Long Term Investments Besides Trees & Land | Menē 24K Gold

in #mene6 years ago (edited)

Over the past few years I've been widening my scopes as far as investments are concerned. As someone with an ecological consciousness, my main investments for my future (and for the next 7 generations) is to care for the land through tending a small plot of earth. Through our blogs you know we are planting fruit & nut trees which will provide into the future, berries and perennial vegetables, know our neighbors and barter, and have zero debt. Yet we could be doing more.

A few years ago a friend of ours recommended "Rich Dad Poor Dad", the book by Robert Kiyosaki that is all about financial literacy and playing the financial game a bit differently and with more smarts. It invited me to think about passive income and what true assets are (as opposed to liabilities). Many of us aren't given much financial literacy though financial matters likely touch each day of our lives and his book was a wake up call for me.

Another way to do this is to invest in gold and silver and the other day in a post by @indigoocean, she mentioned investment jewelry, specifically Menē.

menemain.jpg
My first investment

After a bit of research I was very intrigued and I ordered my first piece!

A bit about Menē

You may be asking why a back to the lander like me is interested in investment jewelry. I don't wear much jewelry, it's true. Most of the time I see it as a liability of sorts or a somewhat useless adornment- especially the expensive stuff. I have a habit of losing one earring out of a set of two and I definitely cannot wear bracelets, rings or anklets given my profession of digging in the dirt each day. Yet when I started researching I was "sold" on the concept of their 24K gold jewelry.

box.jpg
Arrived in this cute little packaging

Here's Why

While most jewelry in the West is not pure gold (we are told it is too soft) and has added alloys making it (18K or 14K), jewelry worn in China and India, respectively, is usually 22 or 24K gold. They follow the same pricing structure that Menē does which is as follows:

(Purity of Gold x Weight of Gold x Daily Gold Value) + 7–10% markup for design

In this article, one of Menē's founders, Roy Sebag, says,

Pure gold jewelry, as practiced in the East, was the only true gold standard.

Jewelry in the East today remains consistent with the ancient tradition dating back 10,000 years: Jewelry as a vehicle for gold ownership, a store of enduring value that enables humans to measure, store, and transport an earned surplus of savings generated through cooperation with fellow man.


Being a student of anthropology, I have been trained to realize that just because my culture of birth says a thing is impossible or impractical, doesn't mean that this is what the consensus is all over the world. It doesn't make it true. We are told in the West that 24K jewelry simply doesn't exist, yet when we look at the historical record and present day consensus in the East we see a vastly different story!

1_fEOg8mflTomONglQDv6EEg.png
A sampling of ancient pure 24 karat gold jewelry dating 7000BC to 1000AD. Photo from the above mentioned article.

He goes on to contrast this with the current jewelry culture in the West saying,

Today, the average jewelry item in the West has 90% subjective value attributed to gems and design and merely 10% pure gold value, the result of which is that most Western jewelry becomes worthless almost immediately after purchase. Taking that same example: A western jewelry buyer will spend $1,000 buying a ring that has at best $100 intrinsic gold value.


This really stuck out to me- a 24K gold jewelry item doesn't lose its inherent value! While the subjective price of a piece of a Western jewelry is affected by its brand, design, age, and of course constituents (metal, stone, etc), jewelry that is 24K gold is basically a pure investment (besides the markup by the artisan.)

cert.jpg

Essentially when you choose a 24K piece, you're wearing a raw investment. $100 here, $300 there and you can weigh it, look at the current per gram price of gold and know roughly what it's worth. It's an investment you can wear and enjoy! This is much more appealing to me than hoarding gold and silver coins or bars, haha!


My First Investment

necklace.jpg

Today in the mail my first investment arrived. It is a 24K gold necklace! I am sure I won't wear it every day as I do have quite a rough lifestyle, but it's good to know its weight and also that the price of gold is currently down. The value of this item is almost surely to go up!

package.jpg


If you would like to sign up for Menē, you can use my referral code and get $5 off (I get $5 too!)

I am not sure "how into this" I will get. I can get obsessive about researching things, but I am excited to have my first piece of "investment jewelry" that will shine and retain value throughout time. I'm also excited to see how it feels to wear pure gold jewelry, an act dating back to antiquity!

I may have to get some charms and/or a pendant to wear on my chain :)

And for the record, I still trust fruit and nut trees in the ground and clean water a bit more, but it's all about diversification! ;)

mountainjewelbanner.jpg

And if you're worried about where this gold is sourced (I was too), here is their blurb on it:

Menē jewelry is crafted from pure gold that is ethically sourced from gold mines in Nevada, USA and Ontario, Canada. Our gold carries the coveted London Bullion Market’s Responsible Sourcing Certification.

Additionally, we only source metals mined by publicly traded precious metal miners who are held accountable to stricter environmental best-practices. We specifically audit these mines to ensure there is little disturbance, minimal impact to local communities, and a reclamation plan that ensures former gold mines will be terraformed back to nature within two decades or less. This video shows an example of the types of mines we feel comfortable sourcing from.

Sort:  

Nice unboxing tour! My Mene just arrived yesterday. It really is quite beautiful a way to invest, isn't it? It's good to have fallbacks for our fallbacks and know that we are prepared for whatever comes.

My thing is working on the self-supporting land part! I love seeing how you two have done that.

thanks! i'm excited to see what you got! it's a whole new world for me :) you'll get to land part soon i'm sure <3

I’m looking forward to your unboxing too !:)

Fascinating that we even attach such prices to stuff that comes from the ground. It struck me I've not seen you dressed up yet, mountain dirt plant girl. Little black dress with gold necklace? 👩‍🌾

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah! but we always have and likely always will lol which makes it a good investment. oh well i do like to get dressed up occasionally but usually don't take pics! maybe i'll this dirt girl will have to shine up, put on a dress and my little necklace and go out on the town! maybe when i'm in florida in a few weeks! <3

My one bit of sparkle was a silver bracelet set with diamonds and dark blue sapphires that I got from my Grandma as a wedding present. Unfortunately it was stolen by a guest during a house party. I try not to cry about it. Attachments and all of that. But it does made me sad. It was worth more to me as a sentiment than it's value, which was a fair bit too!

oh i think i've heard you mention that before! sorry to hear it was stolen! have any old photos of you wearing it? i am a huge heirloom fan as well...

No, only at my wedding! I was so upset because she gave it to Mum to take to England with her when my folks came over for my wedding. I was so touched. And I know who was responsible for taking it but I can't come out and accuse them.

😰bummer!!! You have the memory but not the thing itself. Our attachments.... and I totally get it! Hey when are u doing Vipassana? Ini and I signed up (there’s a waitlist) for one in December! Hopeful!

Wow!! Gonna go do it today, end of Dec/early Jan. I do 'know' someone so might be able to get in. Otherwise I have bags packed anyway and wait for the call as there are always last minute drop outs. Amazing!!

cool!! <3 <3 <3

Congrats on your first Mene purchase. Be careful or you will get hooked like me!😜

hehehe! thanks! i may already be hooked- oh no ;) lol i don't think it's hard to....

Sounds like catching the goldbug maybe haha

Whoa! How did I miss this?? This is great :) Please feel free to bring my attention to any future Mene content !! Resteemed

thanks!! it's my first mene post, but i'm sure it wont be my last :) thanks for the resteem!

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.684 which ranks you at #1510 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1508).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17