Market Friday. "Antiques and Collectables." Part #1.

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

Antiques and Collectables. Part #1.

(This is my submission for todays Market Friday, hosted by my friend @dswigle.)

This week I am going to take you to the best Antique and Collectable shop I've ever been in. I came upon it by accident and once inside, I was held spellbound by the traperies, trash and treasures of yesteryear. Why would someone of my vintage become immediately fascinated at this opportunity to browse through a shop full of old and redundant stuff? That, my dear steemians is unfortunately very easy to explain.

You see, no matter how chic the style or how fashionable an item once was; and regardless of its usefulness and practicality at the time; if it is no longer available but is something you grew up with, you will undoubtedly experience a deep sense of nostalgia when you are introduced to it once again.

These long forgotten, everyday items were necessities back in the day. But sadly, I have to admit, that these items are now considered...…..not just out of date, but obsolete. What an unfortunate turn of phrase! If it is still functional how can it be called, "Out of date, or worse still; Obsolete?" Don't mind me…...I'm probably feeling a little sensitive after viewing all the antiquated products in this emporium and realizing that many of them are very recognisable.

A and C shop.jpg

You'll want to know where this awesome Antique shop is, should you ever be in the neighbourhood. Head to Coolangatta in Queensland, Australia and go directly to 33 McLean Street in town and there you will find the Treasure/Trash/Trove of which I speak. As I neared the entrance to this shop I saw a customer sitting nonchalantly on a non swivel, yellow plastic chair. Was it comfortable? That is debatable. Was it bright? Oh yes! I do not mourn the demise of these hard, brittle, ugly seats.

Antiques entrance.jpg

Oh My! Where does one begin, in this musty maze of mysterious mattter? Which archaic alley shall I begin my trip down memory lane? There is stuff everywhere! Every nook and cranny is crammed full to overflowing and I couldn't wait to see what gems I would discover.

A and C's.jpg

Old fashioned signs and posters decorated every wall. Bike and car lovers from decades past would need to spend hours here, reminiscing or dreaming about how to decorate their man cave or games room.

H Davidson signs -collage.jpg

Shell etc.jpg

Everywhere I looked I saw clocks with hands no longer ticking, decorated with famous people whose hearts no longer ticked but remained alive and well due to their faithful fans. If you have a spare $29 you could purchase this clock with the famous face of John Wayne looking back at you. The 'Duke' as he was affectionately known, kept movie lovers entertained in the top box office arenas for three decades. He starred in over 142 motion pictures, 83 of which, were Westerns.

John Wayne clock.jpg

I see Elvis Presley still has a price on his head. Dead or alive...….he is a wanted man.

E Presely.jpg

There will never be another Elvis and that is why it is vital to keep his memory alive in any way we can. Elvis Presley topped the music charts between 1952 - 1962 but did you know that out of his staggering 108 Top 40 hits (which is a record for any single performer) half of his Top 10 hits went to No 1 in the charts.

Elvis clock.jpg

The song, "Its now or never," was reported to have sold 29 million copies and was the most sold single until "Candle in the Wind" took this honour. Take a moment to be reminded as to why Elvis still deserves the title of, "The King of Rock n Roll."

Clocks, Clocks everywhere. Do I really need to be reminded at how fast time goes? Perhaps I should buy one of these old clocks and set it to a time and a date that I'd like to remain suspended in....... and dream...…….

Clock.jpg

My dreaming has taken me back to 1936 (way before my time) to a place called, Clayton County in Atlanta, Georgia during the American Civil War when the book, "Gone With The Wind" was published. This novel revolves around Scarlett O'Hara, the spoilt daughter of wealthy plantation owners. Scarlett is a lady who knows how to use her womanly charms to make the progress she wants to in life, but becomes petulant when things don't go her way.

It takes the 'devil may care' attitude of Rhett Butler to tame and conquer Scarlett's heart whilst admitting that he is no gentleman and she is no lady. This timeless and classic story has been described as, 'Tragic,' 'Captivating,' Romantic,' Turbulent and 'Haunting,' as it incorporates many of the misconceptions of the civil war and its after effects. It is a, 'must read' for lovers of historical dramas.

The three images below are not the best quality photos but my excuse is this. Nothing, I repeat nothing was dusted or polished in this vast and interesting antique shop. The owners must work on the premise that a few layers of dust add to the authentic age and mystique of their goods and this lack of 'house keeping' is all part of their sales technique. Also, Rhett's cigar smoke was willowing all over the place which added to the smoky atmosphere. I am convinced that I needed to include these pics because they add value to my blog. So, if you still want to complain about me using images that lack clarity and professionalism then, all I can say is...…...

Clarke Gagle-collage (1).jpg

FRANKY MY DEARS. I DONT GIVE A DAMN!"

It's not too late to absorb the ambience and drama of, "Gone With The Wind." Have a listen to this masterpiece by Allie Wrubel and meld into this melodic period as you finish reading this blog about Antiques and Collectables.

Pinocchio and his friend are not impressed with me. They must have heard me say, "Frankly my dears, I don't give a damn." And Pinocchio's long, wooden appendage in the middle of his face has reminded me about what happens to people who tell lies. Ok......so I do give a damn about the quality of my images! So I hope you will have mercy on me for the dust laden ones that look a little lack lustre. I will endeavour to finish this post with better quality images. Am I forgiven?

Pinoccio and friend.jpg

Yes, Pinocchio. I'd pay $65 to remind me not to lie........Woops I just told anther lie.

