Meetup in Leuven with @joythewanderer - Beer Tasting at The Capital

in #meetup6 years ago (edited)

Last Thursday, me and Jeanine had our first Steemit meetup with @joythewanderer. We decided on going to a bar called 'The Capital', which has a selection of over 2000 beers.



When I first saw Joy, I was very surprised to hear that she spoke Dutch almost perfectly. That just made the conversation so much easier for all of us. We did end up going back and forth a bit between Dutch and English, just because it's easier when talking about Steemit related subjects.

Joy ordered a delicious peach beer called Pecheresse, which is brewed by Lindemans. It's reasonably low in alcohol content, sitting just at 2.5% ABV. Great beer for a very hot day, since it was still around 26°C (79°F) at 8 P.M.

I also opted to start with a lighter beer called Blanche de Namur, which is a fantastic wheat beer, produced by Brasserie Du Bocq. There's so much difference between wheat beers, this one had a really outspoken flavor and tasted very citrussy.

Jeanine didn't immediately feel like drinking beer, so she went with a regular apple juice. She did change her mind later that evening and ordered a couple of cherry beers, Kriek by Wilderen brewery. This was a very sweet beer with 3.5% ABV.

One other beer that I particularly like was Pokerface, brewed by Het Nest. This beer is made by a very small brewery that was started up by a group of friends. I had met these brewers before at the Zythos Beer Festival in Leuven and remembered they had some really tasty beers back then. Safe to say that I wasn't disappointed!



I would greatly recommend checking out Joy's blog post, because there one other beer mentioned in there. I let her have a taste of a very weird beer, but I won't spoil it here...

When I first became active on Steemit, a couple of months ago, I wouldn't have dreamed of actually meeting a fellow Steemian so soon. We've already made plans for another small little project together, so stay tuned for that!


Let me know what you think in the comments and consider upvoting or resteeming if you like this type of content!


Sort:  

What a nice idea! I'm hoping to organise a Steemit meetup in my area once I'm a bit less busy... And I love beer. I used to drink quite a lot of wine when I was in a very stressful job, but now I find that wine is too strong, so I like the idea of a 2.5% ABV beer - though I'm not sure about peach as it sounds like it might be a bit sweet.

@natubat - Oh the peach beer is definitely very sweet! I personally don't like it very much because of that. Here in Belgium you also have something called tafelbier (translated as table-beer), which only has ABV of around 1%. They used to serve this at school even, I remember my grandparents telling stories of that.

I happen to have this in my fridge right now, so I'll share a picture.

Beer at school! That must have been a fun school. I've never heard of tafelbier. I'll look out for it. It sounds more appealing and authentic than low-alcohol beer.

1000 types of beers! That's a whole lot. If we had that in my country, men...
I like the idea of flavoured beer. We don't have much of that over here. Nice collection though.

Nice to meet other steemians in real life. I only met yet the ones I brought to the platform :)

It's great meeting Steemit people, I would love the opportunity to do another meet soon. Everything here seems to revolve around London and its far away for me.

Just like I said to @bozz that's the benefit from living in Belgium :P Everything's just so close.

Nice meet up :)

Very cool! It seems like there are many more meetups across the ocean than we have in the states. Maybe it is just the area I live in since I am not near a large city. Really cool that you have these opportunities though. The beers sound great!

There aren't that many in Belgium either, I think. We're just all way closer together :)

For sure! :)

Nice...Looks like you guys had a great time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36