15,000 FOLLOWERS!!!! WOOT WOOT!! (Sounds of Steem today in 30 min)

in #milestone6 years ago

Whew! What a fun one and a half years on the platform. I went from literally not knowing anyone, not having a cent in crypto, not having ever hosted my own programs or manged a github account/process, and look at me now! I have 15,000 followers! I founded a Discord group with (we think) just over 12,000 Steemians in it. We started a streaming internet broadcast station. We have programs that help people, have incubated and launched a few communities, and we're getting close to having 100,000SP on the @minnowsupport account again.

I know milestone posts can sometimes be just too spammy and celebratory, but I like to use them to reflect on life too. I'm extremely grateful for the opportunities this platform provides me. I really love this community. The moderators in the Minnow Support Group are like family. Hopefully I'll meet them in person soon. The other top 20 witnesses are really smart people. There are so many creative geniuses and programmers. Nearly every week we're seeing a new thing for the Steem ecosystem. We're not just growing. We're booming! I love it.

Muh Brain!

I have to consume information. I see it in my oldest kid too. There's not enough information on the internet for me. I have to fill my brain every day with media, data, and reports. I'm just wired like that. Hopefully as I've been poking around and experimenting on this platform the folks that do follow me feel like they get some benefit of that. I try to take a significant portion of my writing time to help guide other users.

I want you guys to find success faster than I was able to do it by building tools and communities to help you!

Muh Heart!

I know I repeat the story a lot, but it really changed my life. I wasn't getting far on the platform and I don't think my writing was working well. So, I tried to find someone to emulate. That person was @kaylinart. Though we don't write about the same things I learned a lot about how to formulate a readable post from her. I wrote a post about how she wrote and she was kind enough to resteem it. So did @fyrstikken.

Since that day I've had what I'd consider a meteoric rise on the Steem blockchain. And more than anything else I'm committed to helping other people find success here too. I try to delegate nearly all my witness rewards. I try to manage PALnet, MSP-Waves, and MSP to the best of my ability. I try to live my life by the mission of the Minnow Support Group: spread the values of Peace, Abundance, help grow the Steem ecosystem, and train and retain minnows on the platform. I see this as a service, an honor, a mission, and a way to give back for all I've been given.

In my head the way I track success of the work I'm doing is "how long is it taking active members to hit 5,000 SP starting from scratch?" A slightly better metric might be "how long is it taking them to hit $5000?" We got some folks that have hit $30,000 in 8 months working part time. I think that's a success!!

For me the answer was over 8 months. I think I hit 1,000 followers at the 8 month line and had $5000 closer to 10 months into my time on the Steem blockchain.

It's been a hell of a ride!

I'm over 5,000 posts! That's a lot of comments, but man... that's a lot of freaking posts. There aren't that many high rep accounts that post brand new content multiple times a day. I don't think any of the other witnesses do it. I think I'm the only professional blogger in the top 20 really. But I love writing. I love short stories. I finding data and telling a story about it.

I made up my mind that I wanted to

A Town

I gave myself the moniker Minnow Mayor when we hit a few thousand people in the Discord channel. I gotta say. I never envisioned this many people coming along for the ride. I know we have a large number of folks that come in and use the @minnowsupport account and then leave, but we also have a bunch of people listening to shows, talking in chat, organizing meetups, and so much more. I literally founded the equivalent of an internet town and it's rather quickly becoming an internet city!

PALnet is still growing by just under 1000 people a week or so. @discordiant hasn't released official numbers yet this week, but it's roughly that, and as the prices spike again I think we'll see an even faster rate of growth. Yes we're going to get more than 1000 a week very shortly!

Sounds of Steem

Tons of musicians lined up for today's "Sounds of Steem" please come attend!

https://discord.gg/dpGVBcy

Sort:  

All those numbers are going to get real big, real quick.
Hit the top of TRENDING on a day we add 100,000 users; that's a lot of eyeballs.

Muh team and muh success is our success! Thanks aggy and congrats!

Hey nice. Feels like just the other day I read a post that you'd hit 5000. Or 6000. Maybe it was both...

BUT, I'm pretty sure that of your 15,185 followers, I'm the only one that made you a sex and wine God. 👊😎 🍷

This will be huge! I can't wait till the desktop wallets and apps hit the market.success is our success! Thanks aggy and congrats!

@aggroed

Reading this just gave me the needed motivation to go right on. As newbies, we are often faced with the dilemma of jumping out of the ship or continuing thereon frustrated and uncertain. When I joined the Steemit community some few days back, one of the first users I saw regularly on my feed was @aggroed. I was immediately arrested by your superlative performances visible enough in your posts. And instantly, I wanted to be like you. But little did I know that the journey took a year and a half! And so I have had my fair share of discouragements here and there and in some cases, I almost nearly gave up.

Reading this piece has only taught me a lesson: hard work and consistency pays. Success doesn't always happen overnight. But doggedness and a 'ne'er give up' attitude will open up doors of success over time.

What more can I say? You are a model worth having. I have read the testimonies, though not every single one of them. I see you are doing quite a lot for the Steemit community. That is selflessness and something I want to personally be involved in when I work hard enough to be at your level.

Congratulations!
You deserve it!

I wanted to write my own reply. But you wrote the words I would have used much faster :)

Thanks @williamshenry, and thank you @aggroed.

Your journey on steemit is an inspiring one. Am sharing your story with some of my pals here in Uganda. They are convinced with what you have said. You were just like many of us here a year ago. And now with hard worAll those numbers are going to get real big, real quick.k and dedication, you've reached much greater heights. We shall stick to this message to get ourselves in your footsteps. We are grateful @aggroed. We your 15000 followers are very much happy to say thankyou. And congratulations for hitting a new land mark
Your unending support to the steemit community on discord has given many users an audience.

Some growth isn't it!!
I have been impressed since Day 1. Or at least since Day 9, as I joined PALnet on the 9th of June. :)

Muh brain and heart think you are doing an amazing job!

@aggroed I believe you were the first person I followed! Immediately got a sense of knowing you from your writing.

Congratulations, you obviously deserve it 🍻 to many more contributions!

First of all a big Congrats @aggroed as you got a huge numbers of followers in just one and half years, Wow <3

Since i joined the steemit i followed you and every time you gave some thing new and innovative to learn about life. I started my journey from no where to at least somewhere just through the guidance of Authors like you. There is one commonality among us that we both are Peace Lovers my spiritual brother. You are doing really great at your end to make this place, a place of love and affection , BRAVO :)

Heartiest congratulations much respected man! On this happy occasion of achieving milestone of over 15k followers, you deserve appreciation. You have put heart and soul over so many moons to make your cause worthy and successful.

Your initiatives like @minnowsupport projects are beyond ordinary boundaries. You are really guiding, mentoring and helping the minnows to get most out of their abilities. The positive attitude and rewarding nature has lifted many from darkness to limelight.

I am grateful to you for your commitment to do good to the people and and lift them on this growing platform.

congratulations @aggroed, wishing you every success in the future.
What you are doing for my fellow minnows is amazing. It is amazing what can be achieved on this platform with some hard work and determination, but ultimately it is the followers and the contacts you make here which ultimately determines success.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73