The Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective: Heart Health with Fire Cider & Power Packed Salad

IMG_6246.jpg

Using food for both nourishment and medicinal purposes is at the heart of our life on this homestead. We enjoy taking control of our health and wellness through the plants we grow and forage.

This week the Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective is asking us to provide recipes for a meal/drink/dessert (or all of these things) that focus on an a specific element and the organ that it support. This week we will be focusing on:

Fire & Heart

Heart health is very important in our household. There is a family history of heart disease. I plan on being old and wrinkly holding hands with my husband. Heart healthy food paired with exercise is a good recipe for prevention.

To learn more about this wonderful challenge read this post from @eco-alex Medicinal Gourmet Cooking Collective.

I'm going to take you inside the kitchen, garden and pantry today and share a power packed heart healthy recipe for salad and a very special vinaigrette. There are a few steps to this recipe but it really is worth the effort. Once you've made a batch you'll have plenty on hand for future salads!

These nourishing recipes are very flexible in nature and allow for plenty of creativity. Best of all they are incredibly delicious. My husband @xwalkran who was not a big fan of salads is quite obsessed with this one. He asks for it almost every day.

A salad for the seasons

IMG_6233.jpg

The magic behind a gourmet salad is in the ingredients.

You want beautiful colours and different textures and a wide range of the freshest possible ingredients.

You also want to use surprising and delightful ingredients because salad is so much more than lettuce. All of these different flavours will marry together and dance in your mouth.

Kale

High in vitamin C & K, rich in heart healthy flavonoids & Omega 3 fatty acids which help fight inflammation at the root of heat disease and other chronic illness. source

Nasturtium Leaves & Flower Petals

Avoid if Pregnant, there is a small possibility that they may induce menstruation and cause a miscarriage. Nasturtium can act, both as a disinfectant and a healing agent with antibiotic and antimicrobial properties. The leaves and flowers contain vitamin C and iron. The group of phenols in the pigments of orange and red flowers helps naturalize the damaging effects of free radicals, thereby helping to protect us from chronic diseases such as cardiovascular disease and cancer. source

Basil

Basil, also known as Saint Joseph's Wort, is an herb belonging to the mint family. Basil contains a wide range of essential oils, rich in phenolic compounds, polyphenols (flavonoids and anthocyanins) & (E)-beta-caryophyllene (BCP), which may be useful in treating arthritis and inflammatory bowel diseases. It also presents antimicrobial, anti-inflammatory, anti-diabetic, antioxidant and anti-cancer activity & has been shown to lower blood glucose, triglyceride and cholesterol levels. source

Peas

Peas and other legumes are an excellent plant-based source of protein and are also high in fiber. They contain heart-healthy minerals, such as magnesium, potassium and calcium, flavonols, carotenoids and vitamin C & antioxidants. source

Beetroot & leaves

Beetroot juice is one of the richest dietary sources of nitrates, which help improve blood flow and heart health. Beets are loaded with potassium, magnesium, beta-carotene and folate. The beet leaves are also delicious and packed with nutrients. source

IMG_6198.jpg

Flower Power

Often relegated to ornamental, many flowers are edible, delicious and contain medicinal and aromatic health benefits. Rose petals contain small amounts of vitamin C, A, D & E along with Iron, Calcium & Zinc. Although not super high in nutrients we must not discount the value of aromatherapy when it comes caring for our mind, body and soul.

Additional medicinal and nutritional items that you might add to this power packed salad:

Other ingredients that work well in this salad include garden herbs, all leafy greens including the super food cannabis leaf, flower petals, (rose, dandelion, and all edible flowers)spruce tips, tomatoes, cucumbers carrots, asparagus and pretty much anything you can grow and eat. another tasty addition is lacto-fermented garlic scapes which just came into season around here!

In this version of our salad we've used: kale, beet leaves, raw beetroot, basil, oregano, nasturtium leaves/flowers and rose petals. The cider is tossed in a heart healthy fire cider vinaigrette. Recipe below!

IMG_6236.jpg

Now that we have the salad planned out we need to make the fire cider herbal tonic which will be used as the acid ingredient in our heart healthy vinaigrette.

Fire Cider Herbal Tonic (Oxymel)

IMG_6223.jpg

Fire cider is a spicy vinegar herbal tonic. It is infused with a wide range of herbal medicinal ingredients and best of all it is very easy to make. This is a folk preparation and it is revered for its healing powers. This is not surprising given the powerful ingredients.

