Want to Get to Know Yourself on a Really Deep Level?

in #meditation6 years ago (edited)

Do you have quality time with yourself? For me, it's really important. My quality alone time is out in nature. Of course, I'm not alone - I'm with the trees and the birds and the squirrels and the wildflowers. I'm with the whole universe really.

My other quality time is my daily sadhana. A daily sadhana is simply a daily practice. This is just getting out your yoga mat or a rug and sitting down. You might meditate, you might do some yoga poses or kriyas, you might do some breathing exercises. My sadhana is usually a combination of all of these.

This quality time with myself is where almost all of my inspiration comes from. Inspiration literally starts pouring in as soon as I sit down on that mat and close my eyes and am alone with myself.

Alternate Nostril Breathing


I've been incorporating this or Breath of Fire into my practice daily. I'm learning that pranayama (breathing exercises) are one of the most powerful tools for health, transformation, and connection.

When I sat down for the first day of my Kundalini yoga teacher training, this is the very first thing we did to kick off the six months ahead.

"Long deep breathing is organic psychotherapy," my teacher, Ravi Singh says.

Indeed, a deep well of emotions were coming up from a place deep, deep inside of me as I breathed in down the side of my spine and out up the center of it. Allllllll the emotion was coming up of what I had just been through with my dad's cardiac arrest and the feelings that brought up about our entire relationship. It brought along every emotion I think I might have felt ever. A deep emotional release.


Source

Alternate Nostril Breathing creates a safe space within yourself for emotion to be accessed and to flow. Indeed, it feels like there's a very loving and solid essence there that allows the emotions to flow without the resistance to them because of identification with them. It brings you to such a balanced and calm state that the emotions are safe to flow.

Alternate nostril breathing is quality time with yourself. You're just there with yourself experiencing what it's like to be you - totally centered, totally in your body - totally there with yourself. Now, I realize that many people don't want to do that. I've heard that the scariest thing for most people is to be alone with themselves. That's a life not lived.

For me, everything in my life stems from that place.


Source

Netflix, Steemit, career, productivity aren't quality time with yourself. It's distraction. They're great. But they're not quality time with yourself.

You're a treasure. And I hope you treasure you. Quality time with yourself will allow you to feel your essence and shine that out into the world and create a life that's in alignment with that self. Otherwise you're kind of like an empty shell running from one thing to the next, clicking away for your next source of entertainment. Where's the core? Life must be lived from the inside out. And I think Alternate Nostril Breathing is a great way to spend quality time with yourself and begin living from the inside out.

Six Reasons I recommend Kundalini Yoga for Awakening and Increasing Consciousness

If you enjoyed this, you'll enjoy my facebook page You Are Your Own Healer

My work on Steemit is possible because of @kennyskitchen, his project, @tribesteemup, and @jamesc's support of that project, and @whatamidoing. Thanks to my supporters @indigoocean, @movingman, @becomingwhtur, and @vincentnijman. You can support, evolve, and expand my work empowering Steemians to have massive impact by adding @brightstar to autovote. ❤️


What is Steemit?
Steemit is a social media site on the blockchain. The blockchain is a revolutionary technology which decentralizes power and money. Steemit is the hottest new blogging site where we reward each other with cryptocurrency for contributing valuable content by upvoting it. Each upvote gives the content producer Steem, which is a currency on the blockchain that can be held as an investment or traded for US dollars! Accounts are free, and when you sign up you're given free Steem to begin upvoting content you like. You can also start earning Steem yourself!

How do you become part of this vibrant, leading edge community?
Go to https://steemit.com and click "sign up."

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Highly Resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73