The American Meme on Netflix (a short review)

in #meme5 years ago (edited)

A friend of mine recommended me the series The American Meme on Netflix a few days ago. Yesterday, I got the chance to watch it, and it was interesting to see and understand more about the incredible industry behind influencers online.

It all started with Paris Hilton who built a massive crowd of people around herself online. She posted pictures, she built a network of people, she got followers, and she communicated and fed their need for news, pictures, videos, and other content online. She is very active also in this film lasting 80 minutes on Netflix, and we get to understand more about her, and the relationship she has to social media.

the american meme on netflix.jpg

She is very happy about how Social Media has made people able to create their own lives online and to share whatever is on their mind. In fact, she calls her followers her family, and she is really happy about having them there.

But, in The American Meme, we do not only meet Paris Hilton. We meet other social media influencers, first of all, Instagram influencers, with everything from 500,000 to more than 10,000,000 followers. We get to know more about what they have done to get that far, and what they need to do to keep it up. I have got to say, some of these people are paying with their body to get that amount of followers (in other words, they frequently post pictures of themselves with very little clothes or no clothes at all), while others are more funny characters doing crazy stunts, showing up with clothes that gives them a lot of attention, or making fun of celebrities and their recent deeds.

The main influencers that are featured in this movie on Netflix besides Paris Hilton are Josh Ostrovsky, Kirill Bichutsky, Brittany Furlan, Hailey Baldwin, DJ Khaled, Emily Ratajkowski and Dane Cook.

The film has been on Netflix since December 2018, and it is considered a Netflix original production. It has received great critics on Rotten Tomatoes, while the IMDb audience is a bit more hesitant of giving it too great scores.

What do I think about The American Meme?


I am out there blogging and writing a lot myself, but I am not that much into Instagram and the "showing myself online stuff." I don't mind people doing it, actually I find it quite interesting, but The American Meme gave an awesome way of looking into this world and understanding more of what it is about. There is quite a lot of nudity and so in the program, so it is not suitable for a very young audience, but if you are a bit older, this will give you a lot of insight in this industry and what it is about.

I am not sure if it scaring people away from trying to become a social media influencer or not, but it for sure shows that there is a price to be paid if you want to be one of the hot-shots out there on the market. Personally, I wouldn't want to be an influencer like that, by always having to come up with something new and often show even more of myself than I would be willing to. Instead, there is something that is being an influencer by sharing something, giving something, or producing something that people would be interested in, without compromising your own life, health, personality, or personal life. Now, that is more like what I would want to do.

But, I guess there are millions of people who would be willing to do almost anything to get 1 million Instagram followers, including compromising their own morals and values.

I do not judge the people who become super-stars online, I am just saying that I wouldn't be willing to pay a price like some of those people have. Still, The American Meme was a super-interesting film to watch, and I am really glad I did. There is a lot to learn from it, and I would give it a very high score and recommend it to other people who are interested in the online world of super-stars and influencers.

You can watch The American Meme in all Netflix regions worldwide, so go ahead and watch it if you have the time.

Have you seen it already? How did you like The American Meme? I would love to hear your thoughts.

Yesterday, I wrote an article about whether or not it is fair of Netflix to block VPN users from their streaming service? Have you read that article yet? I would love to hear your thoughts on the topic! If you want to know more about which VPN providers are the best with Netflix click the link for more information on that topic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17