Market Friday- Antique Horrors- Old Timey Racism and Things that are DEFINITELY Haunted!

in #marketfriday6 years ago

I thoroughly enjoy rummaging through antique stores. Because, you know, I couldn't be any more of an old lady if I tried.


My favorite thing about going through weird, dusty antique malls and oddball thrift stores is coming across those things that make you pause and say with all the sincerity your spirit has ever known...

"... what the fuck?"


I have had many of those moments. Sometimes they are few and far between. Sometimes, there is a cornucopia under one roof.

Like this weird three-story shop, I found in the middle of nowhere. On the ground floor... all is well.

I found some absolutely STUNNING cross stitched chairs that I stood (and knelt) to admire:



20161022_142916.jpg
This probably took someone forever to do. Look at the confetti stitches!




20161022_142909.jpg
Each chair in the set was a completely different pattern. I wish I had the money to take these home for myself!



And theeeeeeen... we have things like this.



100% guaranteed to be haunted.

20161022_135642.jpg

So... so haunted.




Old timey racism, complete with watermelon!

20161022_140514.jpg

The cringe was real.




Imagine the phantom smell of french fries and chicken nuggets filling the room...

20161022_135546.jpg
As this thing starts army crawling up your bed sheets like a sentient clown satan.

10/10 definitely haunted.



Urmmm...

20161022_135953.jpg

Well, it's historical and reasonably priced. I'll give it that.




Nope.

20161022_142652.jpg

Just nope.

That thing will come to life and slither its way through something somewhere and produce a mouth full of felted teeth.

(Also, please notice the fine collection of "Mammy" dolls in the background!)



I thought the surprises were over until I realized that there was an incredibly small attic area! I climbed up the stairs only to discover that IT WAS FULL OF SPINNING WHEELS!



20161022_142246.jpg

Sadly, I was flat broke. Because that is the only kind of shopping I dare to do in places like these. Because I would come home with some seriously weird shit.



Sorry for such a short post, but I realized that Friday was rapidly ending and I didn't want to wait until next week!




stitchhead.png

Sort:  

Uhk! I'm glad you didn't walk home with those chair. They're hid-i-ous.
steemsig.png

I love the chairs! Those are real artworks! On the other hand, the tag of the book is ....khm.... a bit off 😀

You are absolutely an old lady if you knew what kind of stitches those were on the chair! :)

Oh, there certainly was a lot of entertainment to be had in a place like this. I love to walk through shops that have off-the-beaten-traits and have things I cannot find anywhere else, no really want to!

Florida has become a dumping ground for some really off the hook merchandise as the top tier generations pare down their households. I have no words for that book or some of those mammy dolls.

Yikes.

Thank you for taking us along! It has been an absolute blast going with you and yes! I love your writing!

Please leave the link to your post in the comment section of my #MarketFriday post, so it can easily be found by others. They will all be in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you! ❤

Upped and Steemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20