Medicine Card Monday #23 "Mystical Shaman Oracle - The Owl"- My Gift To Steemit - For The Week Of October 8, 2018

in #medicinecardmonday6 years ago (edited)

When the owl sings, the night is silent." ~ Charles de Leusse

martinandlaura.png

According to different Native American tribes, there are a variety of stories as to the belief system in relation to the owl. On the Pow Wow website one aspect is as follows:

Among many tribes, the owl is to be both feared and embraced. Traditionally, many tribes believed, (and some individuals still hold these beliefs), that certain medicine people (both male and female) could be drawn to that part of spiritual power that would do harm to other people. Some tribes called them “witches” or the equivalent of a witch in their particular language. These “witches” or medicine people that practiced “bad medicine” were believed to have the ability to shape-shift or transform themselves into an animal or bird. Many of these witches, it was believed, would change into the form of an owl so that they could fly silently through the night to cast spells on people while they were asleep and vulnerable to spiritual forces, or at the very least, spy on people and learn their weaknesses.

Because the average tribal member did not have the knowledge to distinguish a real owl from one that was actually a witch that had shape-shifted into the form of an owl, all owls were avoided in general for safety sake. It was believed that only the holy people, or medicine men, had the special knowledge to tell them apart.

Holy men or holy women among many tribes frequently sought out the spiritual help from real owls in their healing practices. The holy people believed that the owl had very soft and gentle ways, similar to the softness of an owl's feather, and these ways were taught to them in the healing ways. Therefore, whenever owl feathers were worn by an individual, it often meant that they were a medicine person with healing abilities.

Take the above information as one belief system since many cultures feel differently about the owl, and in all honesty while I'm a bit spooked, my father told me when an owl speaks to me it is of great honor and a calling to my true path. I've never felt one way or another about the owl since the eagle is my clan spirit. The owl on the other hand is called a night eagle in many Native American cultures, so this is something for me to consider as we go over this week's reading.

image

Medicine Card Monday Initiative

All of my readings are geared towards a healing; breaking through mental, spiritual, or emotional blocks that will assist us in overcoming every day obstacles.

If this is your first time swinging by, my Medicine Card Monday initiative is my positive intention to pull a card of healing or medicine for the community. This is different than tarot in that the cards I use are on the medicinal aspect of humanity other than the most common cards found in a tarot deck.

The decks I use are The Wild Unknown - Animal Spirit, Mystical Shaman Oracle, and the Chakra Wisdom Oracle. The cards will assist in helping those interested, find comfort in things going on in our community and the world we are now dealing with. Namely, issues around the world, astronomical, or overcoming health issues of all sorts, etc., maybe just something out of balance that we are feeling on any particular day that needs guidance.

By pulling a card for Steemit this will in turn assist with my Medicine training, give back to the community, and help those seeking answers. I will take some of the reading from guidebooks provided with the cards, but primarily give intuitive and medicinal words to help our community. We all have days when we need encouragement, inspiration, and comfort.

The Card - The Owl

unnamed.jpg

Photo taken by @eaglespirit

Owl medicine is a feminine trait and is symbolically associated with clairvoyance, astral projection, and magic. Since time immemorial, humanity has been afraid of the night, the dark, and the unseen – waiting fearfully for the first crack of morning light. Conversely, night is Owl’s friend. It has great awareness of all that is around it at all times. It has predator vision, which means it sees clearly what it looks at. It has great intuition, and the courage to follow its instincts. It is a meat eater, which means it can be a fierce warrior if challenged, or if something dear to it is threatened.

If Owl is your personal medicine, no one can deceive you about what they are doing, no matter how they try to disguise or hid it from you. You may be a little frightening to be around, since so many people have ulterior motives which you see right through.

Owl medicine people know more about an individual’s inner life than that person knows about herself or himself. Owl medicine is wonderful to have. Those who carry it cannot be conned because their vision shows them the truth of the situation.

The Message


Blackfeet Owl Dance Song

The Essence

Owl is the master of the night. She can see situations with perfect clarity, more so when it is dark, and is able to discern truth when other are sightless. She helps you find your light and your lightness in the darkest moments of your life, and to embrace the night as your ally.

The Invitation

Look around you, notice every detail, and find the hidden messages brought to you by owl. Do not shoot the messenger; be grateful to the friend who shows you what you have not wanted to see until now. Observe all the facets of the diamond without judgement. Remember that the facets you dislike are often mirrors of the parts of you that you do not want to recognize. Do not be afraid of the truth, as it will become your compass.

The Medicine

Owl guards against self-deception and insists that your motives be pure and transparent to all. What is the message that you are not hearing, the situation you aren to seeing with clarity? Owl invites you to wait patiently. Bide your time until it is right to act. Then do so decisively, with no hesitation or remorse.

