Meme challenge #113 - Entry #1

My entry in this week's memchallenge:

shaving2.jpg

is a response to the Gillette youtube commercial:

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

image (1) from pixabay.com

👍

ouzo and out,

@onceuponatime
There is a plan!
https://web.telegram.org/#/im?p=@officialbeos

Sort:  

This is actually the first time I have actually seen that commercial, which I suppose speaks to just how much I tend to be out of the loop of "popular" culture. It never ceases to amaze me how many storms happen in teacups... methinks they all protesteth far too much. Seems to me both the "snowflakes" and the "toxic men"are out there just trolling for something to get offended by...

But cool meme, though...

I wouldn't pay any attention at all to popular culture were it not for the fact that I feel compelled to try and analyze what appears to be a concerted effort on the part of very sophisticated propagandists/manipulators/advertisers to mold public perception and the consensus paradigm. I do not care to live under the control system they hope to put in place once public sentiment acquiesces to, nay, demands, them after it has succumbed to the psychological warfare.

A tempest in a teacup? I hope you are right and I am wrong. But having researched Edward Bernays, the Tavistock Institute, and studies on psychological warfare, I don't think so.

Perhaps you're familiar with the Tavsistock Institute?

Oh yes, I'm familiar with both Tavistock and Bernays; always found it suspect that Tavistock was funded by the Rockefeller dynasty....

I haven't studied a lot when it comes to actual psychological warfare, but am well familiar with the notion of causing misdirection by getting a (focus) group of people to get fired up over minutiae so they forget to look at the greater trend they are being swept along with. My dad was a bit of a "closet conspiracy theorist" as well as a skeptic of many things... and even though he was a mixed bag as a human being, I always felt he left me with a couple of useful lessons for life: (A) follow the money and (B) If you don't see a trend/pattern, keep back out till you do.

I suspect you are right... and the thing I find most disturbing isn't individual incidents like an ad or a kid in a MAGA hat, but the underlying issue that people not only don't think critically, but school no longer teach critical thinking because the powers-that-be do not want people to be able to engage in critical analysis of a situation, and form independent opinions.

Interesting that this guy's video was taken down from Facebook, youtube, zerohedge and his accounts terminated. Thank goodness the DTube link still works!
https://steemit.com/dtube/@raginghumanist/o5focxke

DTube is an increasingly important resource for keeping accurate records of filmed events. I noticed when the New Zealand shootings happened, the perpetrator's livestream was almost instantly on DTube. The Original YT stream could barely have been "dry" before someone put a copy on DTube.

I find it ironic that "they" allowed the Internet to happen because they would be able to infiltrate every single indvidual on the planet, but completely forgot that every single individual on the planet now has their own potential broadcast channel.

It's getting interesting :-)

Hah, this is a good one @onceuponatime You know I still have NOT watched that commercial. When it first came out and the interwebs was all abuzz about it, I though "NO" I just don't want to engage, even to be surprised yet again how irrational the human animal is. You almost got me here as I clicked the video and realized it was the commercial and and stopped it quick.

Not watching tv nor commercials (except when I want to watch old ones for fun) I often here of these things, but try not to 'go into deep.'

Good meme though :)

If you are not somewhat of an unconnected hermit, you see a commercial many, many times a day (the T.V. on in most fast food places, airports, etc., magazines, billboards as you drive along, the overhead ads in the buses and subways as you avert your eyes from looking at other passengers, radio, other peoples' shopping bags, etc. etc. etc.

I think it is best to take an occasional conscious sampling and analyze it to see what the manipulators are force feeding our subconsciouses.

I also read books on psychological warfare :-)

I am DEF a self imposed hermit. We don't have cable hooked to TV (just an old computer for when we want to use internet on it or watch movies of our choice) I live pretty secluded and when I travel, which isn't often, I try to be isolated as well.

I hate fast food and chain restaurants or 'bars' with tv's in. Again I'm somewhat of a hermit :)

I suppose it's good to see what is going on 'out there' :)

It is an absolute necessity for a hermit like you (and me) to keep our fingers on the pulse of what's going on out there. We need to be able to relocate our hermitages when the mob starts heading our way. The more lead time, the better :-)

That damn monkey propaganda designed to program our minds. Here's one monkey that can think for himself. Lol. Thanks for sharing.

I hope that I am another monkey who can think for myself!

Hahaha! Then you could make your own stone blade instead!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Only people get stoned, not blades :-)

Hahaha nailed it! 😂👌

It was a natural!

Oh the Gillette commercial!! Still causing waves!

And contest entries :-)

Hehe. It did have a use.

Did he use a mirror to shave? what shaving foam did he use? :-)))

I don't know about the foam, but the aftershave was ouzo.

Very good choice and now I understand why he has that smile... :)

@onceuponatime, Fun to watch this brother. But nowadays No Shaving became trend and many are adopting the challenge of not shaving the Beard. Ha ha 😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Probably many of them saw the commercial then stopped shaving!

LOL! I have to send this to my step-son, he said basically the same thing after watching that commercial!!

Oh, he is :)

2018-01-01 03.10.51.jpg

I sent him the meme and he said "HE knows my pain!!"
lol!

Hahahahaha. This is the first time I am seeing it though and just watched it too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30