The Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective: Garlic - Ginger and Coriander - The Golden Trinity

in #medicinal-cooking6 years ago (edited)


I was just preparing a post that I wasn't really planning on posting just yet, when I came across this initiative by @eco-alex of the @ecotrain.
You can find his post here:
https://steemit.com/medicinal-cooking/@eco-alex/the-medicinal-gourmet-cooking-collective-join-us-for-a-different-kind-of-food-challenge
The recipe I was trying to explain in my post was very fitting for the subject, so I decided to post it after all.

One thing: there was supposed to be something bitter. This recipe doesn't have this. I don't particularly like anything bitter. Neither does anyone here in our home. So there is no bitterness here :)

Whenever there is someone in the house who feels a bit under the weather, or just a bit low on energy, I make this recipe.

My kids even ask for it when they feel a bit so-so. Of course, I also make it when everyone is fine, but just the fact that the kids ask for it shows that it does something for them. It's super healthy and easy to make with only a few ingredients.

Roasted Garlic Soup with Ginger and Coriander

This is what I call out Golden Trinity. I LOVE Garlic and so do my kids. Ginger is not always to everyone's taste, but I am lucky to have four children who all like it. And Coriander? What can I say? I am addicted to this herb. I can eat it straight without any other ingredients. I grow my own if I can, but usually run out quickly and forget to sow new in time.

Sometimes I let a few of the plants grow out completely, flower and then wait for their amazing seeds to show themselves.
Have you ever tasted a fresh green coriander seed before it dries? No? You should try it.

The good thing about this recipe is that I usually have all ingredients in the house, but if I don't I leave one out or substitute for equally great results.

Garlic & Wild Garlic or Ramson

Garlic has a lot of health properties. I use it here almost every day, preferably raw. I use it in salads, soups and several dishes. Sometimes I even put a little in a smoothie to give it a bit of a kick. I give it to the animals here, our dogs, cats and pony to keep parasites at bay. A nice side effect of garlic is that if you eat enough of it, mosquitoes won't like you!
The same goes for horse flies. The pony has little or no problems with those critters. They just don't like garlic tasting blood! And of course, it keeps vampires away too 😉.

Here a chart with some of the health benefits garlic has:

I usually grow my own garlic, but this year due to lack of time, I didn't get them in the ground on time, so I have to work with the garlic from the shop. I buy my garlic from the Polish shop in town. The bulbs are HUGE and the garlic is so strong, the whole car smells nice and garlicky all the way home!

Have a look at these guys:

IMG_20180706_021955.jpg

This garlic tastes so much better than the garlic bought at big stores. I LOVE it!
One bulb usually has around 15 to 20 cloves.

Wild garlic (ramson)

If you're lucky like we are and have wild garlic growing in your area, then please get it while you can.
Here we're a bit late for them this year. The best time to find them is anywhere between March and May, depending on when the spring started. They usually grow everywhere in Ireland in shady and slightly moist areas, like near rivers and lakes with a lot of trees. I use their leaves and their flowers.
Wild garlic has benefits similar to regular garlic, but seems to be even healthier!


source: www.dorsetecho.co.uk

Ginger

I love the smell and taste of ginger. I make tea with it, with or without lemon and I use it in a lot of our food.
In times when any of us come down with a cold, flu or chest issues, I make a concoction of ginger, lemon and honey.
Usually any symptoms will disappear in a few days.

Ginger has many health benefits, some of them can be seen here:

Coriander or Cilantro

My best friend in the kitchen. I just love the smell and taste of fresh coriander. I try to grow it all year around and have several pots in and outside the house with these plants. And I still run out sometimes!
The trick is to only harvest a few leaves from every pot and let the rest grow on. This way you'll have them longer and they keep growing until they flower. The seeds are also great to use in food, I particularly like them when they're still fresh and green.

Here are some of it's health benefits:

One thing that isn't mentioned here, but good to know, is that coriander is an excellent herb to remove heavy metals from your body. Important to note here is though that it can move through the blood/brain barrier, so essentially moving heavy metals where you really don't want it to go! If you have amalgam fillings or think you have a lot of heavy metals (especially mercury) in your body, you might want to re-think the use of coriander.
I have used the herb for heavy metal removal for some time and take a binder before bed-time, like bentonite clay or diatomaceous earth, which then binds the heavy metals and removes them from the body.
However, one method is not always good for everyone. So inform yourself! And use with care.

The recipe

I usually make about 3 to 4 litres of this soup because we all love it and don't mind eating it for lunch and dinner as well as the next day. Personally I love it the most when it's freshly made though because I use some raw ingredients that are just best when they are not warmed up the next day.

The amounts for everything is my personal choice, but of course this can be adapted to your taste.

