Blue Ridge, GA - Upcoming Meetup

in #meetup6 years ago


I can't begin to describe how happy I was to read a recent post by @enginewitty about an upcoming steemit meetup not too far from me and in one of my favorite places in the world! The meetup is planned from August 16th through August 19th, 2018 and I, for one, can't wait for it to get here. I am also extremely excited to meet some fellow steemians in real life and to put some faces and personalities with screen names. The only steemians I know in real life are my daughter and a co-worker who I on-boarded( the co-worker, @ericstotle, may be coming with me). The meetup will be taking place north of Atlanta, near the town of Blue Ridge,GA. My wife and I actually spent our honeymoon there and have visited several times since then. There are a multitude of amazing shops and restaurants in the area and it is a really welcoming and friendly town.



Unique salt and pepper shakers we bought on our honeymoon at a eclectic art gallery on Main Street


The town is known for it's amazing beauty and being situated in the heart of the Blue Ridge Mountains. There are some really great mountain cabins to rent as well as a great selection of hotels to choose from. We have stayed at the local Comfort Inn. It is extremely clean, affordable, has a daily breakfast, and an amazing view over the parking lot of the mountains. I will most likely stay here during this meet up.



It was like a dream come true!



It has recently moved locations, but I'm sure it is still fabulous.


One of the coolest attractions to me was an actual bigfoot museum just outside of town. I have learned that it has moved to the main street in the middle of town now and has expanded to be a supernatural/unexplained museum as well. When we visited the last time, we noticed the building next to the road and I looked at my wife like a little puppy and she agreed to let me spend an afternoon their...lol Expedition:Bigfoot was one of the best times I've had in a long time and I was surprised at how much time and effort were put into the exhibits. The owner takes his calling very serious and he is extremely knowledgeable on the subject of Sasquatch and his impact on the local culture. When we visited, he was planning on expanding to actually having local expeditions go out at night and look for signs of the elusive creature. He had night vision, parabolic hearing devices, and all sorts of other investigative tools.



Sorry for the quality, I don't know why it is so blurry.



They had a little bit of everything here.



I see some family resemblance!


We also enjoyed all of the local specialty shops along the main street. There are art galleries, gift shops, ice cream shops, coffee shops, restaurants, candy shops, and too many other shops to name. The area is also home to several local vineyards if you decide to partake in some of the locally created spirits.

The highlight for me was an amazing restaurant named, Harvest on Main. It served the hands-down best burger I have ever eaten and I still have dreams about it from time to time. The team here specialize in locally harvested ingredients and truly embrace the farm to table philosophy of running their restaurant. In addition to phenomenal burgers, they had cooked-on-site smoked bar b que as well as locally pickled vegetables such as green beans and okra.



Best burger I've ever had!


Trust me, if you are within possible traveling distance, I highly, highly encourage you to attend this meetup. I know it will be a great place to make new friends and experience a truly unique town nestled within the blue ridge mountains. If you are planning on attending, please let me know in the comments so we can get to "know" each other before the meetup and I will message anyone my contact information as the time gets closer.


All photos and videos are my own creation unless otherwise noted.

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

Oh man, sounds like a cool place to check out for sure! Gotta love bigfoot 😉

So is the meet up a 3 day event? I wish I lived a bit closer, I would be down to meet some fellow steemians!

I think he said it is running from a Thursday to a Sunday. Man that would be so cool to meet you in person! It is really a nice place, but a little touristy. Not too overwhelming but enough to have the requisite fudge shop like all tourist destinations....lol.

Heck ya, Steemit meetups are the best!! I've been organizing monthly meetups here in SoCal and they are always lots of fun. And that sounds like a beautiful little mountain town. I love those kinda places. Oh, and I think bigfoots are totally real. I swear I saw one (it was 500+ ft away, but I saw it) near Taboose pass in the High Sierra. And they've had backcountry rangers disappear in that area too. At first I thought it was some kinda trail runner kinda person because of the speed it was moving over the large talus... then I thought it was a bear because it was big, dark, and furry looking... but it was walking upright and moving much faster than bears usually do... as it disappeared over the ridge, in my mind there was only one other possibility I could think of... a bigfoot!

I have always been fascinated by the enigma of bigfoot. I grew up in Florida and S. GA and the old timers would talk of a smaller version they referred to as a "swamp ape" or "skunk ape" due to the awful, pungent smell usually associated with them.

I have been in the swamps or woods and seen crazy things I can't explain and I can't tell you how many times that "smell" would waft in from the unknown.

I'm looking forward to the meetup and I wish there were more opportunities for them in my area. I know there are steemians near Atlanta, it's just a matter of finding them.

That is going to be so awesome getting to meet up with other steemians that are close by @papacrusher. I am happy for you and excited for when I get to do the same around here. Btw..I absoulutely lovee bigfoot! How awesome that you got to spend some time at the expedition. I often hope I will get to run into one in the woods :) I don't get a bad vibe about them ;) <333 Much love my friend! #steemitbloggers

I don't get a bad vibe either. I just want to "hang out" with a few to see what the deal is...lol

Thanks for the comment and support!

Exactly :) Much love!

Sounds like an awesome place and I wish!! Have an extra special good time for me @papacrusher!! That would be so cool and exciting to go on a bigfoot/sasquatch night hunt and be able to use all that equipment!! That is some of my kind of fun! ;)

My wife and I are planning on maybe going on one once it cools down a bit this fall.

You had your honeymoon there? That's awesome man. I totally want to check out that Bigfoot museum!

I'm telling you, you made a great choice picking this area. I can't wait to get up there and I am definitely hitting the museum again(this time wearing my Bigfoot riding a unicorn tee)!

@ameliabartlett and I are making the trip, looking forward to meeting you as well. I have never been, so it's nice to read that you have such fond memories. ✨

Awesome! I can't wait to meet you guys!

I'll be there! I'm looking forward to meeting you! :)

That's so awesome! Are you bringing your guitar?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17