Market Friday - Amusement arcade

in #marketfriday5 years ago

Market Friday - Amusement arcade

This is a post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle, if you haven't followed her yet you should she is one of the kindest and most supportive people here on Steemit, a comment from her is like a ray of sunshine on your page
This is the one tag and daily challenge that I always make a point of joining, and also look through the posts of others that join the challenge and seeing markets from all around the world.

For this weeks post, after last week where I actually shared what could easily be considered a Market, I am perhaps stretching what is a market a little.

I have for every year except last year for about 5 years now gone to a charity event hosted by the Connecticut Epilepsy Advocate, which does so much to support people with Epilepsy and holds this annual event called Strike Out Epilepsy, and I go and get shots of the event for them.

This year the Bowling alley had changed hands and quite a few changes had taken place, including moving the arcade into the middle of the lanes, and the lighting was a lot darker than it had been before, which made getting shots of the people at the event very challenging but I managed to get about 70 shots which I shared with the organizer and he seemed happy with them.

But I digress from market Friday, and let me get back to that, these shots are of the Amusement aracade int he bowling Ally, which may be a stretch of the term Market, but I know from the times I have taken my Grandkids to an Amusement Arcade like this its not cheap anymore and one does need to dig into one's waller, so since spending money is involved I am considering this a market for kids

1 MF At the arcade.jpg

Sony A7iii 24mm F5 1/125 Sec ISO 6400
Click here to view larger



Many of these shots that I am sharing were taken at ISO6400 which I would have never thought about trying with my older camera, and infact there was more light in the arcader are, most of the shots taken of the people bowling were at either 10K or 12,8K ISO because the light was so bad, now you may think I could have used a flash, but that was not an option as flashing lights can affect people with epilepsy, so I do not take a flash to this event.

This next shot is not of the Arcade itself but a big sign for it beside the bowling lanes, I guess its good marketing, if the kids miss seeing the bright and flashing alley when they walk into the Bowling lanes, the perhaps wont miss this bright ARCADE sign while bowling and have to ask there parents if they can time in the Arcade after the bowling is over

1 MF At the arcade-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 41mm F5 1/125 Sec ISO 6400
Click here to view larger


Here you can see some of the machines in the arcade, I remember when I was young going to an Amusement arcade when I was young and when I think back to that I think of two things that have changed so much, how much more expensive these are these days, and how high tech and glitzy the machines, are, I remember int he arcade I used to go to the big thing was the huge Slot car track with about 15 lanes of cars you could race.

1 MF At the arcade-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F6.3 1/60 Sec ISO 5000
Click here to view larger


And another shot of the arcade, and I am running out of things to say about it

1 MF At the arcade-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 1000
Click here to view larger



And one last shot of the arcade to finish off this post

1 MF At the arcade-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F4.5 1/60 Sec ISO 3200
Click here to view larger



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 41.248437 lat -73.023502 long Bowlero lanes Milford CTd3scr

Sort:  

Arcades and my Kid it certainly brings back memories i spent many a weekends in them arcades with my son collecting tickets and tokens and going home with a bunch of cool toys :)

I remember doing that with my Kids I think the token idea was only just starting then, but it seems ot me these days you need so many more tickets or tokens to get toys that are so cheap these days, not as cool as they used to be

Yeah they were just starting then it was cool and worth it but not today it's a rip off...lol :)

Ohh yeah and I just heard from our Grand Daughter thats what she wants to do for her Birthday, I know if thats what she really wants I will make sure it happens but that said I will try to convince her to do somehting else lOL

Once a year is ok you got to give her the wish she wants :)

Thats true of course, but she is also at an age where she changes her mind every few days so lets see if she sticks with this idea

Yep i know what you mean they are always a challenge kids enjoy in what ever you end up doing..lol :)

Yeah it’s just fun watching them wherever they end up wanting to go

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks I appreciate the resteem

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-amusement-arcade


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

a clean photo at ISO6400,
my camera will produce at of ants at that iso.
and the shots are awesome

Same with my older camera I am impressed with what my new camera can do

I too am a big fan of @dswigle and have been following her ever since I stumbled upon her blog through contests and #powerhousecreatives

That looks like a fun place my kids might try and drag me into. I loved arcades as a kid and would love to pass that along. I used to have a simple pocket of quarters and now it seems each game is adollar each or you have to put 10$ in a token machine. Damn shame!

Hope you had fun.

Posted using Partiko iOS

She is such a kind person and her posts and comments are always so great to see

YEs I to remember the days when a pocketful or quarters woulld give you hours in an arcade, these days you need a wad of cash if you have a few kids or grandkids to take it is indeed such a shame

I didnt lay on the arcade I was there to shoot a charity event these were just side shots inbetween

Arcades!!

How fun is that? I can see how inviting it looks as soon as I walk through your door here! Just like a neon sign, beckoning me to come closer and enjoy the colors. Almost flashier, with the binging of the machines and bells, calling out the level of points received - winning towards the next play.

Can you feel that adrenaline rush? Oh, who was it that saw this coin-operated fun machine as a profit of joy? Splendid shots of this darkened corner of enchantment. I especially love the large ARCADE sign as flashes its bright smile at you.

This was an awesome thread here and I do love looking at them and photographing them. Thoroughly enjoyable post!

Thank you for the huge efforts you put out, photographing and posting into the challenge! As always, have a most amazing day!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

I remember whenI was young going to the arcade just needed a pocketful of quarter, now if you want to take a few kids to one, you need to go get a loan from the bank first LOL
But they are so cool to see and the bright lights and sound do what they want and make it so enticing for the kids, but perhaps a nightmare for the parents and grandparents lOL

Always a pleasure to do a post for your challenge and then see the post of others from around the world

Thank you so much, you really are too kind. It is one of those things that blows my mind... how much kids entertainment is nowadays. Although, to be fair, there are a lot of adults that play in the Arcades also.

Or big kids, I should say!

It would be a nightmare for me as I do not see the sense of throwing away money like that. It is a real moneysuck!

Ohh yes they suck the money and the noise of the machines may draw in the kids but it drives me nuts
The last time the kids wanted to go there I made a deal with them do you want to go and blow $20 each of my money to win a few tickets and get a piece or junk or shall I just give you 20 and we go get an ice cream instead
And shortly later we were all enjoying ice cream 😎

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Does The Needful Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

This place looks awesome. I remember going to chuckee cheese for birthday parties when I was a kid and it looked very much like this. Now they have Dave and Busters which is like a family arcade. Crazy.

OUr Grandson used to obsess about Chuckee Cheese so we took him here a couple of times, Dave and Busters I have seen but never been into

We have some synchronicity going on in our #marketfriday posts. I don't shop much and what I buy tends to be the same. I am big fan of buying with the eyes and those lights are a zinger. Neon, neon everywhere. Although I imagine the machine must use LED.

Yes a visit from @dswigle is always a delight. She really is a model steemian:)As are you:)

Yes indeed I just saw that 😎👍
Yes I to like buying with the eyes plus when I want something I want it right there and then I hate ordering online and having to wait for it to be delivered
Thanks kindly

That looks like a really fun place to hang out for an afternoon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15