Warning: TMI

in #medicine5 years ago

image

Ok so here’s a story about the modern medical system. Over a week ago I went to the doctor because my sore throat developed white spots. I suspected a bacterial infection. I thought white spots are a good sign to go to the doctor. Strep test: negative (I told them it wasn’t step: not the right symptoms). Then they did a throat culture and told me I would be given amoxicillin. Cool, I’ve had it before and my body tolerated it fine. I get to the pharmacy and pick up a different (more expensive) antibiotic. I’m skeptical, but I trusted my doctor’s judgement. Fast forward three days. Suddenly I feel like I have a yeast infection coming on. I did said ok fine. Back to the pharmacy for Mobistat. I woke up worse the next morning. I go to the only walk in clinc not afraid of a vagina. They ask me to pee in a cup. No problem. I ask if I should use the clean catch method (this involves using special wipes and making sure the vulva does touch the pee so it’s a true sample). They say that’s not necessary. I’m diagnosed w a UTI (which I did not feel like I had). I was give an antibiotic injection in my butt and prescribed to more antibiotics and an antifungal (as I demanded that since I know my body and know I had a yeast infection from the original antibiotics). I keep feeling worse. One day later, I call my doctor (who hasn’t called me) for the results of the throat culture: I never had an infection. I go to the chiropractor who tells me to stop taking what’s making me sick and suggests some natural remedies and an extra adjustment two days later. I start feeling better within 12 hours. For days later, everything is back to normal. My period had even stopped because of the medication and complications from it.
I’ll use this as a learning experience.

Sort:  

/ᐠ-ᆽ-ᐟ\

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06