It's a Small (Steem) World

in #meetup6 years ago (edited)

Last week when I arrived in Lanzarote for my family vacation, I discovered that sea lover and water sports enthusiast @surfermarly lives here, on one of the Canary Islands. I got in touch with her via Discord and we organised a mini Steem meetup at my hotel resort. @surfermarly lives an hour north from here and drove down to see me today to chat and share a drink or two.


I have long maintained that the universe has some kind of plan in play. The meetings and coincidences that have occurred during my Steem life continue to amaze me: not only does Marly live on this island, but her home is actually where we spent our vacation last year! We may well have walked past each other and not known.

I saw Marly in Lisbon at last year's Steemfest, but didn't get around to chatting with her, unfortunately. At that time I was still new to the platform and a bit starry eyed at all the 'Steem famous' personalities there, and I considered Marly a Steem veteran, having joined in 2016.

Today's mini meetup was an intimate occasion and we talked about our backgrounds and lives over drinks. The subject soon drew to Steem and Steemit. Dodging a ball, as we had inadvertently sat next to the pool while a water polo game was in session, we spoke about the current state of Steem, its direction, and the communities built up around it. We both agreed there is so much potential here but things could be better managed, particularly for newcomers to the platform.


Moving a safe distance away from flying polo balls, we made our way to another bar and sat with another drink as I learned that @surfermarly, water sport fanatic, actually used to be scared of water. Yes, truly.

The two hours flew by and before I knew it, Marly had to return to the family business. We both remarked how weird it is to meet people from Steem, already having a connection with them as though we'd been friends for years. Marly is such a cool and awesome lady, and it was an absolute pleasure to meet and share a few drinks and conversation.

Thank you so much for travelling down south to spend a few hours chatting. Good times.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.muxxy.co.uk/2018/10/07/its-a-small-steem-world/

Sort:  

Aaaaaw, thanks for eternalizing our pool meetup in such a nice way!!! I totally enjoyed the encounter and fully agree that there's something between steemians that is hard to explain with words. We just connect very quickly, and that's pretty nice!

Enjoy the rest of your vacation together with your family, look for the shadow (hehe), and please reach out whenever you'll come back to Lanzarote again :-)

Big hugsss

It was fantastic meeting up with you. We love Lanzarote so expect more Muxxy meetups.

Awesome, Marly and Muxx :)

Yay!!!! Love this. Two amazing people, you sure made me grin with this get together. 💞🤗💞 I hope to meet you both in person one day.

Thank you. That would be awesome! One day...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hehe, thanks for the lovely comment @katrina-ariel.
Would be great to meet you, too!! :-))

awesome @gmuxx ... looked like a great meeting

It was a lot of fun.

Connecting with Steemians has got to be the best! Another one in the books, eh Muxxy? I wonder who you will bump into next!

Lovely folk the both of you are @gmuxx
I wish the I could surf like surfermarly too if not for my gnarly condition.

No. I'm not jealous at all. Nope. LOL

😅 Oh no, of course not...

sounds like an amazing holiday! much love to you and pastries for all!

Much puppeh hugs ❤️

Nice, I have a steemup planned for next week. Going to meet soyrosa and have a drink in both Our hometown Rotterdam. Hope we have as great a time as you and marly did ,
Have a great Sunday
Love
Britt

Awesome. Steem meetups are great. Hope you have a fantastic time!

I Will sure let you know through a blog 😉

Great, followed you so I'll not miss it.

Great do you use the steemify app ?

I do not. Do you recommend it?

YES I do its a Free app by @blockbrothers and it allows you to See who replies comments or make a blog ( the accounts you follow ) etc etc that Why I saw your answer really quick its easy peasy and a Free tip 😉😉

Sounds cool. I use Gina bot on Discord, which gives me the same notifications. I'll take a look though. Thanks.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77