Milestone: My First Peer To Peer Trade On Steemit :)

in #milestone5 years ago

A few days ago I saw @mcoinz79 post looking for someone to trade STEEM for Fiat with anyoene who was willing to give it shot - https://steemit.com/@mcoinz79/paypal-for-steem-bpzpyzac

I thought it sounded like a fun little experiment since I've never done a trustless peer to peer trade over the internet and well I do have faith in steemians to be above board.

2ct86qv11d.png

I'd never done a peer to peer trade before, I have sent cryptocurrency to loved ones in other countries before but well you know the person and you not expecting anything in return so this was a bit of a change for me.

I can't say I was really nervous, I was more amped just to see if it would all work out and I was willing to wager 100 steem on it.

We agreed on $55 for a 100 STEEM

maawq4r7xw.png

  • True to his word I got my deposit in my PayPal account (Received the email today)
  • And sent him the 100 STEEM (a few minutes later)

Done and dusted

What makes this so crazy to me is well we don't know each other, we meet online in a post and a few messages later we're exchanging value over the net and his all the way over in the US while I am in South Africa.

It just goes to show you that people on the internet can be true to their word and its not all about scamming a quick buck. It really restores a little bit of my faith in humanity and shows the power of cryptocurrency and the culture we're aiming to create along wit it.

Have your say

Have you ever done a peer to peer transfer? Was it with someone you knew or a stranger? What did the two of you exchange?

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


Sort:  

Glad it worked out fine :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol me too! Steemians are a pretty trustworthy bunch it seems! :)

yeah, i think you're lucky lol, the sceptic in me just couldn't ... I happily give away 10 - 20 steem at a time, as donations or "loans" and don't expect them back.

On Steemit, if I did it, it would be with someone who I've known a while I'm very wary - however - happy to hear your experience went well

Lol, It's only naturally South African to be sceptic :P. I just thought of it as a fun experiment, I've lost plenty in crypto before whats 100 steem for a lesson learned. I paid more than that for an education I don't use? Hello does anyone know when I get to use trigonometry?

Pretty sure there are plenty of scammers on steemit too, I guess I am pretty lucky, but I like to live dangerouslly at times

Thank you! I felt confident because of your steem reputation and your vested steem power. I hope we can do this again!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Lol I too checked out your profile like Facebooking an ex before thinking hey he seems legit lets do this!

Nice! Trust is good-but I want a kind of smartcontract-service in future when both parts lock the money in Contact before payout. That should be nice

Posted using Partiko Android

That would be a really cool idea instead of blocktrades we could have like peertrades and allow users to make up their own agreements and requirements! Would be much safer for sure

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @chekohler! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


![tumblr_p9pc01rgz11xql2nto2_250.gif]giphy (2).gif(https://cdn.steemitimages.com/DQmYmayMdDJwRGVTQDoB27NAXh9Ke6SzFjusJr6STzX4Bya/tumblr_p9pc01rgz11xql2nto2_250.gif)

Manually curated by @niallon11.

Thanks @naillon11 @helpie and @helpiecake that’s a tastey surprise 😋 nomnom

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @chekohler!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.871 which ranks you at #4487 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 181 places in the last three days (old rank 4668).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #87.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82