Meditating Where it Matters

in #meditation6 years ago

https://s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com/partiko.io/img/jgrantf-meditating-where-it-matters-3wljky7s-1537065004749.png

As some of you know, I work hard to maintain a regular meditation practice.

What you may not know is that most of my time meditating is not spent sitting cross-legged in a dim room with incense burning.

Don’t get me wrong, sitting quietly in a peaceful place is great. So is incense if that’s your thing. However, I tend to feel that isolating mindfulness meditation to only this setting is ultimately counterproductive.

After all, the point of being more mindful is to be present, calm, and intentional in how your use your time.

I don’t know about you, but I could use a lot more calm, presence and intentional though than I can muster while I’m sitting in my room.

Because of this I have begun meditating for just a few minutes throughout the day.

Typically, I meditate for just five minutes at a time.

I frequently meditate right after I eat my lunch at work. If our crew has a job that requires some drive time and I’m a passenger I close my eyes, lean my head back and meditate. Especially in situations where things are difficult for me, I’ll begin minding my breathing and practicing my meditation techniques while carrying out everyday tasks.

I still set aside time to sit quietly and meditate in a more traditional way, but I find tremendous value in injecting meditation into my daily work.

Not only do I get more time in meditating, but it helps to calm me and keep me focused on the moment.

Meditating only under ideal circumstances has benefits. However our lives only give us ideal circumstances very rarely.

I find that learning to meditate during everyday life, particularly stressful situations, helps me to confront lift more confidently and bring the benefits of mindfulness into moments I need it most.

Do you meditate like this? Why or why not? Let me know in the comments below!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

I have terrible concentration, so 5 minutes at a time is great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73