Barbeque and AmethystssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #meetup5 years ago
This past weekend, I had the pleasure of meeting @katrina-ariel in-person, my first real-life meeting of someone from the Steem blockchain! It took over a year-and-seven-months of being here to meet someone because I live in a rather rural area and have not done much traveling lately for several reasons. However, @katrina-ariel was driving through Tennessee and the Carolinas, and was passing only an hour from where I currently live, so we made plans to meet.

SaludaStore.png

Much of my driving to the destination was on two-lane country roads. Katrina, however, was traveling by Interstate highways and her trip was interrupted by a one-hour delay creeping through construction traffic. 😬 So, I arrived a whole hour ahead of her and decided to tour the tiny little town of Saluda, NC, (population: 706) where we were meeting.

RememberWhen.jpg
VINTAGE PHOTO OF SALUDA, NC, HANGING IN THE DOWNTOWN AREA
(Notice the old automobiles in the shot!)

I had never been to this town before, although I passed nearby countless times. A couple of miles east of the tiny town is a winding, two-lane country road that climbs a rather steep slope referred to as "Saluda Grade." I clearly remember during the early 1970s before North Carolina completed the section of Interstate-26 near the state line, travelers had to exit the highway and climb Saluda Grade on the two-lane for several miles, then resume the Interstate on the other side. It wasn't too bad as long as one didn't get behind tractor-trailers which lumbered slowly to climb the steep slope. I-26 was finally completed in the Saluda Grade area in 1976 and I clearly remember the exhilaration the first time I dove down it!

Six miles west of Saluda is US Highway 25, which I have also frequently traveled between the two Carolinas. So, with that route, plus years of traveling Interstate-26, I have passed west, north, and east of Saluda, countless times, without actually going into the town. Strange how that works, eh?

So I drove through the tiny town, out to Interstate-26, then back to town. Along the way, I saw a pretty horse sculpture across from Saluda Elementary School, and paused to make a photo of it because I know Katrina loves horses!

SaludaHorse.png

Here is a map of the town, showing the location of various things I talk about in the post, for anyone who wishes to visit this little village:

SaludaMap.jpg
SCREENSHOT FROM BING MAPS

I parked in the downtown area and walked the sidewalk outside the store-fronts. Two of the stores were very old, Thompson’s Store, established in 1890, which is the oldest grocery store in the state of North Carolina, and M.A. Pace General Store which was established in 1899. There were a couple of small bistros, and a place called Mineral Spirits Gallery which appeared to be a shop specializing in specimens of rocks and minerals. I so wanted to go in there, but they were closed, since it was Sunday afternoon.

MineralSpirits.png

There was a little Zen Garden in a flower-box outside one of the shops, with a fascinating pattern of smooth pebbles in sand, accented by an old piece of wood:

ZenGardenduo.png

After an hour of looking around the town, I headed to the restaurant where Katrina wanted to meet — Green River Bar٠B٠Que — and sat in the car for 15 minutes or so, listening to music on the radio while waiting for a text or phone call from Katrina. I finally stepped out of the car to stretch my legs and grab a smoke and happened to see the back of Katrina's head at one of the picnic tables outside the restaurant. I can't believe I recognized the back of her head, never having met her in-person, but I did, and the presence of two small children, one on each side of her confirmed who she was! I went over to her and got my first hug! 🤗 She had been at the restaurant about the same amount of time as me, and had texted me when she arrived, but the cellular service in the small town prevented the message from arriving at my phone until much later.

GreenRiver.png

In-person, Katrina is just as awesome as I expected — the lady is genuine, with the same personality online as offline. She radiates peace and positivity, and has a fabulous smile! Her children are precious and quite well-behaved, the product of gentle and careful upbringing.

Our food was served astonishingly quickly, and we were able to have a leisurely conversation over a delicious Southern BBQ dinner. Other than fond mentions of a few friends on the blockchain, we didn't discuss crypto or blogging at all, but stayed on topics such as friends, family, partners, parents, children, and life in general. It was delightful, relaxing, and fun.

There were several good teaching moments with her children, too, which I found charming and reminded me of when I was in the same situation, teaching little ones in my care. When Katrina told me, for instance, about what a "good impression" someone had made on her, one of the children immediately asked what that meant. I thought it was lovely that he was inquisitive enough to ask, wanted to learn, and that his sweet mother was happy to answer him in terms that he could understand, and did not begrudge his question in the slightest. Witnessing that was priceless.