Pinocchio.jpg

I told you about the dust and the grime on some of the old, old products for sale didn't I? Here is the proof. "There was one green bottle standing on the shelf..........(hanging on the wall.)" Remember that song......or was that before your time?

OLD BOTTLES.jpg

More old bottles.jpg

Sorry, There is no cognac left in these empty bottles.

cognac etc.jpg

There was a wonderful array of beautiful china placed on shelves and cabinets around the shop. I loved the blue and white finish on this old wash basin and bowl.

Blue bowl n basin.jpg

Speaking of antiques. How many of you 'oldies' have heard the saying, "Like a Bull in a China Shop?" You wouldn't want reckless kids running amok round here would you? Most of these goods would come under the 'priceless' category I reckon and many simply could not be replaced. So, I guess we can be thankful that 'Daisy' is not the proverbial 'Bull in a China Shop' and she is also strung up from the rafters high enough to not pose a problem to the delicate china-ware below. She certainly is a 'looker' isn't she? Udderly gorgeous in my opinion. Ok.......that's a very old joke, but what did you expect? You can't make a silk purse out of a sows ear. (lol) MOOOOving on.

Miss daisy.jpg

"One man's treasure.........

Crockery antique.jpg

.......is another man's trash.' If there was a spare bull available I'd place these two very ugly dogs right in its path and look the other way. I'm sure a blind two year old could do a better job of making cute, china, canines than these two chunks of junk.

China dogs.jpg

I couldn't possibly leave you with that very ordinary picture above so I will finish Part #1 of my Antiques and Collectables Market Friday post with a lovely display of old fashioned china.

crockery.jpg

I will return with Part #2 next week. So, until then, have a great week. Bye for now.

off and running .jpg

Source:

qurator gif.gif

Sort:  

Hi trudeehunter,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Oooh…...Thank you so much @curie and all associated with gifting me with this wonderful bonus. I'm very excited and greatly encouraged to keep steeming on. Have a wonderful day.

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Oh, yes! I love sifting through the good 'ole days, even the ones that aren't my own!

I loved your take on things, the way you present your entire post always brings a smile to my lips. A little whimsey, mixed with a dash of nostalgia and bam! You got a place that almost anyone loves meandering through.

There is something about the relics of the past that charms the socks right off of me. Honestly, most of the things I can remember from my grandparents or even my parents fawning over the memory. Still, some are my own, and that is when there is a softening of my heart for the days gone by.

I loved that you brought this to #MarketFriday and thank you for always putting one out for all of us to enjoy!

Apologies for the very low upvote and little to no tip! Being away for weeks = no money, honey. Harsh fact of life.

Upped and Steemed

Many thanks for the vote, tip and resteem Denise. It is always a pleasure to not only visit the varied and interesting markets in Australia but to enjoy reading other peoples market blogs from around the world.

I think if we have the time to browse some of these antique shops we will discover certain things that trigger a memory which inevitably causes a pang of sadness. Because although the things that have been replaced are generally time saving inventions, we associate them with loved ones who are no longer with us and we know we cannot replace them.

How hard did our mothers and grandmothers work in the days of wringer washing machines or worse still...….wooden wash boards? Making cakes with hand beaters and sewing their own clothes? I could go on and on, but I think the important thing to remember is to be grateful for new technology which makes our busy lives so much easier but to utilize that time saved in investing in the people that matter in our lives.

Thanks very much for your welcome support and no apologies are necessary Re: Tips or low votes etc. We are all in the same boat and its great to know people do take the time to interact and appreciate the effort that goes into putting certain blogs together. Have a lovely evening.

Congratulations on being @curie 'd!!

Thanks so much Denise......I'm still buzzing with excitement. (:

I´ve once been to one of these Antique and Collectable shop in the town of Dorrigo near Coffs Harbour.

And I also miss the weekend markets in australia.

That's interesting @betterthanhome It must have left an impression. And yes.....we have some wonderful markets in Australia. It is a regular way of life in the weekends and on weekdays too in some places.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-antiques-and-collectables-part-1


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I love antique stores. They have so many interesting things. Every time I see an antique sign section I tell myself someday I'll buy one to put in my house but I never do. lol. I have however bought old soda containers before. I got one that was really rare and flipped it by reselling it on ebay. My husband bought one recently of Mountain Dew which was invented and first sold in the area where we're from. Really neat store. I love seeing which antiques others see in different parts of the world.

I share your love of antique stores @marxrab even though I seldom buy anything. You just never know when you'll discover something really special. Many thanks for you kind visit and support my friend.

Finally, a place where you can not leave without buying anything. I would have liked to be there. Thank you for showing us.

Haha......I know what you mean @bluemoon We just don't have the décor to accommodate anything from that era anymore and that is probably one of the main reasons people ditch the old and bring in the new. I can imagine that much of what was in this shop would be handy for movie or stage sets when required. It was a fascinating visit, for sure. Thanks so much for sharing your appreciation.

You can always find a place in the house for an old object. It was my pleasure to read your post!

What a cool Market, Ivery much doubt I could go there and leave empty handed

Thank you JJ. There is quite a bit left to show you as I couldn't fit it in the one post. Needless to say, I enjoyed my visit to this market.

@trudeehunter Looking forward to future posts it is such a cool place

Thanks very much JJ.

Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Wow they got a big range of items.

They sure do @j85063 And there is much more to show you next week. It is an entertaining place to browse. Thanks so much for your kind support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27