  • 3 to 3 1/2 litres of vegetable stock, preferably freshly made or from organic vegetable bouillon

  • approximately 1/2 liter of almond or cashew milk, preferably freshly made

  • 30 to 40 cloves of garlic (yes, I use these huge cloves...!) and a handful of wild garlic if you have it

  • a piece of ginger, about 2 x 2 cm.

  • the zest of half a lemon

  • juice of half a lemon (more or less to taste)

  • Himalayan pink salt

  • Pepper

  • handful of coriander leaves and/or seeds (ground)

  • arrowroot, approximately 2 teaspoons, but be careful not to thicken too much!

Preparation

Peel the garlic cloves and set 5 cloves aside, roast the rest in the oven at a temperature of 170 degrees Celcius until they're golden brown and smell awesome.
I like to sprinkle them with a little coconut oil, but this is not necessary.

Chop the remaining, raw garlic very finely.

Grate the ginger very finely. If it is finely grated, I never remove it from the soup, but if it's not so fine, you can strain it out later.

Heat the vegetable stock till it boils. Add arrow root to thicken. Be very careful to add a little at a time and reheat, bcause if you add too much, you can end up with a jelly like substance. No one likes that!
Add the almond or cashew milk. Heat it for another few minutes, but don't bring it to a boil!
Remove it from the heat source.

Add the roasted garlic and ginger first and blend with a blender until smooth. Personally I don't mind tiny pieces of garlic, but if you do, you can strain the stock.

Then add the raw, chopped garlic/wild garlic and lemon zest and juice and blend again until smooth.

Just before serving, add the coriander and salt and pepper to taste.


source photo: copymethat.com

That's it!

Total preparation time, including cooking: 30 minutes or less.

This soup is easy to make, tasty and healthy. It's great all year around and can be served with bread, toast or eaten plain.
It's great for fighting and preventing illness and it's great for the heart!

If you've tried to make this, I would love to know what you think of it!


Sort:  

This sounds great and so many awesome benefits for our health!

It is quite challenging for me to warm up to the taste of fresh coriander, but I still want to reap the healthy power behind it - Do you know if dried coriander has the same effects? I find the taste much more appealing 😁

Each person's taste is different and especially with herbs like coriander this is the case. I LOVE the taste, but can understand if others don't have the same love for it. I mean, when I heard someone say they don't like chocolate, I almost fell off my chair! But coriander is something else. I'd say that dried it would still have some of the benefits. Something to look into. To me, the dried herb is just 'meh', as are the ground dried seeds. When I tasted a fresh coriander seed for the first time it was like one huge taste explosion in my mouth! The seed was just coming from the plant, still green and the shell soft. There was liquid inside! Something I didn't expect. Very fresh, almost a bit like lemon tasting. Hard to describe. But that's almost impossible to have, because leave them out one day and they dry. But maybe if you'd start with the dry herb and get used to that and slowly mix raw leave into the mix in dishes, you might learn to appreciate it! Anyway, thanks for the feedback, you've given me something to think about.

Thanks for sharing your knowledge about that! Yeah, I might get used to it once I've started eating a bit on a regular basis, that also worked with some other foods that I didn't like at the beginning.

Otherwise, I was thinking about little morning shots of coriander leaves, just to get it in 😄 But if some people love it so much, I might also grow to like it in a normal amount 😉

So much great information in one meaty post, @misslasvegas. I'm so glad I came across this post. I am a very ginger and garlic person, partially because I am an Asian and also because of their so many benefits. I love how you shared on the different combos of using them. As for coriander, Hahaha it is one of the things I don't know how to enjoy because of the smell. Some Asians love it, some hate it. It is called fragrant herb here among the Malaysian Chinese but some hate the smell that they call it the stinky herb. Oops! But I am learning to eat it because of its benefits. Thank you for the recipe for roasted garlic soup with ginger and coriander. I'm resteeming this as a keeper :)

Are you in Malaysia? I've lived in Asia for 3 years. Mainly in Japan, Indonesia, Singapore and Thailand, but I traveled to Malaysia too. Funny enough I always had to bring extra garlic to eat in Indonesia, because there wasn't enough in the food! If at all. I LOVE Coriander, but I even prefer it raw and on its own above it being in a dish. I know, I'm weird. LOL. But in this dish, it somehow fits. Thai food has a lot of coriander and garlic too. Thank you kindly for the lovely feedback and resteem!

Oh yum! This looks very tasty! I like the cashew milk idea,’gives it a lovely creamy look! Great recipe mlv! Thanks for sharing it, i will try it !

Hiii.... Miss Las Vegas

Great And Amazing Post With Pictures.
Thanks for this post.
You Also Try Dtube For more Earning.
Because, You Post Amazing articles like this

Well done @misslasvegas! You successfully guessed the match result.

Quater Finals - Uruguay vs France
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Russia vs Croatia


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Well done @misslasvegas! You successfully guessed the match result.

Quater Finals - Sweden vs England
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 1


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00