One Good Deed - A microfiction story for @jaynasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #microfiction5 years ago

fl0i6p0pw0.jpg
source

8z5f1lbvxk.png

One Good Deed

Dreaded shopping day. Needing more that I can afford. Then the dilemma - what to do without?

First, the produce aisle, looking for bargains. I start there because I’m trying to be healthy for my family.

Next, the meat aisle; everything is so expensive. With a pound of hamburger in my cart, I head for the clothing department. Jake’s shoes are falling off his feet. He has grown so much since school started.

An elderly man is standing at the end of the aisle looking at me. “Why so sad, young miss?”

I picked up another pair to check the price. “Just my usual shopping day woes. My son needs new shoes, and I can’t seem to find any I can afford. But thank you for asking.”

I turned to give the man a smile for his thoughtfulness. I noticed that he leaned on a cane and had a pronounced bend in his back. “And how are you doing today?”

He grimaced. “Some days are better than others; today, not so good. I’m a on a fixed income myself, so I understand. Maybe this will help; it’s a chance anyway.”

The man pulled a rumpled scratch-off lottery ticket out of his wallet and handed it to me. “I got this in a birthday card from my nephew.”

“Awwww, how sweet! If it’s a winner, I’ll split it with you.” I scratched off the numbers and could only stare open mouthed at the ticket.

$100,000 winner!

blueeyes8960.gif


[credit@EdibleCthulhu]


99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Aww.. that is such a sweet, short story. I wish someone would give me a scratch and win ticket of $100,000!

Well, I guess it's all right to dream and fantasize, once in a while.

I'm sure I could buy 100 scratch offs and not win $5! But yes I like how the story turned out, such a thing is possible. Thanks for reading and commenting!

I can relate to that. I don't think I have gambling luck either. :-)

sharing is caring🐲🐉💗 what a super kind of giving you found in the store!!! Im sorry your having a icky time with finances.. Early on i did stockpile food, whne it was on sales, so all i hade to buy was milk products, that helped us :)
Now congrats on the win :D i hope you shared it with him🐲🐉💗🐲🐉💗

This was just fiction, I wouldn't want to be in her financial shoes, but "in the story" I'm very happy that a good thing happened to them, and yes, she definitely would split the winnings with her benefactor.

I guess your writing is so realistic, it's hard to tell that it's fictional! :-) Nicely done, @blueeyes8960.

That's a good thing, right? 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Aw OK ok😂 then slam dunk on your text, i thought IT was you😉😜😂😀😀😀💗🐲🐉


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Rare sweet little story, it's not like people produce these commonly these days...they don't contribute to one's total sugar intake per day, where can I find more of them? 😂

I wonder what will they do with the extra cash...it isn't going to be a long lasting solution for them. How can they improve their situation with this amount of money?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03