Blessing From Eagle Spirit

With this reading I send out a special Native American blessing to all who read this post. Clear your mind of all negativity and accept the positive energy to flow into your Being. Find your center, ground, and open up your Owl Medicine to work for the greater good. May you find peace, comfort, and healing in all that you do this week.

image

I hope you liked the reading! As always, I love community engagement so please leave a comment below and I’ll be sure to respond.

If you would like a personal Medicine Card reading:

Send 2 STEEM/SBD per card.

Choose a deck and spread: Animal Spirit (1, 2, 3, 4, or 13 card spread), Chakra Wisdom (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, or 7 card spread), or Mystical Shaman Oracle (1, 3, or 4 card spread.)

Each person is given a special one-on-one healing energy session with a reading sent from a Reiki Master Teacher (that be me), and a Native American ceremony is included.

Photos will be provided and explained. Please do not share these publicly.

You can find me on Discord under the name Eagle Spirit #4491.

Have a glorious week and come back next Monday for another Medicine Card reading!

Yours,

QmXjtAmwcMN2UZUKqEHNNuFtbMT54MpWoTwgVvrSxsRSDc.png

Thank you for stopping by to read my blog. I’m a Certified Indian Blood member of the Hopi & Apache Native American tribes, Reiki Master-Teacher, Medicine woman in-training, paralegal, researcher, and writer based in the mountains of Colorado, USA. I work closely with fellow planktons and minnows in a few groups by helping them adjust to Steemit and curate quality content. I’m especially interested in finding others who love natural medicine originating from ancient practices, gold and silver, and energy work. Additionally, I'm the creator of #MedicineCardMonday and #FreedomFriday, so if you are interested in receiving Native American Medicine stop by my blog every Monday to say hello!

A'OO, Eagle Spirit

image

Eagle Spirit’s Disclaimer
Energy therapy is a natural method of energy balancing, but is not meant as a substitute for medical, or psychological diagnosis and treatment.
Energy practitioners do not diagnose conditions, nor do they perform medical treatment, prescribe substances, or interfere with the treatment of a licensed medical professional.
Energy therapy or any other natural healing therapy should not compete with medical doctors and their treatments. All therapies are meant to complement medical treatments.
If you wish to learn more about energy work or the methods I use to assist others in Native American medicine practices feel free to contact me privately.

Sort:  

I love this reading! I think Owls are stunning and spiritual creatures. I absolutely adore them. I am a holistic therapist and I never knew that they were so closely associated with healing, that makes me very happy!
I have been on a few falconry courses and handled a few owls, they are so powerful! Here is a picture I took of an owl recently on my travels. BB xx

owl small.jpg

whoaaa look at this owl, what a beauty and thank you for sharing such a lovely creature. kinda looks like a wizard one from harry potter or a mythical story. coloring is gorgeous.
well to some tribes they are shapeshifting witches LOL
i def have felt a connection but my aunt and dad much more than i, i kinda feel they are creepy with that twisty head baha
oh well, maybe one day i will connect. i saw a couple of them over my lifetime staring me down and it was me or them ... i'll have to tell the story one day.

Outstanding picture. Thanks for posting it!

FOR TSE: Beautiful post. Beautiful pictures. I love owls -- always have. And this waiting / watching / listening advice is so appropriate to the Dark of the Moon ---> which I am still trying to emerge from. May take another full day though. This one has been pretty intense.

yay thank you ES! :)
i like when you make comments now, they mean a lot more than just the train footer.
dark of the moon oh no not again ... shapeshifters ... see and that didnt only come from me talking to you ... came out in the cards ... doh
yay emerge mama, emergeeeee
one day isn't bad ... i'm not feeeling it too much this time. strange. ded inside bahahaha

I have always admired the owl. Since my childhood I have always been up well before the sun, so I share some time with the owl. Nothing that makes me feel better than watching an owl hunt in the time before the sun. If I hear an owl in the night I figure I will sleep well because the owl knows where the quiet is.

Thank you for this reading, and the Owl. And I believe that may be the first time I have heard a Blackfoot Drum. I appreciate that too.

strange how you always manage to somehow link us together bahah
you crack me uppppp ... so do you feel the owl is your spirit animal?
i think Sam is your spirit animal hehe
you are so welcome and thank you for listening. the tribe is the Blackfeet. i noticed that mistake in the title of the YT. but it still sounded good. :)
big hugs,
eagle spirit

No. My spirit animal is the Red Tailed Hawk. I've known that since I was a child. I simply share some time with and occasionally space with the owl. I know I'm in the absolutely right place when I hear the Owl hunting.

I think Sam is my teacher. He shows me things I never knew.

