Market Friday - methods of moving

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Market Friday - methods of moving

A post for Market Friday hosted by @dswigle, When I went for a walk around Milford recently getting shots for my Wednesday walk post, I got some shots of some of the shops downtown and when working on them I came up with this idea for my Market Friday Post

Market Friday Milford Shops Tonys bikes.jpg

Sony A7iii 51mm F5.6 1/200 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



I start with this shot of Tony;s Bike store on Broad Street just across from the Green, they have such a good selection of bikes and a very knowledgeable staff who can answer any question you may have.

They also have Kayaks for hire over the summer months, something I have always meant to do but haven't got around to yet.

Market Friday Milford Shops Citgo and a runner.jpg

Sony A7iii 48mm F7.1 1/200 ISO 100
Click here to view larger



So we did Kayaking and cycling with the first photo this shot of the Citgo Garage covers running and driving as you wouldn't get to far if there were Petrol stations around like this to top up the car when needed.

Unless of course you have an Electric Car, but maybe you would still stop here if you needed something from the little shopping mart inside the station.

1 Old Garage.jpg

Sony A6500 36mm F8 1/200 ISO 100
Click here to view larger


I felt for a Market Friday post two shots was a bit weak so adding this old shot of an old Gas station and garage hear in Milford.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 41.222014 lat -73.057572 long Downtown Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

I'm always fascinated by old gas stations and garages when my hubby and I are driving through little towns! It's a little bit of Americana. That one looks like it's in pretty good shape! We do have one in our small downtown area here in Allen, Texas. I should go take a photo, but there are always 6 cars parked all around it and they haven't sold gas there in more than 20 years! I'm pretty sure the pumps are gone, just like in your photo up above!

@violetmed THis one I think is not used for gas anymore sounds similar to yours, I miss these old style ones like we had back in NZ also when i was growing up

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on .

Why join discord room?
Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-methods-of-moving


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You have to rent a Kayak Jay. I did this summer for first time at 70 years old. If @old-guy-photos and I can do it you can paddle circles around us. lol

Ohh I will do it one day, kind of putting it off till I get a waterproof housing for my camera LOL

Go on a calm lake or pond at first. :-)

I kayak and I love it! I bought it when I bought the Shore House and Chincoteague Island was so close. I needed to paddle to see the horses a little closer. Now, I just love the feeling of skimming along in the water. So much kinder than a canoe, I can tell you that much!

@manorvillemike... You go guy! I hope I am kayaking til I can't walk!

@dswigle I used to kayak a lot back in NZ, when I retire I think I may well buy one, well depending on where we move to

Nice pics. I love any local non-national chain retail. Tony's looks authentic. Stores like this add the local character that all towns say they want but don't always support. Happy Friday @tattoodjay

YEs I like hometown shops as well and that Bike shop is a great one for sure

Oh shuddup jj.. your posts are never weak!!!! Lol love ya!!!!

well maybe i meant not as many photos as my normal Friday Market post

I kind of miss those old gas station, where in Canada they were actually service station where you could get your car serviced by a real mechanic! Not a technician who hooks your car's computer to tell another computer what your car needs!

@cecicastor yes same back in NZ, i do miss those as well

I remember one in particular. The owner ( a younger fellow) used to wear bright red sneakers and that was the first thing you would notice as he ran out to give clients service!

hello happy market friend
Have a nice Friday

I like the idea of Market Friday.
Have a wonderful Friday @tattoodjay

@joalvarez Its a great idea you should join in some time ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74