I’m Turning Into A Green Bean!

in #meme6 years ago

@papa-pepper is hosting a garden meme contest

This is my entry:

B272A5EE-1313-4542-8C9A-50BB8E435D86.jpeg

So many cucumbers!


So many green beans!


You’d think I’d be as skinny as a green bean by now...

I did go out and buy a dehydrator today though, so hopefully my garden doesn’t decide now is the time to stop producing! Oh, and how does one store dehydrated veggies anyways?

Hope you enjoyed! And if you have a garden, go ahead and make your own meme to enter!

Sort:  

I hear you! Preserving is so long winded and it last for seconds when it gets used!

Bean there! And too lazy to cook so fresh out the garden it is! Great meme @hebrewhousewife

At least I’m not the only one! Raw green beans don’t sit well with me, so I have to cook them. With some butter and a little salt..mmm

Really? Don't like the taste? Or is it gassy? I love them raw out the garden. More than cooked. Although butter and a dash of salt is yum. My favourite bean is the broad bean - not sure if you call it that in the States?

They just sit in my stomach like a rock. I bought some seeds from baker creek. These ones were called bean landreth stringless bush. They are awesome. I’m going to try preserve some of my own seeds for next year.

Oh those are yummy! A little health tip: keep digestive enzymes (get a bottle from the health store). When you eat something that you know will be a problem food then pop a digestive enzyme at the same time. I hope it works as well for you as it does for me

Thanks for the tip! I’ll keep an eye out next time I go shopping.

haha! hey there @hebrewhousewife! this is a great entry, I vote for this one!

Thanks! It’s only funny until you’re the one on the all veggie diet!

ha! yeah why would anyone want to do that? are you doing it?

It sure seems like it! Gotta use up these veggies, but I have a dehydrator now, so I can store them for winter.

howdy today @hebrewhousewife! oh so you aren't intentionally doing an all veggie diet thank God! lol. thank would be torture.

In a Ball canning jar ;-)
2 things to never do in the house in a dehydrator onions and peppers!

That’s what I was planning on. Are those oxygen absorber squares necessary?
If we would have had more onions, we were going to dehydrate onions. But I can’t believe we’re actually going to get some peppers, and we were planning on making powder out of those!

I don't use the o2 absorbents, just make sure they are really dry. I do vacuum seal the jars. Don't forget to dehydrate some garlic...

I saw someone else use a vacuum jar sealer too. I think I will invest in one of those!

Nice...Good Luck!!!!

Thanks! Are thinking of entering?

I make my own probiotics with the excess stuff from my garden. If I still have too much I put it on a table in front of my house with a "free" sign on it.

By making probiotics, do you mean fermenting them? If I lived in town, the free sign would be a good idea!

Yes, fermenting 5-7 days at room temp. Just cut up the veggies and stuff into a clean (sterilizing not necessary) ball jar and top off with brine (1.5 teaspoons Kosher salt dissolved in one cup bottled or filtered water). Place something on top to keep food submerged in brine (I use a glass disk). Loosely screw on lid to let pressure release. Once fermented place in 40 deg F refrigerator. Will keep for months. Lots of recipes and tips online.

I tried fermenting carrots that way for 5 days. That is an acquired taste! I saw later that you could eat them after just 2 days. I may give that a try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37