Katrinaduo.png

I gave Katrina a silver coin I'd ordered especially for her, a tiny rainbow-quartz point, and a quartz rock that came from the highest mountain nearby. Her children got coloring books and crayons, and a ball that lights up when caught. 😁 Katrina brought me a copy of one of her books, and a couple of small crystals in an amethyst-colored bag. Thank you, sweetie! 💖

Katrina2.png

I'm not sure if Katrina realized it or not, but the quartz crystal she gave me is twinned — two crystals that fused together as they were forming! My eyes are getting so bad as I age that I did not even notice this at the restaurant, but only discovered it once I returned home and zoomed-in with my camera lens to make these photos.

Katrina3.png

Twinned crystals are not incredibly rare, but they are not so common, either. Crystals that are nearly the same size, growing together but with separate points such as these, and growing in parallel as well, are referred to as "Tantric Twins" in the world of crystal lore. Tantric Twin crystals are definitely more rare than most other types of twinned crystals.

Katrina4.png

The other crystal she gave me was a beautiful little amethyst! I erroneously told her at the time that I did not have an amethyst point, but remembered that I do have one that is heavily-laden with cacoxenite inclusions (which I still have yet to post about), but this is, indeed, my only pure-amethyst point now, and I love it! There are also pretty rainbows in it! 😊

Katrina5.png

And it is also a twinned crystal... did you notice that, too, Katrina...?

Katrina8.png

So, it was a wonderful time, visiting with the amazing @katrina-ariel and letting her take my "first-Steem-meetup cherry" 🍒

And, lastly, in honor of @enginewitty, this is to confirm that Katrina and I did a boob-smashing hug, just for you! 😁

Katrina6.png

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

!steemitworldmap 35.235778 lat -82.347647 long Pace General Store, Saluda, NC D3SCR

curlydivider.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png
08-May-2019

Sort:  

I remember the first live meeting i had with Soyrosa and the fact that you know that you are meeting someone for the first time and have the feeling of knowing them that was so weird and it free out to be a real friendship now. We even went to steemmeetup Germany. So the blockchain generates friendships too how cool. And baring gifts to friends and kids is so Nice. Sad not seeing a picture off you 4
Britt

Oh yeah I drove through some of NC last year on the 5% grades, going down in a big conversion van and laying on the brakes till they got hot lol!!! White knuckle all the way! Meet ups are always fun!

How awesome! I have had a few meetups, but a different platform. It is surreal and I am so glad you were able to experience that sweet, angel in person.

How cool to gather in a place as cool as that! Those gifts and the day was priceless.

Okay, I've got a huge smile on my face and tears in my eyes reading this. You're so amazing. I am incredibly grateful you made the trip out to meet us. Though sometimes my boys' questions are too much for me, I try to remember they just want to learn and help them do so whenever possible. As for the crystals, yes, I noticed they were twinned, but I didn't know about the Tantric Twins classification. I always learn something from you. And twins tend to show up in my life a lot. ;)

Big love for you, my friend. You are a gem, and I'm grateful to have you in my life!

Looking forward for your version too..😊. It's always good to see Steemians meeting up personally over BlockChain.....you rocks princess ..

Posted using Partiko Android

Boys and boobs... 😂🤣🤣

What a wonderful first steem meet! I have had two so far and both were great. (@thedamus took my steem meet cherry! 😂🤣😂)

Glad you and @katrina-ariel managed to make this happen!

Yes! #boobnugs!!! I had to chuckle that you recognized her from the back of her head! And those crystals are pimpin! Ahhh! Supersweet crystals too hey. So thoughtful, both of you. Bet the boys loved their lil gifts. I really like that, mmm, guessing from the makes of the vehicles, late 50's - early 60's, shot of Saluda. Reminds of a simpler time. Not that I'm that old, but ya know, I'm getting up there. 😋🤗🤗much love Kitty, glad Katrina got to pop your cherry!
totally not jealous at all

Posted using Partiko Android

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Ooo that sounds like a fun time! Very pretty crystals too. Did not know about twinned ones before, that's interesting!

What a fun time! I had a steem meetup with @quillfire, however, I have yet to post about it. Rest assured, I will one of these days. :-)

Awww how nice! I want to meet fellow steemians in NY/NJ area. 😊 I enjoyed reading your post sweety. 💕

I'll be in Philadelphia next week ......

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87