Market Friday Farmers Market

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Market Friday Farmers Market

This post will cover two daily challenges, Market Friday hosted by @dswigle
And for @juliank’s daily photo contest for info check out the FAQ page

This is for the Friday Street Photography

Market Friday famers Market  Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza_.jpg

Sony A7iii 30mm F8 1/60 ISO 160
Click here to view larger



When I did my Wednesday Walk post for this week I mentioned in passing that the stands on the plaza were a market which I would share in this post.

Every Wednesday in the Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza there is a Farmer's market so I got a few shots for this weeks Market Friday Post.
This first one is a stand for two guys from Woodbridge CT, selling fresh produce from there farm.
The other daily challenges for @juliank's daily challenges are

Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography

Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography

Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography

Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography

Friday: streetphotography and travelphotography

Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography

Market Friday famers Market  Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza_-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 37mm F8 1/60 ISO 320
Click here to view larger



THis stand had a selection of Cheeses, and is Bardwell from in West Pawlet Vermont, I have bene by this market many times and often check out the produce, but I had never really noticed that the vendors were from all over not just New York.

Market Friday famers Market  Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza_-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 68mm F8 1/60 ISO 1000
Click here to view larger



This stand had quite slection of Raw honey, BUckwheat, wildflower and Linden Honey for example.

Market Friday famers Market  Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza_-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 61mm F8 1/60 ISO 500
Click here to view larger



Now when I was growing up my Dad was an avid gardener, growing all kinds of fresh vegetables including carrots, but we only ever had the standard orange Carrots, not the variety of the colors of carrots as seen in this shot.

So I have to ask

When did colored carrots become a thing, has it always been and I just never noticed all the variety till recently the various versions of carrots.

Market Friday famers Market  Dag Hammarskjöld Plaza_-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 28mm F8 1/60 ISO 400
Click here to view larger



And finishing off with this Bakery which had a good selection of baked goods, maybe I will get some shots of their products for a future Market Friday post.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.752145 lat -73.968577 long Dag Hammarskjöld PlazaNYC d3scr

Sort:  

Hi @tattoodjay!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.842 which ranks you at #1213 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 1220).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 429 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Those fresh vegetables look absolutely delicious or maybe I'm just very hungry. I have to admit that I grew up with orange carrots and the other colors, I can never remember seeing those growing up. But maybe they just have always been and I never noticed? I do not remember eating Gucci Foods when I grew up. Most everything came from our garden or from the grocery store but having a big family we tried to supplement the grocery store. It was either fish or vegetables on our dinner table.

I just left the farmers markets that are popping up everywhere. Well they are nothing new they seem to be more abundant than they were even 10 years ago everybody is into the market and I for one am glad. Everything seems so much fresher so much pure and The Taste is amazing. Of course I'm sure that there are those that aren't that amazing but I am talking in general. Thank you for bringing me this Market and I appreciate the fact that you go through the trouble and time of putting it all together and building me a nice post.

I hope you are having a wonderful weekend and find yourself wondering about snapping shots.

Upped and steemed

Sounds similar to our family with a lot of fresh from the garden food, but we had a lot of red meat as well

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Very good marketfriday dear.

Carrots origiannly came in a variety of colors, but not orange. In the 17th century, Dutch farmers bred carrots to be orange in honor of William of Orange, who led the Dutch independence movement. Great photos BTW, especially the carrots!

Thanks thats somehting i never knew :)

Thats true @kunschj! From what I heard, Purple was the original color. Checking out Herloom carrots online will give a good idea of what they used to look like. I also like the carrot photo too, they are setup perfectly for that!

Love this, we used to have a farmers market every Wednessday across from my office. I loved stopping in just to see what was available. I would bring home bags of goodies each week. Love the handcrafted items and raw honey :)

I love checking out the market as well, but i seldom buy from this one as carrying things back on the train would be such a pain

I love visiting this market to see what they have I dont buy much from there as it would be a pain carrying it back to and onthe train home

Wow! Your carrot photo is new for me too! I know about purple carrots but the yellow one is new to me! Cool! #thealliance

It was new for me as well

wonderful fair !!! I have not seen carrots of different colors before ☺ Were the prices high?

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-14T11:07:12
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 756.70/800.00
Total Photos: 43
Total comments: 352
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 3.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88