added a little more salt than usual. I would say with the salty cheese, this was about right. Eventually, all the flour was mixed in and I had a soft pliable dough. I didn't knead it much - just a minute or two - and put quite a knobbly lumpy dough to rise in a bowl for an hour.

After a second short knead - two or three minutes - the dough was set to rise for another hour. About half an hour before I cranked up the temperature on the oven to 230 degrees centigrade and put a cast iron lidded casserole to heat. When the dough was ready, I added a baking parchment liner to the casserole and tipped the loaf into the pan, added the lid and back into the oven for 35 minutes.

It was done perfectly in that time at that heat. It had risen by about another third in the oven, with a lovely caramelised crunchy crust, and a resounding hollow sound when I tapped the bottom. I'm very pleased with the texture of the loaf - a little more open than with some of the other flours I've used. I think it will be good for sandwiches.

20190315_175526.jpg
Next up, I made this brown tin loaf, using Shipton Mill's Organic Three Malts and Sunflower flour, which had been on special offer, just 99p!

To produce the richness of this flour, whole grains of wheat, rye and barley are steeped in water before being carefully spread on the malting floor. With time the malts naturally mature, and when ready the grains are oven-roasted to create their individual flavour and lovely golden colours. Gently blended with sunflower, sesame, linseed and pumpkin seeds, the three malts makes a delicious, well-balanced brown bread flour, the colour of speckled hens. The protein content is 12.5%. (from the website)

I've not tried this loaf yet - I'm saving it for sandwiches and toast during the week - but it smells very nice, with a definitely malty aroma. This one was in the oven a little longer at 45 minutes - 10 minutes at a slightly lower temperature and with the lid off the cast iron casserole. Recipe and hydration similar to the loaf above, using 350g of the malted flour and 150g of the strong white bread flour (and no chillis or cheese)!

20190315_170446.jpg
My last experiment today - traditional English bread and butter pudding made using leftover brioche bread. I say traditional, in my family, this was one recipe that used currants rather than sultanas, but sultanas were what I had.

This was a dish I learned to make when I was very young, standing next to my great aunt Lucy, who lived next door to our house in South London. Lucy rarely measured anything, it was all done by feel and taste and eye and long-acquired knowledge of what worked and what didn't.

The recipe and method went something like this: take day-old white bread and slice (if you're rich and don't know any better, cut off the crusts), butter thinly with butter softened in a warm kitchen. Cut into triangles and layer into a pie dish, sprinkle with sugar between the layers. Beat an egg into half a pint of milk and pour over the bread, leave to soak for at least half an hour. Before placing in a warm oven (about 180 degrees centigrade) for 30-40 minutes, sprinkle over a handful of currants. Leave the custard to settle for twenty minutes after removing from the oven and before eating.

Nowadays all sorts of abominations are done to bread and butter pudding: Nigel Slater makes it with malt loaf and marmalade and today I discovered sticky toffee bread and butter pudding.

Both are overkill: the beauty of this pudding is its lightness and delicacy and the deliciousness of the crispy bits of browned crust and the sweetness of the currants. Of course, like so many things the recipe was a way for the frugal housekeeper to ensure every scrap of food was used, but if you want to zoush it up a little, have a little single cream or some apricots stewed in a little fruit liqueur syrup (or both).

Sort:  

Chorizo like seitan how interesting I do like chorizo and like yourself I am interested in eating better, I will have to lookout for that. Anyway I was surprised the chilli and cheese loaf lasted that long @shanibeer lol.

😂😂😂

Now that I saw your bread pudding I have to try it - probably with dried cranberries because I hate raisins in all their forms ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Dried cranberries would be very nice. I have made it with croissants and panettone before, and the candied fruit in the panettone instead of currants works very well. It also a very quick fuss-free pudding if you suddenly have guests.

Seems you had a great market Friday :) Happy to see #breadbakers name with #marketfriday, which is my favorite community. And also nice to see comments from Needlework Monday ladies :D

I had a lovely marketfriday 😍 I haven't been able to bake bread for a week or two. I used up all my supplies and I was waiting for fresh flour to be delivered. I think the Marriage's flour will be good enough for baguettes. I might wait until I have some holiday so I can do a baguette boot camp (it's a good idea)! I need to buy a spray bottle, though.
What do you use to cut the slashes in the top of the loaf? I have tried several knives but the result is not very good. I saw in one video, a baker using a razor or Stanley knife?

Same. I didn't bake for a week and now hungry for baking :D I have to order next batch to a mill. I was seeing a good timing to order flour because if I miss the delivery I have to carry heavy flour from post ...

