Memorial Day Mentions

in #memorialday6 years ago

As you all know, today is Memorial Day in the USA. It's a day where we celebrate and remember those who gave their all for their country. I would like to give a shout out to those I know who had served, as well as currently serving, who are still alive today. This extends beyond the USA. I respect those who willingly offer their time, or even their lives, for their homeland.

divider.png

1. My grandfather


He was a lieutenant colonel in the ROC (Republic of China, aka Taiwan) Airforce. He saw the devastation of his hometown and his country in World War II as a teenage boy. He fought in the Chinese Civil War and later participated in Vietnam War until he retired from the armed forces in his mid-50s. His life was a life of conflicts. However, he's always been humble about it because he regards his own father and father-in-law, who fought bravely and brutally against the Japanese through guerilla warfare in World War II as greater warriors than him.

2. My uncle


He was a lieutenant colonel in the ROC Army. While he did not fight on the frontlines, he was one of the nuclear engineers raised for military purposes by the government. I would describe his experience as something more covert with more internal struggles, like spies and informants, etc. I guess you could say he saw the wars that raged in the shadows. These days, he is spending his time as an engineering professor in China.

3. My cousin Jonathan


Here's my favorite marine! He is currently a corporal when we chatted recently. He hopes to attain the rank of sergeant in the near future. It is funny to think my nerdy, techy, and goofy cousin is a tough mofo who made it into the Marine Corps. When I say nerdy, he is just a lover of physics, especially in the aerospace sciences.

4. My coworker Sam


"Sergeant Sam" had a few tours in Afghanistan. She is also one of the sweetest persons I have ever met. At times, I forget she is a fearsome warrior as well as a responsible leader. She gives her 100% on the field and on the job. The Army should be proud of her. Even though she is Caucasian, the Mulan imagery often passes through my mind when I want to describe her.

5. My coworker Chelsea


I actually do not know her rank in the Air Force. I feel ashamed. While she has not served in the frontlines, her discipline pushed her into leadership in the labs. She's a great friend. In fact, she has helped me many times throughout my life since 2016. I can relate to her because we have had similar journeys in life, minus the involvement in the military. It does sadden me a bit that she is leaving for greener pastures in the form of a different employment soon.

divider.png

Remember those who served, regardless of nationality, for they offered themselves to their homeland.

Happy Memorial Day!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Leonis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You just planted 0.22 tree(s)!


Thanks to @enforcer48

We have planted already 4425.62 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22938.78
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

You just planted 0.22 tree(s)!


Thanks to @enforcer48

We have planted already 4425.62 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 22938.78
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83