Market Friday ~ It's all about the shoes

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)

Hello there. Friday is here, and today I decided to join #MarketFriday challenge hosted by @dswigle for the first time. It always looked like a lot of fun for those who participate. So I am in!

If you have some very strong attraction, you can't stop talk about it. Know that feeling? Yes, and although I am not a shopaholic at all (too lazy for that), but I do have a passion.


u031hdktsp.jpg

Italy has a lot of attractions - art, architecture, wine and cuisine, seascapes and mountains. But one thing is a definitive favorite - Italian shoes.

From the ancient times, and especially in Ancient Rome, costume was an indication well-being and status in society of its owner.

Remember the saying "Beauty is a pain". I think it came from the Ancient Rome. The Romans believed that the practical and aesthetic functions of things exist separately. Moreover, they say that it was the Romans's idea to make right and left boots, which greatly increased the comfort of wearing shoes.

They have 2 main types of shoes: Calceus and Solea (lat). Calceus was enclosed footwear. They are tied up with a lace or ribbon.

Solea was a sandals, and like a modern sandals, it consisted of an outsole and straps. By the way, it was bad manners to showing up in polite society wearing sandals.

Every class had a different footwear - patricians (Calcei patricii) and plebeians, senators (Calceus senatorius) and philosophers, for soldiers (campagi militares) and for actors (!!!), shoes for home and for going out, up to 25 different kinds. Wealthy people wore shoes decorated with pearls, precious stones, accessories made of metal, silver and even gold, textile and leather laces. It may take a while to put on a pair of shoes.

For example, Claudia Octavia, the daughter of the Emperor Claudius and a wife of the Emperor Nero wore shoes with gold soles, and the Nero wore silver shoes.

Shoes of purple color was for special, ceremonial events.

Things change over the time, but not in Italy, lol. It is still a leader in the production of quality footwear of high and middle class.


xblh5bif1b.jpg

As s real woman, I think that shoes are never too much :) A window of a shoe store has hypnotic effect on me. And my main dilemma is "Comfortable or Beautiful". Far not any pair of shoes fit my feet, and every time I have troubles with a new pair until my feet and shoes get used to each other.

And here is when Italian footwear "make those tired feet feel like new" (Mark Knopfler). I am not a big fan of those famous expensive brands, it is not for my wallet. But...

On my every trip to Italy I visit small shoe store, not a shopping mall. Small shops are often a family business started by one's grandpa, and their shoes are handmade, even if less famous. I buy something there almost always. I remember a history of every my pair, because every time it was not an ordinary visit to a shop with faceless stuff. Usually, a salesman is a cute old man (once he has a companion - a young beagle), most likely an owner of a business. He can answer any tricky question, surprise you with an advice or hint.

One day, I walked around with a hope to find a small store I visited 3 years ago and tried on a perfect pair of boots there, but didn't buy because of the price. And I found it! There was the same old gentlemen at the desk that served as a cashdesk. He was already too old to go up and down the stepladder, and his daughter (she was the very image of him) was serving customers. Of course, she found another perfect pair of boots for me and another one for my husband.


4usk41915q.jpg

Phew, hope I didn't make you boring or tired ))) A few words about pictures. The first one was captured in Florence. Two mre were captured on last weekend, when I visited a trade fair of Ukrainian brands.

Happy Friday,

and thank you for your time and your kind support!

@zirochka

Sort:  

Nooo! You didn't bore me at all! This was a fabulous post, full of fun and facts! How can you go wrong with that? I also learned a few new things about shoes and their history!! That makes this even better! Thank you for the culture exchange!

Admittedly, my reason is selfish! I am not a shopaholic, but, I do love a nice pair of Italian shoes! Or many, if I have to be honest! It has to be the pride in which they are made, not the knock-off junk they export, but, the true-to-you shoes that were made in heaven, or so it seems.

I have had some exquisite ones that made my feet hurt, but, they were so beautiful, I grinned and bear it. Eventually, they felt better. Ahhh, yes!

Thank you so much for joining in the #MarketFriday challenge with your awesome post and I appreciate the time and effort spent doing it.

Please leave the link to your post on here in the comment section, so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤

Thank you again!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Wow, @tattoodjay wasn't exaggerating when wrote that your comment is like a sunbeam in one's blog!
Thank you so much, @dswigle, for your kind words and your support! :) And sorry for not leaving my link in comments to your Friday post, just missed it.
Cheers, and Happy Saturday!

Thank you so much! I will have to get after @tattoodjay for spreading gossip like that!! ;)

No problem with the link (or not linking) Most people don't do it the first few times they visit #MarketFriday, but, then find out that they actually find some different cultures in the comment section. I appreciate your participation and your post!

Cheers and Happy (almost) St. Patrick's Day!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

🎁 Hi @zirochka! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Not boring at all, some interesting facts, and it is one thing I do remember from my visits to Italy, there was so many shoe shops and they were all so classy

Thank you so much! It's good to know you have also readers, not only viewers :)

I know there is some that just look at the images, but I when I have time like to take the time to read peoples posts since they put an effort into writing them :)

🎁 Hi @zirochka! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Oh! To Be Irish And Dream! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

🎁 Hi @zirochka! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Oh! To Be Irish And Dream! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Howdy zirochka! well, now we all know what to get you for a gift! lol. Fine Italian footwear. That was very interesting and informational to read, I really liked it. Now I know not to go to the malls in Italy for shoes! I love small businesses because Mrs. J and I owned them for years and I love family owned businesses because they are always family owned!

Can only agree. Laterly, I prefer to shop in small shops. They have a spirit that malls doesn't have

Posted using Partiko Android

How interesting is the story of the shoes and how ancient Romans were using them.
The little stores have such an atmosphere, haven't they?

They do have. And the feeling that every your visit is special. Sometimes you may found out the owner remembers your granny or mom 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17