Don't be afraid to make a large batch because it keeps for a very long time! You can use it as a daily heath tonic, and as a culinary ingredient.

< The mental process in which you make fire cider is important. Give gratitude and appreciation for the living material you are gathering, and be joyful while you are crafting your cider. Good energy is important for heart health too.

The base ingredients in a fire cider tonic include, apple cider vinegar, garlic, onion, ginger & horseradish but there are many other herbs, flowers and fruits that can be added. Our recipes changes with the seasons.

fire: heart healthy.jpg

Fire Cider Tonic Ingredients

Apple Cider Vinegar

Raw Apple cider vinegar is heart healthy and aide with blood sugar & cholesterol. It is also an antioxidant.

Garlic

Garlic is packed full of nutrients. It contains: 33 sulfur compounds, 17 amino acids, antioxidants (germanium & selenium) and multiple vitamins and minerals. These beneficial chemical compounds, including a substance called allicin, give garlic its unmistakable odor as well as a pharmacological edge in cardiovascular protection. source

Onion

Onions are excellent sources of vitamin C, sulphuric compounds, flavonoids and phytochemicals. Phytochemicals, or phytonutrients, are naturally occurring compounds in fruits and vegetables that are able to react with the human body to trigger healthy reactions. Flavonoids are responsible for pigments in many fruits and vegetables. Studies show that they may help reduce the risk of Parkinson's disease, cardiovascular disease and stroke.source

Ginger

Daily consumption of ginger may reduce the risk of many chronic conditions, including high blood pressure and coronary heart disease.Ginger has anti-inflammatory and stimulating effects which result in the promotion of metabolic processes; it is also a good antioxidant. It is immune boosting & can aid in digestive issues, anti-nausea, sickness & menstrual and arthritis pain. source

Horseradish

Horseradish is high in dietary fiber, folate, vitamin C, calcium, potassium, magnesium and manganese. It also contains other useful organic chemicals, oils and enzymes such as glucosinolates which are known to help protect against cancer. Horseradish is a good source of the potassium which is essential to improving blood flow and widening the arteries. source

Directions for making fire cider tonic

  • Gather and place ingredients in a large glass jar and cover with enough raw apple cider vinegar to cover everything by at least three to four inches. Cover with a non reactive lid.

  • Place the jar in a warm, dark cupboard for four weeks. Shake the jar daily.

  • After four to six weeks, strain out the solids, and reserve the liquid.

  • Optional: Warm some honey in a pot gently until softened and mix it into your strained fire cider mixture. Add enough honey to sweeten it to your taste. This can be anywhere from two table spoons to 1/4 cup. You can also skip this and add the honey on a “per use” basis instead.

  • Store your fire cider in sterilized glass jars out of direct sunlight.

In this version of fire cider I used roughly 1/2 cup chopped fresh horseradish root, 3 garlic cloves. 1/2 cup chopped fresh ginger 1 small onion and a handful each of rose petals, nasturtium flowers, oregano and basil.

IMG_6226.jpg

Once you've made your fire cider you've got the perfect acid for making a heart healthy vinaigrette.

To turn fire cider into a vinaigrette salad dressing

Grab a jar and add a big lug of organic olive oil (or oil of your choice), a healthy pour of fire cider, some maple syrup or honey to sweeten and a spoon of mustard and a pinch of salt and pepper. Shake well. If you would like precise measurements you can use this recipe.

To make your own Apple Cider Vinegar

It you want to go the extra mile you can make your own apple cider vinegar. It isn't hard to do, like many things, it just requires patience. Here's a recipe for making your own raw apple cider vinegar.


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

Sort:  

We have been making fire cider for a few years now. I throw in some chilli peppers for some added kick too! I make salads similar to this too. Just take a walk through the garden and the herb beds and add variety! I never have any left over! LOL The children that are living with me now had never eaten a salad before they came here two months ago! Now when I say I need help in the garden, they are the first to volunteer!

oooh Chilli peppers, now you're talking. I love heat! :)

I just love that, thank you for sharing. Hearing about kids discovering the magic of gardens and food is just about the happiest thing in the world! I think about you all in Nicaragua often. I admire your tenacity.

