Life Is About Showing Mercy. IV, Contributed by @Olawalium

in #mercy6 years ago

Continued...

My dry cleaner is another. A few times she has messed up my clothes which I told her not to bother. Mercy! I could have asked her to get me another, but no. When mercy is in our capacity to give, we should never hold it back. Many times she actually delayed my clothes. I would get angry and promised never to patronize her again, but then she would come around, beg, and I would end up packing more for her. Mercy.

When I knew she started delaying clothes, I made sure clothes I wouldn’t need urgently, I would give them to her, but the ones I would need quickly, I would let her know or I do it myself. Often times I let her know the important ones, she still messed up. I got used to not letting her terrible time management affect me anymore, so I showed her mercy even before she would do anything. I forgive her in advance and I look for good alternatives on what to wear when she erred. Mercy!


500_F_131947161_zrVzv8kWPSoyNjdACrAmsQTubiB16prv.jpg


These situations are so annoying and they could make us change our mind easily and we would be well within our rights to do that, but then, life is about showing mercy. Forget the fact that they did it intentionally. Forget the fact that they would repeat it or they are not getting better. Forget the fact that they don’t deserve it, we need to show more mercy to people in life because it makes things easier for us, and also for them.

My “popsicles” hahaha, gave three sets of new materials to her tailor and she promised to deliver on time and also do them well. In Lagos, they charge you higher than where I stay, so when she told me how much she paid, I just took it in stride. Haha. The lady delivered it only a day to the day she would need them and she did arrant nonsense. She messed everything up and she didn’t use her initiative at all. She told me she would dump the clothes with her and tell her she doesn’t need them anymore. I kept quiet. It is still hot, so now is not the time to advise her otherwise.

After a few minutes, she got angrier and told me she would tell her to get her new materials and sew it. Even if she wouldn’t wear it for the events she needed them for, she would make her suffer for it by getting her new materials. Mercy rang in my head!


pexels-photo-627537.jpg


The next day, she told me she packed the clothes already and she is amending it and even with that, the clothes were in terrible state and she can’t wear them again. Ouch. The good thing is, she never asked for a refund or new materials again, I would only need to ask her if she still wants to patronize the lady again.

Mercy is needed in our day to day activities. If you have children, you would understand better. I don’t have, yet but I do see many of these children test their parents to the limit and they still grab them around their arms and play with them. We need to treat everyone as we would a little kid. Mercy is the language we need to speak more often. Life is about showing mercy after all.

Thank you for your time.

Source: 1


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

Excellent lesson, we can not live if mercy

Mercy is needed. We are even alive by God's mercy, not by anything we have done right.

Thanks a lot dear friend. We get better everyday and we should never desist from doing good.

Congratulations @communitycoin! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79