A friend and an enemy

in #memories5 years ago (edited)


source

When I finished my National Service I was working for a local company wholesaling and distributing fiberglass raw materials. It wasn't long though before I was offered a position with Rothmans , a cigarette company.

We had a white sales team and a black sales team targeting different markets. I know these were apartheid days and this is how it worked. We knew no different as that was how it was in those days.I got on well with the black guys and treated them like anyone else. Not everyone did though, especially certain older members of the staff.

There was one guy called Phillip who was black and on the rural sales team who traveled into the
outlying areas. He was well educated and spoke differently to the other guys in his team. He was adopted by a white couple and was educated at a private school. In those days blacks weren't allowed to attend government schools and had to go to private schools. Thankfully that has changed today.

It must have been hard for him as you couldn't just do what you wanted. In some areas you had to carry identification as you weren't allowed there after a certain time. If you were stopped you had better have a good reason otherwise you would be locked up. The police were mainly Afrikaans then and felt their country was slipping from their grasp. They didn't listen to common sense and were sometimes fairly brutal in dishing out punishment.

I knew Phillip for two years before I immigrated back to England. I had done two army camps reluctantly and had worn my uniform around the office regularly. When I left we had a farewell party for me and he wanted to tell me something ,but just couldn't do it.

Fast forward 11 years and I have returned back to South Africa and a chance meeting I ran into Phillip in a shopping center. We hit it off like we had seen each other every day and no time had passed. We went out for drinks and this is where he told me he was a soldier in the ANC army called Umkhonto we Sizwe. He had been the enemy I was supposed to be fighting and was classified as a terrorist.

I can recall asking him what he thought of me seeing me in my army uniform knowing I was his enemy. I wore the special forces badge and was top of the ANC hit list. If there was a plum easy target it would have been me surely. He told me he knew I wasn't like the others and I was no racist and that is why we got on so well. He saw me for who I was and knew I wasn't a threat.
logo_gov_new_0.png
source

I was offered a business opportunity with Phillip and his friends back in 2005 and it involved government tenders. They told me a chap called Zuma will one day be President and it was ripe for the picking. Zuma was already climbing the ranks and was powerful in the Natal province.This group was guaranteed tenders as they had all been long term members of the ANC party and involved with the military wing they wanted me to help them secure the contracts. They wanted me to negotiate with the companies and they would do the rest.

I must admit it was tempting , but I turned them down. It didn't make sense to me how they could supply fuel to Government departments when they had no fuel to sell. The way it worked was you set up a company and get a price from a fuel company like BP or Shell and add a mark up. You don't touch it your self but get the business because of who you are. This didn't make sense to me at the time as I thought a tender went to the lowest price.

Seeing what has happened since with the corruption I am glad I rejected it as I could have been deep in it if I had said yes. I sometimes wonder what would have happened if I joined this group and how much money they printed. The last time I saw Phillip he told me they were supplying toilet paper to the prison services.I haven't seen him for years and still regard him as a friend and wish him well.

Sort:  

It seems a lack of perception is often the real threat...

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Wow, that is really interesting. Isn't it funny how political wars are. It is very easy to forget the actual people that are involved in the wars when the countries are so focused on the general us vs them.

This is interesting and thought-provoking. Governments try to divide people by stirring up tensions around race, class or even whether you support the EU or not! This takes our attention away from their corruption. It's great that you and Phillip had the sense to rise above this.
Exactly the same goes on in the UK, only our politicians are a bit sneakier about it. They use speechwriters and voice coaches to make their words sound ethical and sincere while they loot the coffers, often using quite complex strategies.
I used to be a very active member of Toastmasters, the international public speaking club, and I remember watching a very interesting presentation from a man who was a professional speechwriter for several powerful politicians!

Hi, @cryptoandcoffee!

You just got a 6.98% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I like hearing about life in South African before and after apartheid. I went to the apartheid museum in capetown while I was there and I wanted to learn more about the history. That film invictus outlined some of the divide between the people but I like hearing it from a white guy who lived there

I haven't really spoken about it really. If you want I can do some posts explaining what it was like. There were huge differences and there were many rules.

yeah sounds interesting alright.

You got a 11.34% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @cryptoandcoffee! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83