Injured on the 2nd day of ninja school :(

in #martialarts5 years ago

I mentioned yesterday that I was very excited to be doing something "strange" by going to this hand-to-hand combat school under the guidance of a true master with an excellent resume and history in the art. Today I arrived very early for my class out of enthusiasm for the second day of training.

Today we used weapons


source

This particular weapon is called as escrima stick, but ours were actually made of PVC rather than wood. The idea behind becoming proficient with this weapon is that you can probably always find something like this nearby if need be. The techniques included parry blows and also striking your opponent in the most efficient places. Obviously for the most part this is the head, but since that is the place most people would be most likely to defend, we were shown other locations on the body.

I approached the class with gusto and after I felt I had mastered a few of the moves I asked the instructor to speed it up a bit, and then some more until disaster struck. I got confused in one of the rotations and my arm was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

I do not blame the instructor for this, because he only did it because I asked him to. However, I was struck right on that bone that you can feel on the inner part of your wrist and it immediately hurt like hell. I am not a doctor so I have no idea what it is called.

Kali20Eskrima.jpg
source

I attempted to recover, but since to perform these moves you need complete wrist movement and using my right hand at all was agony, i was done for the day.

I hope it isn't broken.... I think it would be considerably more painful if it was. I have broken a bone in the past and it was a significantly more painful situation than "oopsie! ow-wee!" So i have it wrapped up and ice on it now.

It just goes to show that maybe, just maybe, I should take this class a little more slowly and not try to be the best in the class on my first week. I feel like a dumbass for letting this happen, but I was already doing the tasks better than students that had been there a long time - I guess, once again, I let my arrogance get the best of me. Live and learn I suppose.

Sort:  

Ouch! I know what your talking about. I wrestled for many many years.. Broken bones, snapped tendons, the occasional black out.. lol.. Slow paced is better on the first few weeks of picking up the basics of martial arts. I can imagine that your confidence is strong and you are the type of person that wants to learn hard and fast. While others may have more anxiety and see the risk involved as restricting. So I commend you for pushing it! Speaks to your character (having read many of your early posts about competitive swimming and such). You'll heal up fast and be right back at it I am sure. Wrist guards allowed?? lol. Congrats on trying something new. I think any sport or art that requires discipline, can improve mind and health in so many deep ways. The lessons learned will be utilized in many aspects of life.. not just defense. I never regret signing up for wrestling and sticking with it for 20 years or so. I am a better person for it.

Hey! If anything, You'll google the name of that bone and already your ahead of the game! Probably the end tip of your Radius bone. It sort of sticks out there and hurts like a B*tc# when hit. Good Luck with the next lesson!

yep, that's the bone. coulda been worse, he could've got me on the elbow "funny bone"

The good news is that it deffo is not broken. The pain is much less just one day later. I just have some bruising and soreness, if that is even a word. :)

Well that silly correction bot either gave up or in fact it is a word. This is good news. They say "no pain, no gain".. I like "gain, no pain" better ;-)

We have all been there. Not that you be should absolved from your arrogance, but I feel that instructors should do a better job communicating the importance of the basics. Otherwise, you will get students who become bored and will either quit or ramp it up to dangerous levels. I do boxing and other athletic activities and I see the same behavior. Boxing martial arts, volleyball, basketball, soccer etc you name it.

Sorry trying not to laugh. We have all been there at some point where we are walking before we can crawl. It just shows you that it doesn't matter what the weapon is if held by someone with knowledge it can be rather potent. I doubt it is broken but a nasty bruise and a good wake up call for you and the instructor.

yeah. i learned a lot more than just blocking and striking today... haha

At least it led to a fun read ;>)

It’s nice to hear how you push yourself, taking up an activity like this. For me, being active merely means hiking ( something I like to do ) There’s little other things to do in this area.

I guess you learnt your lesson indeed. How’s the one handed typing coming along?

And yes, slow is often the best way to go, not forcing things

Hope your wrist gets better soon! :>)

Posted using Partiko iOS

thanks pal. Typing is fine because my wrist stays in the same position, rested on the keyboard. Every now and then i will tweak it by doing something normal like picking something up (such as my dog) and that really hurts. I never realize how crucial a wrist is until i couldn't use one of mine. I really hope this is gone tomorrow and it is just a sprain of some sort.

I have always admire those who fights like ninja or martial art. God knows how many practice they may have done to learn this skills

yeah, seeing how fluid the instructors are, i want to achieve that level of greatness, but they have been doing this for 5 + years each.

You ought to see a physician!! Just to be on the safe side!! I used to suffer from injury to do with bones, so please see a doctor!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86