Perhaps more like stubbornness and stupidity? Sometimes things become a bit hairy...

po-ta-to, po-ta-to. It's all the same. Whatever gets us through trying times. I just can't get my head around these situations. You've been placed in an impossible position and from all I have read you are doing a fine job of holding everything togehter. You have a lot of people in your care, keeping them safe and fed and I have a lot of admiration for you.

Thank you, @walkerland! We'll have to see what I look like when all this is over! LOL

Good training Ceci! They will never forget it, and they will make their own later, good teaching job! :)

Any time My Sister! Stay Safe! :)

What a fabulous post! Fire cider is a fabulous medicine and tonic, and so easy to make - I love how you've included it in this heart happy recipe. Looks like the perfect summer food - delicious!

Thanks @naturalmedicine, glad you liked it. It's on the menu every day around here and I am so grateful.

Never heard of fire cider tonic. Definitely made the list, ty for sharing.

So glad it made your list! I am sure you'll be happy with it.

What a nice presentation and great detailed infomation on all the ingredients. Everything you do is beautiful! Your entry is my favorite so far. Great job!

Thank you @thelaundrylady. I worried that I overloaded this post with too much info. I do have trouble sometimes knowing when to stop writing.

I have loved all of the recipes so far and yours was especially good. I really believe in the healing power of garlic and the recipe you shared is such an important one. If everyone did just that - the world would be so much healthier!

This salad looks soooo goood! No wonder he asks for it every day. :))

I like the addition of flower petals to your fire cider. It not only gives it a nice color, but you get the bonus of added nutrients.

Do you make fire cider ahead and store it for winter, with the petals,etc? If so, how much do you make to get through the year?

I actually make it seasonally. In the Autumn I will used things like nasturtium seeds, rose hips and other autumn ingredients and this usually carries us through to spring. Spring time is more spruce tips, chaga and more woodsy ingredients and then summer is more like what I shared today. I also sometimes use berries and I think I forgot to mention that in the post.

I really love making it so I try to make sure to get in 3-4 different batches each year.

I do purchase our ginger - it's the one thing I can't do without and we've had no luck growing it (I am trying again at the moment). We always seem to have plenty of garlic, horseradish and onions so the core ingredients we always have on hand.

I make the apple cider vinegar in the Autumn with the apple harvest. That stores forever and is such a vital ingredient that I make huge batches of it.

I may have killed my ginger by forgetting to open the hoophouse one day. :((

I also make our apple cider vinegar from our apples for the year.

I don't grow horseradish. I love it, but my stomach doesn't. :((

I'm going to have to get cracking and get some batches made. Every year I say I'm going to, and never get to it....

Oh no! I hope some of it bounces back for you. I bought some ginger that was sprouting so I have my fingers crossed that I will get some going. I do hope you try the fire cider we absolutely love it. There's so much goodness in every spoon full!

I have never heard of fire cider before today when I read your post! It sounds so yummy!
Resteeming!!

Thanks for the resteem @mrscwin! I hope you give the fire cider a try! :)

Wow, this is a marvelous recipe, the vinaigrette looks very interesting, i have to pinned this vinaigrette recipe and give this a try soon. Thanks for sharing it.

Thanks @sherylneil, glad you liked it. I really do think it is incredibly delicious. We of course had it for lunch again today because I needed to do photos for this post! :)

Thank you for this post! I am just getting into fermentation, amd this gives me a lot of usable information! :)

That's so great! Fermentation is a slippery slope. Soon you'll be fermenting everything!! :)

I sure hope so! I can preserve food every other way, but this is new to me, so I am reading a lot. That is how I found your post, which I will re-read several more times. I have tea, and cabbage fermenting right now! Good times! :)

Such a wonderful post. Love the salad and fire cider. it has been ages since I made some. thanks for the reminder ;)

Hello! So glad to hear of another fire cider fan! You'll have to share your recipe. I love reading about how others make theirs. :)

Planning to get one started on my day off. I'll def make a post about it. Thanks again for the reminder. So many things going on in the kitchen and our life that I forgot about it.

Oh wow... two excellent recipes in one read!!! And I will jave to look at how to make ny own apple cider vinegar too. Thank you for all the valuable info on the ingredients you are using.

Definitely will try the fire cider!

Thanks @senorcoconut! When it comes to concoctions of this nature I really and truly believe that fire cider is the best of the best! :)

We just ran out of a small bottle we bought last fall! Thanks again for the inspiration to make my own

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83