My 100th Post to the Steem Blockchain!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #milestone5 years ago

It's been pretty cool so far, but I'm just getting started!

Looking back, I've come a lot farther with Steem than any other social medium. I actually want to make posts and I find pretty interesting content. I feel like it's pretty safe to say that by this time I'm hooked. That's not even a downside either! I get paid a little bit for my activity, and the Resource Credit system really keeps me from going overboard when I get on a streak. I still have yet to bank my profits from account creation, even if I have made ~5 times what I spent. I guess I could power down the sell back into BTC, but I'm just going to keep it rolling for now. No rush.

Overall I think that even though this system is imperfect, like all are doomed to be, it's a lot more agreeable to me than the big name alternatives out there. Virtually no one sees any of the value of their own Facebook content for instance, and the company will violate your privacy for profit at the drop of a hat. Not to mention corporate censorship, third party developers running amok with our data, further befouling already scummy political processes, and a whole host of other problems. I know most people are wholly unconcerned about this sort of thing, but not I.

That's not to say that Steem doesn't have it's own problems. The tyranny and market manipulation of whales, the ongoing drama with the direction of Steemit Inc, and the many-headed hydra of abuse on this platform are just some of the pressing challenges we face here. There will have to come about at least functional responses, if not outright solutions, to these problems and more if we want Steem to thrive. If I can be tempted to hope, maybe the social media incumbents can be dethroned if we really address the issues here. It's still very early on for Steem, and if the much quoted "most transacted blockchain in the world" is actually true then Steem has come quite a way and has had a successful start.

Just Like Me!

I've had a ton of fun here and learned a lot too. Granted, much of that learning has been about cryptocurrency and blockchain tech, but slowly and steadily more varied and rich content is oozing it's way through our network and into my waiting eyeballs. It's marvelous to see unfold. 

Here's to the future! Hopefully we survive climate change, we don't get MAD, superbugs don't wipe us out, etc. etc.

Much luck out there!

Thanks for Reading!

I want to take a few extra letters this time to thank all of you ( even the bots ;p ) out there who read, comment on, resteem, and upvote my content as well as making content to which I do the same. Not to get sappy on this <sarcasm>unquestionably important, momentous occasion</sarcasm> but without all of you this whole exercise would be empty, boring, and utterly fruitless. It's an engaging, valuable thing we've got going here, lets keep it up!

Go Steem!
Sort:  

Dear @a-non-e-moose

it's really great to have you around buddy :)

Virtually no one sees any of the value of their own Facebook content for instance

You nailed it! That's very true.

ps.
I just realized that you have very little SP. Would you like me to help you and delegate 40SP for ... let's say as long as I can?

Cheers
Piotr

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Leonis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow thanks! Good to see some support for the little guys.

If this will even be read by a human anyway :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85