And you are right, of course. The tribe is Blackfeet. I still don't ever remember hearing a drum from that nation. I've certainly heard and remembered drums from a lot of others.

whoa how you gettn those big comment upvotes?
RTH is a nice creature and has an interesting meaning. maybe it will come up in a reading soon.
yup thought i did mention Sam being a teacher lol
cool that you never heard but did here for the first time. awesome :)

This is the first medicine monday post I have read since following you. I take it the medicine offered is meant to be healing for the soul. It is nice to have gentle reminders like this to recenter the body and mind in one heart.

Maybe I'll reach out to you one day, but right now I do not feel safe in spending any money in this way. Exploring new ways to connect with spirit, and unlocking higher gifts has always fascinated me. I've been searching for a grounded mentor for many years, but I am a tough judge of character when I begin to discern people's limitations and weaknesses. Maybe that's a bit like the owl. My elder friends are always loaded with simple bits of wisdom I can swallow as good medicine.

I always wondered why the owl was considered wise in children's stories (Winnie the Pooh), fables, and myths. These myths relating the owl with holy shamans and witches must be very ancient to have crossed into the stories of so many cultures.

Love the artwork and simple wisdom. Please keep it up.

oh how nice of you to stop in and thank you! :)
the healing is given by any means the soul will accept it ... it goes where it needs to go.
no worries about the money, i do readings for those that pretty much are ready to move on to a diff level in their life and know it. just a confirmation.
yeah finding a mentor is not easy, i was very specific in my prayers to find chiefs and i did. it took awhile but it happened, i now have 2 and another one waiting for me. there is still my people that call to me all the time to come home. eek
good medicine is not always easy to come by, you are fortunate.
yes i would be interested to find out about that myself. the shapeshifting will get any native shaking in their seats LOL
thank you for the share of your thoughts and insight.
hugs,
eagle spirit

Thank you for sharing this Owl Medicine... So beautiful. This resonates sooo much with me, especially currently. Though I have always been drawn to Owl my whole life. I see them often out and about, especially in early evening, and whenever I do commune with Owl, I always feel so at peace. They radiate an energy that is complex and very deep, and so quiet. Like a still waters run deep kind of feeling.
Thanks for this reading. I receive this beautiful Medicine with gratitude! 😊

wery cool indeed !! you dont shapeshift do ya?? 🧐

just checking ...

Bahaha not that I know of... 🤔

OMG guess what i got? i frgn amazing owl
feather this past weekend!! gifts from Spirit are amazing 🦅💜

Ah awesome Night Eagle! 🤩 🦉

yeah it was pretty awesome since it was like getting my eagle feather ... i'm still dazzled:)
its one of those native american owl feathers that we can only have sooo excited!

Dear @eaglespirit!
I want to thank you and share with you a profound experience while reading this post. I felt so aligned with it, listened to the music, felt like I entered a type of trance. Read the rest of the post, the music stopped, something happened right after that - I felt in flow and it was a strengthening and beautiful feeling! I read your blessing and received it, too. Your words speak to me in truth and wisdom and I would honestly love to follow you further on and comment on your beautiful posts <3

whoaaaa that is deepppp!! i know my stuff works but rarely do people tell me how or when. many have no idea unless they are attune. yippeeee
thanks so much for the feedback. im so inspired by your comment. id love to learn more about the trance and “what happen next” almost sound sspooky bit i know it must have been transformational somehow.

much love, eagle spirit

You are welcome!! ^^ Yes it really did work!!

I felt in a kind of flow. Like everything was bonded in a way. Right after I read a part of your post my husband laughed at something on his computer. I felt the energy, love and cosmic vitality in his laugh. It was so full of life and... can't describe it!! Then when I listened to the music... I just felt a real deep conection <3

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Eagle Spirit from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Enjoyed your post this week especially, since the Owl is my spirit animal.
There is much we can learn from observing not just animals, but animal behavior.
One of my favorite guides is the book "Animal Speak", by Ted Andrews. It provides some guidance on what some of the animal behaviors, omens, and associated "powers" of several different animals.

image.png

Cover photo sourced from Kindle.
Enjoy!
K

hey there ksteem, yes i've heard of the book and glad you know your spirit animal. has it been with you your whole life or has it changed ?
maybe you would like to express your experience with your spirit animal, but if not thats fine too.
everyone has a different experience.
glad to see you and hope you are well.

eagle spirit

I thought maybe you had, and that others might enjoy it as well. Looking back, I'm sure it has been with me since very young age, but I didn't really recognize it until I was in my late 30's or early 40's and could be bothered to notice such things.

It would have been very nice to have had someone to teach me such things at an earlier age, or to have found the information in such books back then.

I've had so many experiences now that I have chosen to embrace not just this power animal in my life, but also have become more aware of the others' influences as well. Very meaningful to me, probably not as much to others. It is very comforting to recognize these many different aspects, observe them, and make different choices than I would have earlier in life.

Enjoy!
K

as my peopel would say a’oo!
you said it all perfectly. that does seem
to be the age mid 30s to 40s

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 276 (10/09/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87