CTS:Carpal Tunnel Surgery Update

in #medicine6 years ago

A few of you know a little over 2 weeks ago I had Carpel Tunnel surgery on my right hand. The left hand gets done next week. Its severe in both hands, the right is worse and since it’s my dominate hand it was scheduled first.


7C9234CD-2456-43FD-A960-D8007CE9C8D5.jpeg


To diagnose CTS a physician conducts a EMG on the entire arm from finger tips to the shoulder. It’s somewhat uncomfortable and weird. Grip strength, and range of motion are also tested in occupational therapy.


ADFD9B97-3205-44E5-AAE8-3D1C5840CD39.jpeg


It was one of the easier surgeries I’ve had and recovery has been fast. Stitches are now out and 2 tiny incisions are barely visible at this point. I still have some numbness in my fingers and thumb, but no burning pain like I did have. It used to wake me up several times during the night.


E64D09AE-5E60-4F7F-93A3-48534ADFF99F.jpeg


Arthroscopic Carpel Tunnel is great, they use to lay open the entire palm to release the median nerve. These days they cut the ligament running between your thumb and the lower left of the palm just above the bend in your wrist to relieve the pressure on the median nerve.


596DCD81-58DC-4CFE-B85A-A036E2142CE9.png


Bulky bandage is removed 48 hours later, stitches are out in a week and then it’s on to hand therapy you can do at home in your easy chair. The most difficult part of this whole thing is remembering not to lift, push or pull anything over 4 pounds for a month. I’ve forgotten a few times and it did hurt quite badly.

I do feel that any career I had is coming to a close, my hands have gotten so bad with tendon, ligament and arthritis issues. The CTS is just one facet requiring repair, it’s a good thing I started thinking about retiring this year.

I’m having the left hand done on June 7th (tomorrow) and hopefully the result will be as successful as the previous one.

9232D47E-F098-4B9A-89D2-451A8E8DE864.png

Sort:  

Thats why your not been typing so much then. Wishing you a speedy recovery an sending you some Reiki vibes. Get well soon 💯🐒

Good excilent information for us from over health and hand

I hope it has helped, good luck for your second operation :)

I have only one thing to say, “Yippee you finally had it done!” See you soon friend☕️

Good luck with the surgery tomorrow! I know it will go well. It is bummer as we grow older and our bodies can't keep up with our 21 year old minds...

lol! yes forever young at heart!

howdy @mother2chicks I'm sorry to hear you have this condition, is the surgery supposed to cure it? did this happen because of repetition on your job? God bless you!

I hope that you see a big improvement. My mother had this surgery and it really helped her

I hope it all goes well, and take it easy.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Editor of the Weekly Schedule of Steem Radio Shows.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Ouch!!! That stitch in your palm makes me wince. I didn't know you were having surgery. I would have sent many good vibes your way. I'm glad to see you are recovering well and that your pain has lessened. I'm sending good vibes and well wishes that your surgery and recovery for your left hand will be just as smooth!

Ouch! Get some Comfrey (herbal) to speed healing! Wishing you a speedy recovery!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71