Market Friday Colony Mall

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Market Friday Colony Mall

Market Friday Colony Market.jpg



Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/100 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


For this weeks post for Market Friday hosted by the lovely @dswigle, I was wondering up until Wednesday evening what the heck I would have for this week, as I have had a busy week at work and haven't had the chance to get out for any walks with my camera to get new shots, but Wednesday evening my Wife had a hair appointment as a new salon as her old one shut down, well not here's the one she used to go to, but you probably knew that.

Anyways After I dropped her off I thought the little strip mall would be a good option for a Market Friday post, and here it is

Starting with a shot looking down the shops

Market Friday Colony Market-2.jpg



Sony A7iii 57mm F8 1/60 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



Here is the first shop the Colony News and Lotto, a common sort of shop in many of these little strip malls, I have to admit the light was terrible with the sun at the wrong angle and getting lower in the sky so I didn't really get great shots, but I am going with them as I try to join the Market Friday Challenge each week

Market Friday Colony Market-3.jpg



Sony A7iii 35mm F8 1/60 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And this is Haircutters, it looked like it may have been closed for business for a while with some of the furniture stacked up,

Market Friday Colony Market-4.jpg



Sony A7iii 36mm F8 1/60 ISO 250
Click here to view larger



And this is Blades Salon which is where my wife was while I was taking these shots, of course trying a new Salon after almost 10 years with her previous stylist was a bit of a worry for my wife, and I guess would be for many people, Not so much for me Even since I joined the NZ army about 42 years ago I have had the same style short all over so I happily go anywhere LOL.

But the new Salon seemed to do a good job and my wife came out happy so that was good.

I went for a mono image for this and a couple of other shots for this post as I feel this mall has probably been here a long time and I thought they might give a more timeless feel to the images.

Market Friday Colony Market-5.jpg


Sony A7iii 31mm F8 1/60 ISO 200
Click here to view larger



And a last shot looking down the rest of the Mall, and another closed shop, I am noticing more and more closed shops these days I guess its a sign of the times a lot of small businesses struggling to keep going with the Big chain stores and growth of online shopping by many.

Now I am not supersticious but when I saw the word total for this post was 666 I had to add one more line, now it is at 604 so I can finish it off


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png


!steemitworldmap 41.226515 lat -73.071279 long Colony Strip Mall Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-colony-mall


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Ohh nice to read 👍

Good old stripmalls what would we do without them. sic.

@manorvillemike Yeah they are everywhere but its sad to see so many these days with a few f the stores vacant

Same here on Long Island.

@manorvillemike Well I will wave across the water to you next time I am at one of the beaches :)

You got voted by @votefun thanks to CryptoWithIncin. We are still in early alpha, users can use us to get free upvotes. This is mainly directed towards users of the @cryptowithincin bot. We are in a few discord servers. To get full benefits, you have to be subscribed to @cryptowithincin. To support us, you can delegate to @votefun or just give this comment a upvote.

happy market friday
the reflections in the shop windows are very beautiful
enjoy the weekend friend

@txatxy Thanksyou to enjoy the weekend

I feel her pain!

My girl just changed her station in life and is now an accountant.

While I appreciate her moving up in this world, my hair did not. But, I am happy with the new person too. That helps a lot.


Seems like the strip shops are really taking a huge hit everywhere. But so are the malls.

Yikes

Thanks for sharing your #MarketFriday with us. You really did take some regular shots and made them shine. How do you do that????

Upped and Steemed Tip!

@dswigle The weird thing for my wife is the new Salon the workers swap around so she wont have a regular stylist which seems weird to my wife

Thanks and not sure how I do it i just play around LOL

I am familiar with that kind of shop and have her check as sometimes they allow you to request a certain person if they are high enough on the food chain.

Doesn't hurt to ask. That is what I did and I get my girl each time now.

@dswigle She did ask but was told they all share I said to go a few times and then ask again :)

It took me a few times too, probably two or three. They have to attain a certain reputation (I think they call it a master cutter) in order to be able to make appointments with them. Ugh!

Seriously.

@dswigle WOW I never knew it was so fancy, I just go anywhere lOL

Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Excellent post thanks for sharing......../

Hahaha! Were in the same page about hair. I cut my hair myself, and I don't have problems with it! 😂😂

I love your photography skills!!! 👏👏 Angles are just perfect! 😉

Yes, I think so. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10