Talking about bakers' knife (even I don't know how to call it properly), I'm also still on my way looking for a perfect one. I tried few but ended up with my Japanese sharp knife, which I sharpen by myself ;) The third one from left:

Now I'm looking for one with razor like this:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Handle-Bakers-Grignette-Natural-Beech/dp/B00JC4QM7A

Don't forget to buy a splay! It make baguette away different ... I also use it for some heavy European style bread.

Ooo yummers!! Your breads look really good @shanibeer! It is part of my dream list to make a nice bread. I tried making bread once years ago and it turned into a rock after baking 😳😂

Posted using Partiko iOS

Bread can do that to you, it is very fickle and goes its own way!
I have found that every different brand and type of flour I use behaves differently. It's like a small child, you have to get to know what it likes to make it happy 😊 Sometimes, it takes two or three goes before you get good bread! I would love to see you make a loaf 😍

Aah.. lots of TLC they need :) Thank you for the encouragement @shanibeer. I hope I get to make a loaf soon.. it takes some courage to attempt again but reading all your lovely bread successes, they do inspire a lot :) Happy weekend!!

This was so fabulous, I loved it!!! You truly made this into a 5-star post! Thank you so much! I love homemade bread and this really took it to another level.

I just have an amazing time looking at trailers so I thank you for mentioning this in your post and I went and looked at that off grid van conversion and it was very impressive, I might add.

I'm not vegan either, but I do like to eat a more plant-based diet. I'm not familiar with the dirty vegan but it does sound kind of interesting. And I cannot believe all the different breads that you baked in one day. I do love my bread with lots of butter and especially toasted! That was a marriage made in heaven! I have never heard of chili and cheese loaf but I will tell you that that certainly was breaking up my tree because just the thought of those Chuy's mixed with the cheddar and parmesan cheese, well I Want to Jump Right In screen get a taste of that! And you said that holds lots of butter so it's a shoo-in for me! Thank you for the recipe and when I figure out the difference in the ingredients I really intend on trying to make it!

I have neighbor that used to make the traditional English bread and butter pudding using leftover bread and it really became one of my favorite that she made. Isn't it funny how there are some things that you don't need to measure because we just know them by heart. Some of those things I have tried transferring onto paper and it just doesn't seem to work the same. Thank you for taking the time and patience to make this blog and to give us recipes and your time tested and true evaluations. Thank you so much and thank you again for being a part of Market Friday!

#MarketFriday loves you!!

Upped and steemed

!tip

You've turned my head with those trailers! I've never even thought about having one before, now it's a question of "when". A good time to be thinking about it, though, as we are also planning towards retirement, and I know we'd like to travel. A lovely market friday :)

It has taken years, but, finally decided why wait?

Everyone in my family invests young and retire by about 40. Crazy people. How much money do we all need to be happy? (Having enough to stay solvent is another matter, one would never quit without enough for 50 years, right!?LOL)

Anyway, travel is the way I would like to see my future, although not full time, I still want to keep a house and a life. ;)

But, aren't they beauties!!!

Is this perfection of sometime again? I don't agree, let's just agree with the fact that you are a pro now and owe us all a nice dinner lol

👍🍞🥐🥖🥘

My mouth waters and you are responsible!!! I have never made a bread pudding (never heard of this recipe) it sounds delicious 😋It reminds me of an old German recipe „arme Ritter“ (poor knights)
And both breads look wonderful...😍

Hehe thank you :) bread and butter pudding is very nice, one of my favourites. Bread pudding is different, more cake like. I'm so happy with the round loaf, I think I have found a flour that works for me (I haven't tried the brown loaf yet). How is your breadmaking?

Posted using Partiko Android

Breadbaking is sleeping... I made several cakes :-D I think I am a bit sugary with all this rain and storm. The only bread like thing I made were yeast rolls with a pizza-like filling and some with cinnamon. I wanted to blog about them for weeks, but always forget it :-D

Perhaps I will encourage you 😍

It did... I started a potato bread today. A first for me, tomorrow I will know if the recipe works 🙏

👍🙏💪🙊🙉🙈

wow !!!! I still do not dare to bake the bread myself, although I have been planning for a long time, and you have baked so much !!!! I adhere to a similar view on diet. I want to try to bake unleavened bread. did you use the bread maker or the oven?

I made these in the oven. I think my breadmaker is broken, the last three loaves have been disappointing :( but the oven is better!
I'm sure your bread will be great :) Do you mean sourdough bread or flatbread?

Posted using Partiko Android

Oooooh! it is very annoying when you bake bread and it does not work because of the bread machine. I read that you can bake bread no leaven and it will be like bread and not like cakes.

🎁 Hi @shanibeer! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Oh! To Be Irish And Dream! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85